Maine Public Health Data Reports

Maine Health and Human Services Districts

The Maine Department of Health and Human Services has adopted, for the purpose of coordinating services, eight Health and Human Services Districts. Their boundaries take into account population, geographic spread, hospital service areas, and county borders.

The establishment of the Districts was designed to enhance effectiveness and efficiency of public health services by:

  1. Creating the geographic framework for greater consistency and equity in statewide delivery of all 10 Essential Public Health Services.
  2. Providing a consistent basis for regional planning and coordinating across the public, nonprofit, and business sectors.
  3. Building sustainable infrastructure through regional co-location of Maine CDC and DHHS staff, "braided" funds, and the establishment of Regional Coordinating Councils.

The eight Health and Human Services Districts are:

Aroostook District Aroostook County
Penquis District Penobscot and Piscataquis Counties
Downeast District Washington and Hancock Counties
Central Maine District Somerset and Kennebec Counties
Midcoast District Waldo, Lincoln, Knox, Sagadahoc Counties
Western District Androscoggin, Franklin, and Oxford Counties
Cumberland District Cumberland County
York District York County

View map of Maine Districts

View map of Maine Counties