Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
Bureau of Human Resources


September 8, 1997

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 11-97


TO: All Agency/Department Heads/Personnel Officers/EEO Officers
SUBJECT: 1998 Holiday Schedule for State Agency Employees Not Covered by a Collective Bargaining Agreement

====================================================================================

The 1998 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the Civil Service Rules and the Governor's benefit package for Confidential employees.

HOLIDAYS DAY/DATE TO BE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Thursday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 19
Washington's Birthday (President's Day) Monday, February 16
Patriot's Day Monday, April 20
Memorial Day Monday, May 25
Independence Day Friday, July 3
Labor Day Monday, September 7
Columbus Day Monday, October 12
Veteran's Day Wednesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 27
Christmas Friday, December 25

Memorial Day is currently a "Monday" holiday by State and Federal law.  However, Maine law also provides that the date for observing Memorial Day in Maine will be changed to May 30th if the Federal Government should return the Federal date of observance to May 30th.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee.  If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an additional compensatory day will be granted.   Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, 1 of the Civil Service Rules.

To be eligible for holiday pay, employees must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceeding and the normal workday following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.


____________/s/________________
Donald A. Wills, Director
BUREAU OF HUMAN RESOURCES