Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) are subdivisions of State Government, governed by locally-elected Boards of Supervisors. There are sixteen SWCDs in Maine which generally correspond to county boundaries, although there are a few exceptions (see the map below and the list that follows). SWCDs establish local priorities for conservation efforts. Emphasis is on agriculture and forestry although urban development is a priority in some districts. SWCDs hold workshops, set up demonstrations, offer educational programs, review development plans, and set priorities for one-on-one technical assistance, at the request of land occupiers.

Choose the soil & water district area you are interested in for more information:

Soil and Water Conservation District Map St. John Valley Central Aroostook Southern Aroostook Penobscot Piscataquis somerset Franklin Oxford York Cumberland County Androcoggin Sagadahoc Kennebec Lincoln Knox Waldo County Hancock Washington County

Soil & Water Conservation Districts and Natural Resources Conservation Service Field Offices in Maine

Field Office Address Phone Number & Email
Androscoggin Valley
(Androscoggin & Sagadahoc Counties)
254 Goddard Road
Lewiston, ME 04240
Tel. 207-241-5374
Central Aroostook 102 Normal Hall
181 Main Street
University of at Maine Presque Isle
Presque Isle, ME 04769
Tel. 207-768-9430
Cumberland County 35 Main Street
Suite 3
Windham, ME 04062
Tel. 207-892-4700
Fax: 207-892-4773
Franklin County 107 Park Street
Farmington, ME 04938
Tel. 207-778-4279
Fax: 207-778-5785
Hancock County 474 Bucksport Road
Ellsworth, ME 04605
Tel. 207-667-8663
Kennebec County 2305 N. Belfast Avenue
Augusta, ME 04330
Tel. 207-622-7847 ext. 3
Fax: 207-626-8196
(Knox and Lincoln Counties)
893 West St, Suite 103
Rockport ME 04856
Tel. 207-596-2040
Oxford County 17 Olson Road
Suite 3
South Paris, ME 04281
Tel. 207-744-3111 or 207-744-3119
Penobscot County 1423 Broadway, Suite 2
Suite 2
Bangor, ME 04401
Tel. 207-990-3676 ext. 3
Fax: 207-942-1782
Piscataquis County 42 Engdahl Drive
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426
Tel. 207-564-2321 ext. 3
Fax: 207-564-2570
St. John Valley 139 Market Street
Suite 106
Fort Kent, ME 04743
Tel. 207-834-3311
Fax: 207-834-6435
Somerset County 70 East Madison
Skowhegan, ME 04976
Tel. 207-612-4136
Fax: 207-474-0638
Southern Aroostook 304 North Street
Houlton, ME 04730
Tel. 207-254-4126
Fax: 207-532-4379
Waldo County 46 Little River Drive
Belfast, ME 04915
Tel. 207-218-5311
Fax: 207-338-4972
Washington County 8 M&M Place, Suite 5B
Machias, ME 04654
Tel. 207-255-4659
Fax: 207-255-6817
York County 21 Bradeen Street
Springvale, ME 04083
Tel. 207-324-0888 ext. 214
Fax: 207-324-4822