Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

 

 

 

 

 

 

INFORMATIONAL LETTER:  24

 

POLICY CODE:  IMDA

 

 

TO:                  Superintendents of Schools, Principals, and Teachers

 

FROM:            Susan A. Gendron, Commissioner

 

DATE:             September 15, 2003

 

RE:                   Pledge Across America – Request from Secretary of Education Rod Paige

 

 

            Following please find a letter which outlines a request from Secretary of Education Rod Paige.  You may remember that a similar request was sent to each of you last year at this time.  As always it is a local decision as to whether you choose to participate in this Pledge Across America.

                                               

            Dear Commissioner Gendron:

 

Last September, millions of students across our nation expressed their patriotism and pride as they united in a synchronized Pledge of Allegiance.  On September 17, 2003, there will be another Pledge Across America.  It will again offer students the opportunity to focus on the words of the Pledge of Allegiance and on the principles and freedoms they reflect.

 

I encourage you to make your principals, teachers, and students aware of this important opportunity and to involve your schools in the Pledge Across America.  This is a unifying event in support of our nation and its values.  It encourages discussions about American history and the democratic principles that make this country great.

 

This year’s synchronized Pledge of Allegiance will begin at 2:00 p.m. EDT; 1:00p.m. CDT; 12:00 p.m. MDT; 11:00 a.m. PDT; 10 a.m. in Alaska; and 8 a.m. in Hawaii.  You may also find more information about the Pledge Across America at http://www.celebrationusa.org/

 

I appreciate all that you do for our nation’s young people and hope that all of your schools will join in the Pledge Across America this year.

 

Best Wishes.

 

                                                                        Sincerely,

 

                                                                        Rod Paige