Skip Maine state header navigation
INFORMATIONAL LETTER NO: 4
POLICY CODE: EE
To: Superintendents of Schools
From: J. Duke Albanese, Commissioner
Date: July 3, 2002
Re: MAINE’S NEW BOOSTER SEAT LAW - Child Passenger Safety Legislation, Effective January 1, 2003
- Please forward to Elementary and Middle School Principals. -
Maine’s new law requires that:
· children under 8 years of age who weigh at least 40 lbs, but less than 80 lbs, be secured in a federally approved child restraint system;
· children older than 8 but under 18 years of age be secured with a seat belt; and
· children under 12 years of age and who weigh less than 100 lbs to be properly secured in the back seat of the vehicle, when possible.
Enclosed are copies of Maine’s “Law Card” which provides information on the specifics of Maine’s new law. The card also provides information on where eligible parents and other caregivers can go to get a booster seat or have one inspected. The Department of Human Services, in conjunction with the Bureau of Highway Safety, is requesting that these cards be distributed in all elementary and middle schools in Maine. I encourage you to include these “Law Cards” in the information distributed to students in grades K - 6 during the first days of the 2002-2003 school year.
For more information please call Keith Whalen, Traffic Safety Educator, Maine Injury Prevention Program at 287-4288 or the Bureau of Highway Safety at 624-8756.