December 2, 2019
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, December 2, 2019
Media Contact: Jessica Picard, Maine Department of Labor, Jessica.firstname.lastname@example.org or 207-621-5099
Augusta Dept. of Labor Listening Session Postponed
The Earned Paid Time Off listening session that was scheduled for Tuesday, December 3 in Augusta has been postponed due to the weather. The session has been rescheduled to Wednesday, December 11 from 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. at the SafetyWorks! Training Institute, 45 Commerce Drive, Augusta.
The Maine Department of Labor's current list of upcoming scheduled listening sessions is as follows:
Farmington Town Hall, Monday, December 2 at 5:30 p.m. 153 Farmington Falls Road, Farmington
Frances Perkins Room, Maine Department of Labor, Augusta, Friday, December 6 from 2-3 p.m. *This session will focus primarily on questions brought forward by employers.
SafetyWorks!, Maine Department of Labor, Augusta, Wednesday, December 11 from 12:30 1:30 p.m. *This session will focus primarily on questions brought forward by workers.
The sessions will last between an hour and an hour and a half. No RSVP necessary.
The Maine Department of Labor (MDOL) has been holding a series of listening sessions around the state on "An Act Authorizing Earned Employee Leave" (or the Earned Paid Time Off law) which will go through rule-making before becoming effective January 1, 2021.
The goal of the public listening sessions is to gather feedback from the public regarding the questions they would like addressed during the rulemaking process. Sessions have already been held in Presque Isle, Lewiston, Rockland, Springvale, Portland, Machias and Bangor.
We are looking forward to working collaboratively with both employers and workers during the rulemaking process, Laura Fortman, Commissioner of the Department of Labor, said. We are committed to a thorough and open process. The effective date of January 1, 2021 provides time for us to work together on this important policy which will allow many Maine workers five days of earned paid leave.
The legislation guarantees earned time off for employees who work for a business with 11 or more employees. Small businesses with 10 or fewer employees and seasonal employers who regularly operate less than 26 weeks in a calendar year are exempt. The bill required the Maine Department of Labor to promulgate rules to ensure the legislation can be implemented and enforced effectively. This process will include posting of the draft rules prior to a public comment period. The Department will ensure that final rules are posted with sufficient time for employers to prepare for changes, if any are needed, in their earned leave policies.
The law requires that an employee earn one hour of paid leave from a single employer for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in one year of employment. This leave can be used for any purpose by the worker, however they are required to give their employer as reasonable notice as is possible. The rules written will provide guidance to employers as well as workers who benefit from the earned paid time off. The Maine Department of Labor will also provide new posters to employers outlining guidance for the rule.
Please email email@example.com and ask to be placed on the Earned Paid Time Off rules mailing list in order to receive updates during the process.
The effective date of this law is January 1, 2021.
A link to the chaptered law (Public Law 156) may be found at the link below:
The Maine Department of Labor is an equal opportunity provider. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request.