Skip Maine state header navigation
The Temporary Disability Income
Protection benefit provided to confidential employees is established in 1989
Private & Special Laws, Chapter 86, Part C, Section 5:
Sec. 5. Provision for temporary
disability. The appointing authority shall provide continued salary
benefits to a confidential employee in the event of that employee’s temporary
disability in accordance with this section.
- Any confidential
employee employed by the State in that position for more than 6 months
who becomes totally disabled shall receive a benefit payment while the employee
remains totally disabled and under the care of a licensed physician if:
- The employee incurs a loss of time from work as a result of the
disability, including sickness or accidental bodily injury; and
- The disability prevents the employee from performing the duties of
- The benefit payment shall commence on the day immediately following exhaustion of the employee’s
accumulated sick leave or 30 days of continuous total disability, whichever occurs last. It
shall continue until whichever occurs first:
- The day before the day the employee returns to any gainful occupation;
- The balance of a 365-day period of continuous disability; or
- The first day the employee is eligible for a disability retirement
allowance under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 5, chapter 423, subchapter
V, article 3.
- The benefit
payment shall equal 2/3 of the employee’s weekly salary at the date
of disablement. Any
state retirement allowance shall be deducted from the benefit payment. No
payment may be made if the employee’s disability is compensable under
the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 39.
- An employee
who is provided temporary compensation under this section shall continue
to receive the benefits that were provided immediately before the
first date of disability.