September 4, 2014
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 4, 2014 Contact: Julie Rabinowitz, 207-621-5009
Space is available for the safety classes in Augusta and Bangor
AUGUSTA—The Maine Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Standards is hosting its no-charge safety courses for employers throughout September.
“A safe place to work is good practice for workers and businesses,” said Governor Paul R. LePage. "SafetyWorks! is nationally recognized for its on-the-job safety programs. These classes are investments that pay off for everyone--workers learn how to work safely and business gain a reputation as a supportive place to work, giving them a competitive edge in recruiting and retaining skilled employees."
Courses are held at no charge to employers and their employees to ensure and promote safety in the workplace. The courses are held at the SafetyWorks! Training Institute at the Maine Department of Labor, 45 Commerce Drive in Augusta unless otherwise noted.
Scaffolding and Fall Protection - September 9, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. In this class the instructor will explain the OSHA requirements for scaffolding and fall protection, including the definition of "competent person". The eight-hour program will include a demonstration of the proper setup of scaffolding. Fall protection will be covered in the morning and scaffolding in the afternoon.
Automotive Lift/Jack Stand Safety and Compliance - September 11, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. This half-day course provides training for the proper operation of multiple types of automotive lifts, jacks and jacks stands, inspections, compliance reporting, training and documentation required by various inspecting agencies. The course will provide the information needed to for a safer workplace, which helps eliminate citations and can possibly lower a company's workers compensation insurance costs. The course will have both classroom and hands-on training
Forklift Operator Training - September 12, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. This half-day class is designed for new operators will involve classroom and hands-on training. However, this training does not meet the requirements to qualify the participants to be a "qualified operator" as only the employer can provide such certification.
30-Hour Construction Standards - September 15-19, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. This five-day course introduces attendees new to construction safety and health to the OSHA standards (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete all five days will receive OSHA 30-hour construction course completion cards. OTI charges $5 per card.
Public Sector Work Zone Safety - September 23, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. This five-day course introduces attendees new to construction safety and health to the OSHA standards (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete all five days will receive OSHA 30-hour construction course completion cards. OTI charges $5 per card.
10-Hour General Industry Standards Training - September 25-26, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. This one-and-a-half day course offers basic information on a variety of general industry safety and health standards (29 CFR 1910). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion card for general industry. Class runs until 4:30 p.m. on day one and 12:30 p.m. on day two. OTI charges $5 per card.
OSHA Recordkeeping - September 26, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Bangor CareerCenter, 45 oak St., Ste. 3 This class provides a thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms. Employers interested in registering can learn more and register at http://www.maine.gov/tools/whatsnew/index.php?topic=Safetyworks_Classes&v=ListAll . Space is limited so reservations are required.
SafetyWorks! is not OSHA and cannot issue fines or citations to private businesses. While SafetyWorks! helps businesses of any size, priority is given to small businesses. The program trains about 8,000 people and consults at nearly 1,000 worksites in Maine each year. Employers interested in learning more about the consulting and training services offered by SafetyWorks! should call 1-877-SAFE 345 (1-877-723-3345) or visit http://www.safetyworksmaine.com .
The Bureau of Labor Standards is Maine’s regulatory agency overseeing labor and employment law and workplace safety; it provides both consultation and enforcement services. The division promotes and achieves compliance with labor standards to protect and enhance the welfare of Maine’s workforce.