Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
BUREAU OF HUMAN RESOURCES

January 3, 2012

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 1-12

TO:

All Agency/Department Heads and Human Resource Representatives


SUBJECT:

2013 HOLIDAY SCHEDULE FOR STATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES NOT COVERED BY A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

The 2013 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefits Package for Confidential Employees.

HOLIDAY

DAY, DATE OBSERVED

   

New Year’s Day

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

   

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 21, 2013

   

Washington's Birthday/President's Day

Monday, February 18, 2013

   

Patriots Day

Monday, April 15, 2013

   

Memorial Day

Monday, May 27, 2013

   

Independence Day

Thursday, July 4, 2013

   

Labor Day

Monday, September 2, 2013

   

Columbus Day

Monday, October 14, 2013

   

Veterans Day

Monday, November 11, 2013

   

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 28, 2013

   

Thanksgiving Friday

Friday, November 29, 2013

   

Christmas Day

Wednesday, December 25, 2013

To be eligible for holiday pay, the employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee.  If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted.  Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday; holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday.  For calendar year 2013, no holidays fall on Saturday or Sunday.

S/  Joyce A. Oreskovich
Joyce A. Oreskovich, Director
Bureau of Human Resources