Maine's Charter Schools

The Maine Charter School Commission is one of two types of entities permitted to authorize public charter schools in Maine. The Commission can authorize up to 10 public charter schools throughout the State during the first 10 years of Maine's charter school law. Maine currently has 10 public charter schools.