Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

MeCas > NECAP > NECAP Standards

NECAP Standards

In 2009, Maine joined the states of New Hampshire, Vermont and Rhode Island as a member of the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to assess reading, writing, and mathematics in grades 3-8. Consequently, the NECAP content standards, known as Grade Level Expectations (GLEs) were adopted as part of MDOE Regulation 131: The Maine Federal, State, and Local Accountability Standards. NECAP results in reading and mathematics are used to certify achievement of these standards and are used as Maine’s federal accountability reporting required under the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.

The NECAP GLEs in reading, mathematics, and writing follow.



Reading Grade 2-5 GLEs - PDF

Reading Grade 5-8 GLEs - PDF

High School Reading GLEs GSEs - PDF


Writing GLEs - PDF


Mathematics GLEs - PDF  

Grade Specific Mathematics NECAP GLEs