Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)

The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) is a set of federal laws passed in 2011 to create consistent, science-based food safety standards across the entire food system. It was the first major update to the Federal Food Code since 1938.

Many parts of the food system were already subject to food safety regulations, including meat and poultry, seafood, dairy, and many kinds of processing. FSMA sought to apply basic food safety practices across the remaining sectors of the food system to ensure public health protection across the entire supply chain.

Seven Parts of FSMA

FSMA is made up of 7 parts, each with its own Rule that has gone through a rule-making process that involved public comment, revisions, and review. Your farm or food business may be impacted by one or more of these 7 parts of FSMA:

  • Preventive Controls for Human Food
  • Preventive Controls for Food for Animals
  • Produce Safety Rule
  • Accreditation of Third Party Certification Bodies
  • Foreign Supplier Verification
  • Sanitary Transport
  • Intentional Adulteration (Food Defense)

In Maine, the Department of Agriculture, Conservation & Forestry does limited inspections for parts of the Preventive Controls for Human Foods and has a full education, outreach, and inspection program for the Produce Safety Rule. The focus of this website will be primarily on the Produce Safety Rule. The other 5 parts of FSMA are regulated directly by the Food & Drug Administration (FDA).

Visit the FDA's website for more information about all 7 parts of FSMA.

For more information on the Produce Safety Rule continue exploring this website

Reach out to our team any time for help navigating the FSMA regulations. We are happy to support Maine’s food safety culture every way we can!