Free Workplace Safety Training Courses in June Bookmark and Share

May 30, 2014

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 30, 2014 Contact: Julie Rabinowitz, Maine Department of Labor, 207-621-5009

Courses offered in Augusta, Bangor, Brunswick, Portland, Rockland, Scarborough and Westbrook.

AUGUSTA—The Maine Department of Labor’s SafetyWorks! training and safety consultation program announces free training courses for June.

“The Department of Labor’s SafetyWorks! program is nationally recognized for best practices in workplace safety and health training,” said Governor Paul R. LePage. “Classes instructed by professional occupational safety engineers and industrial hygienists help businesses reduce work-related injuries, illnesses and deaths. I encourage employers to take advantage of these services, provided at no charge to employers, to create a safer and healthier work environment for their employees.”

All courses are held in SafetyWorks! Training Institute (STI) at the Central Maine Commerce Center, 45 Commerce Drive in Augusta unless otherwise noted. To register, call (207) 623-7900 or register online at http://www.safetyworksmaine.com . Businesses with several employees requiring the same training course should contact SafetyWorks! to ask about the free onsite training program.

To learn more about SafetyWorks! like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/SafetyWorks/113678682016008?v=wall .

A Practical Approach to NFPA 70E (National Fire Protection Association): June 4, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

In this class you will learn how to protect workers from electrical hazards. NFPA 70E requirements will be discussed in layman's terms.

Noise/Hearing Protection: June 5, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Seasons Event and Conference Center, Portland

This session will cover the effects of noise on hearing. Students will learn about the anatomy of the ear, the physics of sound, and the effectiveness of hearing protectors and the class will show workers how to protect themselves against hearing loss from noise exposure on and off the job.

Life Safety/Code 101 Safety: June 9, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Learn some of the basics of how the NFPA 101 Life Safety Code is used and administered in the state of Maine. You will learn who and what the code covers in this introductory class.

Ladder Safety: June 10, 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Ladders are a major source of injuries and fatalities in the workplace. However, falls can be reduced if people use caution when climbing ladders or when working in places where falls are a potential hazard. This course will show participants how falls from ladders can be prevented through education that includes planning for their use, inspecting the ladder prior to use and using basic ladder safeguards.

10-Hour Construction Standards Training: June 12 and 13, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

This one-and-a-half-day course gives basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion card for construction. Class runs from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on day two. OTI charges $5 per card payable by MasterCard and VISA only.

Laws Governing Workplace Rights (Employment Law for Employers): June 13, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Rockland CareerCenter

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers or payroll supervisors. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave, and domestic violence) and break requirements. The course also addresses commonly asked labor related questions.

30-Hour General Industry Standards: June 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 at 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

This five-day course introduces attendees new to safety and health to the OSHA standards for general industry (29 CFR 1910). Attendees who complete all five days will receive OSHA 30-hour general industry course completion cards. Class runs from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., day one through day five. OTI charges $5 per card payable by MasterCard and VISA only.

Laws Governing Workplace Rights (Employment Law for Employers): June 19, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Scarborough Municipal Building and Southern Midcoast CareerCenter in Brunswick June 24, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Scarborough Municipal Building June 26, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., Bangor CareerCenter

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave, and domestic violence) and break requirements. This course also addresses commonly asked labor related questions.

Scaffolding and Fall Protection: June 24, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

In this class you will learn the types of scaffolding and proper set-up. You will also learn how to protect your workers from falls. The instructor will explain the OSHA requirements for scaffolding and fall protection, including the definition of "competent person". The eight-hour program will also include a demonstration of the proper set-up of scaffolding. Fall protection will be covered in the morning and scaffolding in the afternoon.

OSHA Recordkeeping: June 26, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Westbrook Public Safety

This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms.

SafetyWorks! is not OSHA and cannot issue fines or citations to private businesses. While SafetyWorks! helps businesses of any size, priority is given to small businesses. The program trains about 8,000 people and consults at nearly 1,000 worksites in Maine each year. Employers interested in learning more about the consulting and training services offered by SafetyWorks! should call 1-877-SAFE 345 (1-877-723-3345) or visit http://www.safetyworksmaine.com .

  • end -