Agricultural Worker Minimum Wage Committee


Develop legislation for introduction in the second session of the 131st Legislature that will implement a minimum wage for agricultural workers, identify the impacts the bill will have through other laws interconnected with Federal and State wage and hour laws, and ensure the full range of impacts are thoroughly understood by both agricultural employers and their workers.

Executive Order Language

Final Report and Recommendations

Committee Members

  • Commissioner of the Department of Labor, or her designee
    • Commissioner Laura Fortman
  • Commissioner of the Department of Conservation, Agriculture and Forestry
    • Deputy Commissioner Nancy McBrady
  • The Speaker of the House of Representatives or her designee
    • Speaker Talbot Ross
    • Thom Harnett (alternate)
  • The President of the Senate or his designee
    • Senate President Jackson
    • Sen. Tipping (alternate)
  • A representative of the Maine Farm Bureau
    • Penelope Jordan
  • A representative of the Maine Potato Board
    • Jeannie Tapley
  • A representative of the Wild Blueberry Commission
    • Eric Venturini
  • A representative of the Maine Dairy Industry
    • Heath Miller
  • A representative of the Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association
    • Heather Spalding
  • A representative of the Passamaquoddy Wild Blueberry Co.
    • Darren Paul
    • Holli Francis (alternate)
    • J.D. Newell (second alternate)
  • A representative of the Maine AFL-CIO
    • Matt Schlobohm
  • A representative of the Pine Tree Legal Assistance Farm Worker Unit
    • Mike Guare
  • A representative of the Maine Center for Economic Policy
    • Arthur Phillips
  • A representative of a statewide organization dedicated to supporting farmworkers and immigrants Downeast
    • Juana Rodriguez, Mano en Mano
    • Sean Douglas, Mano en Mano (alternate)
  • A representative of a statewide land trust dedicated to protecting farmland and supporting farmers
    • Shelley Megquier, Maine Farmland Trust

Remote Participation Policy

Meeting Schedule

  • Tuesday, September 5th
  • Monday, September 25th from 1:00pm – 3:30pm
  • Monday, October 2nd from 1:00pm – 3:00pm
  • Monday, October 16th from 1:00pm – 3:00pm
  • Monday, November 13th from 1:00pm – 3:00pm
  • Monday, November 27th from 1:00 – 3:30pm
  • Monday, December 11th from 1:00pm – 4:00pm
  • The Committee has concluded its meetings.

Meeting Materials

Additional Resources

Written Public Comment

  • Migrant Justice on Behalf of two Maine Farmworkers
  • Jenni Tilton-Flood, Clinton
  • Kelsey Herrington, Two Farmers Farm, Scarborough
  • Ryan Busby, Alfred
  • Rich Lee, Tender Soles Farm, Richmond
  • The Permanent Commission on the Status of Racial, Indigenous & Tribal Populations
  • Committee members Holli Francis, Penny Jordan, Heath Miller, Jeannie Tapley, Eric Venturini

Watch Meetings

Click below to watch one of the above meetings.