Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
Bureau of Human Resources
March 7, 2005

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 3-05

TO: Agency/Department Heads and Human Resource Representatives
SUBJECT: 2006 Holiday Schedule for State Agency Employees Not Covered by a Collective Bargaining Agreement


The 2006 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.

HOLIDAY

DAY, DATE OBSERVED

New Year’s Day

Monday, January 2, 20061

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 16, 2006

Washington's Birthday/President's Day

Monday, February 20, 2006

Patriots Day

Monday, April 17, 2006

Memorial Day

Monday, May 29, 2006

Independence Day

Tuesday, July 4, 2006

Labor Day

Monday, September 4, 2006

Columbus Day

Monday, October 9, 2006

Veterans Day

Friday, November 10, 20061

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 23, 2006

Thanksgiving Friday

Friday, November 24, 2006

Christmas Day

Monday, December 25, 2006

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

1For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday; holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday. For calendar year 2006, New Year’s Day (January 1) falls on a Sunday and will be observed on Monday, January 2, 2006; Veterans Day (November 11) falls on a Saturday and will be observed on Friday, November 10, 2006.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

 

S/ Frank A. Johnson
Frank A. Johnson, Acting Director
Bureau of Human Resources