Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
BUREAU OF HUMAN RESOURCES

January 8, 2009

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 1-09

TO:

All Agency/Department Heads and Human Resource Representatives

 

SUBJECT:

2010 HOLIDAY SCHEDULE FOR STATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES NOT COVERED BY A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

The 2010 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefits Package for Confidential Employees.

HOLIDAY

DAY, DATE OBSERVED

   

New Year’s Day

Friday, January 1, 2010

   

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 18, 2010

   

Washington's Birthday/President's Day

Monday, February 15, 2010

   

Patriots Day

Monday, April 19, 2010

   

Memorial Day

Monday, May 31, 2010

   

Independence Day

Monday, July 5, 2010

   

Labor Day

Monday, September 6, 2010

   

Columbus Day

Monday, October 11, 2010

   

Veterans Day

Thursday, November 11, 2010

   

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 25, 2010

   

Thanksgiving Friday

Friday, November 26, 2010

   

Christmas Day

Friday, December 24, 2010

   

New Year’s Day (2011)

Friday, December 31, 2010

To be eligible for holiday pay, the employee must be in pay status for the entire normal scheduled workday immediately preceding and any part of the normal scheduled workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee.  If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted.  Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday, and holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday.  For calendar year 2010: Independence Day (July 4) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, July 5; Christmas Day (December 25) falls on a Saturday and will be observed in Friday, December 24.  For calendar year 2011, New Year’s Day (January 1) falls on a Saturday and will be observed on Friday, December 31, 2010.

S/ Alicia Kellogg
Alicia Kellogg, Director
Bureau of Human Resources