The Board of Osteopathic Licensure consists of 11 members appointed by the Governor. Members must be residents of this State. Six members must be graduates of a school or college of osteopathic medicine approved by the American Osteopathic Association and must be, at the time of appointment, actively engaged in the practice of the profession of osteopathic medicine in the State for a period of at least 5 years. Two members must be physician assistants, licensed with this Board, who have been licensed and actively engaged in the profession in this State for at least 5 years preceding appointment to the Board. Three members must be public members.

Consumer groups may submit nominations to the Governor for the members to be appointed to represent the interest of consumers. A full term of appointment is for 5 years. A member of the Board may be removed from office for cause by the Governor. The Board meets monthly, with a biennial election of Chair, Vice-Chair and Board Secretary.

Legal counsel and investigative staff to the Board are contracted through the Office of Attorney General.

Board staff includes:

Rachel MacArthur, Executive Secretary 

Contact: by phone at 207/287-2480 and/or via Board cell at 207/592-3861.

Faith L. McLaughlin, Consumer Assistance Specialist 

Contact: or 207/287-3608.