Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home > Training > Mandatory Training > For Law Enforcement

For Law Enforcement

In-Service Training Requirements For All Law Enforcement Officers (Full-Time And Part-Time)

Every law enforcement officer in the State must meet the following training requirements in order to maintain certification. The Board of Trustees is required by law to revoke the certificate of any officer who fails to meet the training requirements.

2017 Calendar Year

2 hours each in:

2018 Calendar Year
2 hours each in:
MCJA Firearms Qualification MCJA Firearms Qualification
New Law / Case Law Updates New Law / Case Law Updates
Response to Sexual Assault Death Investigations
Human Trafficking in Maine Policing the Teen Brain

Roadside Drug Impairment Recognition

Responding to Mental Health Crisis

Addiction Recognition for Law Enforcement

 
AND 20 hours of elective training between 1-1-16 through 12-31-17  
2019 Calendar Year
2 hours each in:
2020 Calendar Year
2 hours each in:
MCJA Firearms Qualification MCJA Firearms Qualification
New Law / Case Law Updates New Law / Case Law Updates
Law Enforcement Stress & Critcal Incidents Situational Use of Force
Eyewitness Identification Wellness of Law Enforcement Officers
Critical Thinking in Law Enforcement Law Enforcement Approach to Substance Use Disorders
AND 20 hours of elective training between 1-1-18 through 12-31-19  

In addition to the 20 hours of mandatory subject area training listed above, every officer must complete an additional 20 hours of elective training, as approved by the chief executive officer of the employing agency, every two calendar years. The current elective training period is from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2019. The next elective training period is from January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021.

If an officer is hired after October 1st in the first year of a two-year training cycle, the officer is required to complete the 10 hours of mandated subject area training for that year, as well as the 10 hours of mandated subject area training for the following year, and 10 hours of elective training by the end of the two-year training cycle. If an officer is hired after October 1st in the second year of a training cycle, the officer must complete only the 10 hours of mandated subject area training for that year.

Lesson Plans and Online Training

The following forms are available for download in either PDF or Microsoft Word or Power Point format. You will need the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print them. Microsoft Word format requires either Microsoft Word or the free Microsoft Word Reader.

Historical Law Updates and Case Law

 

For On-Line training, please go to Justice Planning and Management Associates at:

http://www.jpmaweb.com/