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Editor’s Note 

 

The editor reviewed the public laws passed by the 123
rd

 Legislature in the 

2008 Second Regular Session and the 2008 First Special Session prior to 

selecting statutes believed to be of general interest to Maine law 

enforcement officers. This is not a listing of all laws passed by the 

Legislature.  In the interest of clarity and brevity, the selected public laws 

have been summarized.  If a particular change is of interest to the reader, a 

statutory citation is given so that the reader can review the entire text of the 

new law, which should be done before any enforcement action is taken.  

Finally, there are many types of law enforcement officers in Maine and some 

statutes which may be of interest to only a particular specialized type of law 

enforcement have been left out to keep the length of this document 

manageable. 

 

If the reader has questions, comments, etc., the editor can be contacted at: 

 

Lt. Mark M. Waltz 

Brunswick Police Department 

28 Federal Street 

Brunswick, ME 04011 

(207) 725-5521 

waltz@brunswickpd.org 

__________________________________________________ 
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Motor Vehicle 

 

Chapter 486 – L.D. 1948 
An Act To Establish a Minimum Suspension for Negligent Operation 

When a Fatality Results from a Motor Vehicle Accident 

Without a preliminary hearing, the Secretary of State shall suspend for at least 3 years, a 

person’s license if the Secretary of State finds that a person recklessly or negligently 

operated a motor vehicle in a manner so as to cause the death of another person.  The 

victim’s family shall be notified of the proposed suspension and be allowed to present 

statements to be considered. 
 

Effective June 30, 2008    Enacts 29-A M.R.S.A. § 2458 (2-A)  

 

Chapter 525 – L.D. 2176 
An Act Relating to Studded Tires 

Pneumatic tires that feature embedded blocks, studs, flanges, cleats, spikes or other 

protuberances that are retractable may be used at any time of the year, except the 

protuberances may not be engaged or extended from the 1
st
 day of May to the 1

st
 day of 

October. 
 

Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 29-A M.R.S.A. §1919 (1) 

  

Chapter 531 – L.D. 856 
An Act To Reduce Drunk Driving 

The Secretary of State can now give shorter license suspensions for OUI if the person 

installs an ignition interlock device (hereinafter referred to as “IID” - it is a device which 

requires the operator to blow into it and won’t allow the car to be started unless the BAC 

of the person is below a preset level).  It is a Class E crime if a person who got his or her 

license back early on the condition that the person use the IID, operates a car without one 

or tampers with the IID.  Mandatory jail and a fine of at least $500.00.  It is a civil 

violation to solicit another to blow into your IID, lend a car to someone who you know or 

should know should be using an IID, blow into someone else’s IID or tamper with 

someone else’s IID.   

 
Effective September 1, 2008    Enacts 29-A M.R.S.A. §2508 

 

Chapter 547 – L.D. 775 
An Act To Create a Special License Plate 

to Support Breast Cancer Support Services 

There will be a new specialty registration plate issued by the State.  A portion of the 

proceeds from the plate will to be contributed to Breast Cancer Support Services 
 

Effective June 30, 2008    Enacts 22 M.R.S.A. §1408 



2008 New Law Update – Page 4 of 17 

 

Chapter 582 – L.D. 2056 
An Act to Conserve Gasoline and Preserve Clean Air 

It is a traffic violation to allow a commercial motor vehicle to idle for more than five (5) 

minutes in a 60-minute period.  It is also a traffic violation if one owns a location where a 

commercial vehicle loads or unloads, and one requests that the commercial vehicle 

continue running for more than 30 minutes.  There are exemptions to the law including: 

- for vehicles stuck in traffic; 

-  vehicles directed to continue to run by a law enforcement officer; 

- when necessary to operate a heater, defroster or air conditioner solely to 

prevent a safety or health emergency and not as part of a rest period; 

- a public safety or military vehicle while being used in the course of business; 

- if the reason for idling is for diagnosis and maintenance of the engine; 

- if the primary propulsion is necessary to power work-related mechanical or 

electrical operations including mixing, dumping or refrigeration; 

- armored vehicles with a  guard inside; 

- an occupied commercial motor vehicle with a sleeper berth for the purpose of 

air conditioning or heat during a rest period; 

- an occupied commercial motor vehicle for the purpose of air conditioning or 

heat while waiting to load or unload; 

- a passenger bus for 15 minutes in any 60 minute period for the comfort of the 

passengers onboard; 

- 15 minutes in a 60 minute period when the temperature falls below 32 degrees 

Fahrenheit; 

- All private passenger vehicles; 

- All vehicles when necessary to provide heat and the temperature falls below 0 

degrees Fahrenheit; 

- A motor vehicle which must idle due to mechanical difficulties and the 

problems are fixed within 30 days of the violation. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts38 M.R.S.A. §585-K  

 

Chapter 591 – L.D. 2012 
An Act To Protect Children in Vehicles from Second Hand Smoke 

It is illegal to smoke in a car where a passenger under 16 years of age is present.  

Warnings must be given until August 31, 2009.  It is a $50.00 traffic violation beginning 

September 1, 2009.  It is not a moving violation and the contents of the car may not be 

searched solely because of a violation of this section (put this under the “goes without 

saying” category, but it was included anyway). 
 

Effective September 1, 2008    Enacts 22 M.R.S.A. §1549 
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Chapter 648 – L.D. 2309 
An Act To Enhance the Security of State Credentials 

The Secretary of State may not issue a license or ID card to anyone unless the person has 

valid documentary evidence of a legal presence in the United States. 
 

Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 29-A M.R.S.A. §1301(2-A) & 1410(8) 
 

Chapter 659 – L.D. 2304 
An Act To Require That a Person Be a Maine Resident 

in Order To Be Issued a Maine Driver’s License 

The Secretary of State may not issue a license or ID card to anyone unless the person has 

valid documentary evidence of a having his or her residence or domicile in Maine.  
 

Effective April 18, 2008    Enacts 29-A M.R.S.A. §1301(11) & 1410(1) 
 

Chapter 703 – L.D. 2075 
An Act To Amend Motor Vehicle Laws 

The State will issue a new specialty registration plate entitled “We Support Our Troops”.  

A portion of the proceeds from the plate will to be contributed to the Maine National 

Guard Foundation Fund. 
 

Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 29-A M.R.S.A. §456-D 

 

The State will issue a new specialty registration plate entitled “Agriculture Education”.  

A portion of the proceeds from the plate will to be contributed to the Maine Agriculture 

in the Classroom Council. 
 

Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 29-A M.R.S.A. §456-F 

 

 

Criminal and Other Related Statutes 

 

Chapter 474 – L.D. 372 
An Act To Strengthen the Crime of Gross Sexual Assault 

as it Pertains to Persons Who Furnish Drugs to Victims 

Gross sexual assault now includes engaging in a sexual act with another person whose 

power to appraise or control his or her acts has been substantially impaired by drugs or 

intoxicants furnished by the actor (previous law only covered drugs or intoxicants 

administered or employed by the actor). 
 

Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 17-A M.R.S.A. §253 (2)(A) 

 

The defense that the drugs or intoxicants used to facilitate the sexual assault were 

voluntarily consumed by the victim is no longer available if the victim is only 14 or 15 

years of age.  

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 17-A M.R.S.A. §253 (3) 
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 Chapter 475 – L.D. 1240 
An Act To Implement the Recommendations 

of the Criminal Law Advisory Commission 

A law enforcement officer may now make a warrantless arrest of a person who has 

violated administrative release when requested by an attorney for the State. 
 

Effective June 30, 2008    Enacts 17-A M.R.S.A. §15 (1)(A)(15) 

 

Victim’s addresses and information that could be used to gain the victim’s address must 

be kept confidential.  The information may be disclosed to: 

- A state agency if necessary to carry out the statutory duties of that agency; 

- A criminal justice agency if necessary for a criminal justice purpose; 

- A victim’s service agency where there is a written agreement to provide 

victim’s advocacy services; or 

- A person or agency upon the request of the victim. 

 

A bail commissioner must not disclose the address, even for the purposes of a no contact 

condition unless it is clear to the commissioner that the arrestee already knows the 

address.  The prosecutor can refuse to provide discovery materials with the victim’s 

address if the prosecutor has a good faith belief that disclosure would compromise the 

safety of the victim. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Repeals and Replaces 17-A M.R.S.A. §1176 

 

Chapter 476 – L.D. 1241 
An Act To Provide Uniform Treatment of Prior 

Convictions in the Maine Criminal Code 

Laws throughout the criminal code which provide for an upgraded level of crime to be 

charged if a person has prior convictions, have been rewritten to include out-of-state prior 

convictions.  Some of the types of offenses which have been rewritten to include the out-

of-state convictions are: 
 

Aggravated Attempted Murder   Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §152-A (1)(C) 
 

Factors Aiding in Predicting High-Risk Sex Offenders 
Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §257 (1)(D) 

 

Factors Aiding in Predicting High-Risk Sex Offenders 
Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §257 (1)(D) 

 

Sexual Exploitation of a Minor  Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §282 (1)(B) & (E) 
 

Dissemination of Sexually Explicit Material Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §283 (1)(B) & (D) 
 

Possession of Sexually Explicit Material Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §284 (1)(B) & (D) 
 

Theft      Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §353 (1)(B) 
 

Theft by Deception    Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §354 (1)(B) 
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Insurance Deception    Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §354-A (1)(B) 
 

Theft of lost, mislaid or mistakenly delivered property 
Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §356-A (1)(B) 

 

Theft of Services    Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §357 (1)(B) & (2)(B) 
 

Theft by misapplication of property  Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §358 (1)(B) 
 

Receiving stolen property   Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §359 (1)(B) 
 

Unauthorized use of property   Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §360  
 

Burglary     Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §401 (1)(B)  
 

Aggravated criminal trespass   Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §402-A (1)(B)  
 

Harassment     Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §506-A (1)(B)  
 

Unlawful transfer of a handgun to a minor Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §554-B (5)(B)  
 

Incest      Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §556 (1)(B)  
 

Forgery     Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §703 (1)(A-1) & (B-1)  
 

Negotiating a worthless instrument  Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §708 (1)(B)  
 

Engaging in prostitution   Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §853-A (1)(B)  
 

Engaging a prostitute    Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §853-B (1)(B)  
 

Indecent conduct    Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §854 (1)(A)(D) & (E) 
 

Home repair fraud    Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §908 
 

Aggravated trafficking of scheduled drugs Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §1105-A 
 

Aggravated trafficking or furnishing of counterfeit drugs 
Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §1105-B 

 

Aggravated furnishing of scheduled drugs Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §1105-C 
 

Aggravated cultivating of marijuana  Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §1105-D 
 

Unlawful possession of scheduled drugs Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §1107-A 
 

Sale and use of drug paraphernalia  Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §1111-A 

 

All amendments effective June 30, 2008   
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Chapter 512 – L.D. 2051 
An Act To Prohibit the Sale of Firearms Other than Handguns 

to Persons 16 or 17 Years of Age without Parental Consent 

It is a violation of law for a person who is not the parent, foster parent or guardian of a 

child to sell a firearm to a child who is 16 or 17 years of age.  An affirmative defense can 

be raised if the parent, foster parent or guardian approved the sale.  The first offense is a 

civil violation with a fine of up to $500.00.  The second offense is a Class D crime. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008     Amends 17-A  M.R.S.A. §554-A 

 

 

Chapter 518 – L.D. 2240 
An Act Containing the Recommendations 

of the Criminal Law Advisory Commission 

A law enforcement officer who has probable cause to believe a suspect has committed or 

is committing the offenses of domestic violence assault, domestic violence criminal 

threatening, domestic violence terrorizing, domestic violence stalking, or domestic 

violence reckless conduct may make a warrantless arrest for the offense. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008     Enacts 17-A  M.R.S.A. §15 (1)(A)(5-B) 

 

A law enforcement officer who has probable cause to believe a sex offender has violated 

a condition of supervised release may arrest the sex offender without a warrant when 

requested by a probation officer. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008     Enacts 17-A  M.R.S.A. §15 (1)(A)(16) 

 
A law enforcement officer who has probable cause to believe that a person has violated a 

court imposed condition of a deferred disposition agreement may arrest the offender 

without a warrant when requested by the attorney for the State. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008     Enacts 17-A  M.R.S.A. §15 (1)(A)(17) 

 

Chapter 526 – L.D. 2197 
An Act to Comprehensively Address Grand Jury 

Territorial Authority to Indict for Crimes 

Normally, one must be indicted by the grand jury serving the county where the crime was 

committed.  This statute allows for the Chief Justice to create judicial regions and each 

grand jury in a multi-county judicial region can indict for offenses committed anywhere 

in that region. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008     Enacts 15  M.R.S.A. §1255-A 
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Chapter 670 – L.D. 1902 
An Act To Bring Maine into Compliance with Federal Law Regarding Purchases 

of Firearms by Persons Found To Be a Danger to Themselves or Others 

A person may not own or possess a firearm if the person has been: 

- Committed involuntarily to a hospital pursuant to an order of the District Court 

under Title 34-B § 3864 because the person was found to present a likelihood of 

serious harm, as defined under Title 34-B § 3801 (A-C); 

- Found criminally not responsible by reason of insanity; or 

- Found not competent to stand trial in a criminal case. 
 

Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 15 M.R.S.A. §393 (1)(E) 

 

Five years after discharge from the psychiatric hospital, if there have been no further 

involuntary commitments, the person may apply to the Commissioner of Public Safety 

for relief from the disability (so that he or she can possess a firearm). 
 

Effective July 31, 2009     Enacts 15 M.R.S.A. §393 (4-A) 

 

Maine must report to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System the 

findings of Maine courts that a person has been: 
 

- Committed involuntarily to a hospital pursuant to an order of the District Court 

under Title 34-B § 3864 because the person was found to present a likelihood of 

serious harm, as defined under Title 34-B § 3801 (A-C); 

- Found criminally not responsible by reason of insanity; or 

- Found not competent to stand trial in a criminal case. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 25  M.R.S.A. §1541 (3)(C) 

 

Chapter 684 – L.D. 461 
An Act To Implement the Recommendations of the Human Trafficking Task Force 

The definition of “restraint” for the purposes of the crime of kidnapping is expanded to 

include: 

- Destroying, concealing, removing, confiscating or possessing any actual or 

purported passport or other immigration document or other actual or purported 

government identification document of the person; or 

- Using any scheme, plan or pattern intended to cause the other person to 

believe that if the person does not perform certain labor or services, including 

prostitution, that the person or another person will suffer serious harm or 

restraint. 

 
Effective January 1, 2009     Enacts 17-A M.R.S.A. §301(2)(D) & (E) 

 

A new statute is enacted to provide a civil cause of action for victims human trafficking. 

 
Effective January 1, 2009     Enacts 5 M.R.S.A. §4701  
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Chapter 685 – L.D. 1873 
An Act To Amend the Laws Governing Stalking 

In order to constitute stalking, conduct previously had to be directed at a particular 

person.  Now, the conduct may not be “directed at or concerning” a specific person.  The 

conduct used to have to cause fear to both the specific person and a reasonable person, 

now it only has to cause fear in the reasonable person.  In addition to fearing death or 

bodily injury to the victim or a close relation, it now also constitutes stalking if the victim 

fears damage or destruction of property or harm or injury or death to the victim’s animal. 

 

The definition of “course of conduct” has been modified and now includes  “2 or more 

acts, including but not limited to, acts in which the actor, by any action, method, device 

or means, directly or indirectly follows, monitors, tracks, observes, surveils, threatens, 

harasses, or communicates to or about a person or interferes with a  person’s property.”  

It also includes “threats implied by conduct and gaining unauthorized to personal, 

medical, financial or other identifying or confidential information”.  

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Amends 17-A M.R.S.A. §210-A 

 

Chapter 688 – L.D. 2079 
An Act To Strengthen the Crime of Visual Sexual Aggression Against a Child 

The words “in a private place” have been stricken from the portion of the visual sexual 

aggression statute that prohibits video surveillance (so that statute now covers public 

places as well).  The requirement that it has to be done in an area where the victim would 

expect to be free from surveillance is still in it. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Amends 17-A M.R.S.A. §256(1) (C) & (D) 

 

Chapter 694 – L.D. 2001 
An Act To Reduce Wild Blueberry Theft 

Shippers and processors of wild blueberries have a responsibility to keep documentation 

proving the source of the blueberries and copies of blueberry transportation permits.  It is 

now a criminal violation for the 3
rd

 or subsequent offense of failing to maintain the 

proper documentation. 

 
Effective April 24, 2008     Enacts 36 M.R.S.A. §4316 (3-A) 
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Communications 

 

Chapter 504 – L.D. 2238 
An Act Regarding Tort Liability in the Provision of E-9-1-1 Access-only Service 

The statute limiting the tort liability of a telecommunications provider that develops and 

maintains the E-9-1-1 system is broadened to also cover the “establishment” of the 

system.  The “E-9-1-1” system is defined as including all networks, databases, and call 

processing services necessary to provide enhanced 9-1-1 and enhanced 9-1-1 access-only 

services. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 25 M.R.S.A. §2930 (2) 

 

Chapter 622 – L.D. 2279 
An Act To Ensure Equitable Payment for 9-1-1 Services 

The PUC can now have an adjudicatory hearing to set the fee that a PSAP charges 

another political subdivision for 9-1-1 services.  Every municipality which does not have 

a PSAP must contract with a PSAP to obtain services or the Department of Public Safety 

will do it for the municipality (and bill the municipality accordingly). 

 
Effective April 15, 2008    Enacts 25 M.R.S.A. §1535, 2923-A 

 

Chapter 637 – L.D. 2265 
An Act To Reduce the Amount Collected for the Purpose of the E-9-1-1 System 

The E-9-1-1 surcharge has been reduced from $0.50 per line, per month, to $0.30 per 

line, per month. 

  
Effective April 16, 2008    Amends 25 M.R.S.A. §2927 (1-B) 

 

 

Fish and Wildlife 

 

Chapter 492 – L.D. 2142 
An Act To Amend the Law Governing Antlerless Deer Permits 

 

A person with a super pack hunting license may enter the lottery for antlerless deer 

permits. 

 
Effective March 12, 2008    Amends 12 M.R.S.A. § 11109-A (2) 

 
At least 25% of antlerless deer permits in a wildlife management district shall be reserved 

for landowners who keep their lands open to the hunting public. 

 
Effective March 12, 2008    Amends 12 M.R.S.A. § 11152 (4) 
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Chapter 494 – L.D. 2006 
An Act To Give Municipalities Control of Mussels Located in Intertidal Zones 

Municipalities may specify areas of the intertidal zone in which the dragging of mussels 

may be limited to the degree necessary to support a municipal conservation program.  

Mussel permits issued by the Commissioner must be limited to the number the 

commissioner determines is necessary to achieve the conservation goals of the 

municipality. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 12 M.R.S.A. § 6671 (3)(A) & (12) 

 

Chapter 509 – L.D. 1979 
An Act Regarding the Use of Designated State-approved ATV Trails 

Permission to for the public to ride an ATV on a landowner’s property is presumed if the 

ATV is ridden on a State-approved trail which crosses the landowner’s property.  

Landowners may limit the use of the trail crossing the property through agreements with 

the State or an ATV club to address environmental, pubic safety or management 

concerns. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 12 M.R.S.A. § 13157-A (1-A) 

 

Chapter 532 – L.D. 2089 
An Act To Allow Certain Assistance to Guides and Hunters 

 

A licensed guide may employ a person who is not a guide to operate a motor vehicle 

other than an ATV or snowmobile to transport hunters for the sole purpose of delivering 

them to a predetermined location.  The person employed may not engage in hunting, 

transport hunting equipment for that own person’s use unless it is fastened in a case, 

accompany the hunters into fields or forests, or assist in hunting activities.  It is a Class E 

crime if the driver violates this section.  The guide who employed the driver gets a 

warning and if the guide gets three or more warnings in a five- year period, it is a civil 

offense.  This section is automatically repealed on July 31, 2010. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Enacts 12 M.R.S.A. § 12861 

 

Chapter 557 – L.D. 1980 
An Act To Preserve the Cobscook Bay Scallop Fishery 

 

This Act produced a number of new statutes and fines relating to scallops in Cobscook 

Bay.  Please see the statutes referenced below if they interest you. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008   Repeals and Replaces parts of 12 M.R.S.A.§ 6701 et seq.  
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Chapter 607 – L.D. 2071 
An Act To Amend Maine’s Scallop Laws 

This Act produced a number of amendments to scallop license laws.  Please see the 

statutes referenced below if they interest you. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008 Repeals and Replaces parts of 12 M.R.S.A.§ 6702, 6706, 6726, 

6729, 6701 et seq.     

Enacts 12 M.R.S.A.§ 6073-B,  6706, 6723 

 

Chapter 651 – L.D. 1982 
An Act To Amend Certain Provisions of the Fish and Wildlife Laws 

 

For the purposes of Title 12, a person is not a resident unless the person has been 

domiciled in the State for at least one year (previously was three months).   

 
Effective April 18, 2008 Amends 12 M.R.S.A.§10001 (53) 

 

 

Juvenile Law 

 

Chapter 536 – L.D. 1953 
An Act To Amend the Laws Relating to the Department of Corrections 

This law makes some substantive and housekeeping changes to juvenile law. 
 

The major substantive change is that it now provides for accord and satisfaction (if the 

victim could sue the suspect civilly and victim tells the court an agreement has been 

reached and doesn’t want the juvenile case to go forward, it is dropped).  It does not 

apply to cases of refusing to submit to arrest, to any crime where the victim is a family or 

household member, to any juvenile who already had an accord and satisfaction, or to any 

juvenile with a prior juvenile adjudication (conviction). 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Enacts 15 M.R.S.A. §891 

 

Chapter 686 – L.D. 1897 
An Act To Allow Blended Sentencing for Certain Juveniles 

A juvenile who has been bound over for an adult crime, convicted, and sentenced to a 

term of imprisonment which starts before the juvenile has attained the age of 16 years, 

must be sentenced to a juvenile facility for an indeterminate period, not to extend beyond 

the age of 18 years and then can be placed in an adult facility for the remainder of the 

sentence. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 17-A M.R.S.A. §1259 
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Animal Control 

 

Chapter 702 – L.D. 2171 
An Act To Amend the Animal Welfare Laws 

The definition of a “breeding kennel” is expanded to include a location where more than 

16 dogs or cats raised on the premises are sold to the public in a 12-month period. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008    Amends 7 M.R.S.A. §3907 (8-A)  

 
The definition of a “dangerous dog” is expanded to include a dog which bites a 

domesticated animal (formerly was just dogs that bit people).  An exception has been 

added for a dog with no prior history of aggressiveness that bites or threatens to bite an 

individual who provoked it and was on the dog owner’s premises. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008    Amends 7 M.R.S.A. §3907 (12-D)  

 
A definition has been added for “humanely clean conditions.”  To meet the definition, 

both indoor and outdoor enclosures must be cleaned on a periodic basis to remove 

excrement, dirt and trash to minimize health hazards to the animal. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 7 M.R.S.A. §3907 (15-B) 

 

The animal cruelty statute has been amended to include “confines an animal in a 

building, enclosure, car, boat, vehicle or vessel of any kind when extreme heat or cold 

will be harmful to its health.”  
 

Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 7 M.R.S.A. §4011 (2) (D) 

 

A LEO, humane agent or ACO, may take all steps reasonably necessary to remove an 

animal from a motor vehicle if the animal’s safety, health or well being appears to be in 

immediate danger from heat, cold or a lack of ventilation and the conditions could be 

expected to cause extreme suffering or death. 

 

The removing officer must leave a note in a conspicuous place that states the identity of 

the officer and where the animal may be found.  The owner must pay all expenses of the 

medical care before the animal may be picked up. 

 

There is immunity from criminal and civil liability for the officer who engages actions 

pursuant to this statute. 
 

Effective July 18, 2008    Enacts 7 M.R.S.A. §4011 (2) (D) 
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Miscellaneous 

 

Chapter 501 – L.D. 1881 
An Act to Improve Transparency and Accountability in Government 

The law that states that every person has the right to inspect and copy any public record 

within a reasonable time after making the request has been amended.  It now states that 

an agency may ask clarifying questions about exactly what records are being requested, 

but that the request for records must be acknowledged within a reasonable period of time. 
 

Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 1 M.R.S.A. §408 (1)  

 

Chapter 510 – L.D. 2081 
An Act To Prohibit the Retail Sale and Distribution of Novelty Lighters Prohibited 

It is a civil violation to sell at retail, offer to sell at retail or distribute for retail sale or 

promotion any novelty lighter (a device used for lighting cigarettes, pipes or cigars which 

appears to be a toy).  The fine is up to $500.00. 
 

Effective March 24, 2008    Enacts 25 M.R.S.A. §2467  

 

Chapter 549 – L.D. 2124 
An Act To Prevent the Theft of Certain Metals 

Scrap metal processors must now maintain an “accurate and legible” record of each scrap 

metal purchase transaction which exceeds 100 lbs or $50.00.  Payment shall be made 

only in check and contain a record of the name of the payee, check number and the name 

of the financial institution on which the check is drawn.  The only exception is if the 

purchases are pursuant to a written contract or bill of sale. 
 

The log must contain name, address and gender of seller (verified by identification), the 

date of the transaction, a general description of the predominant types of scrap metal 

purchased, a general description of the configuration of the metal and whether it is 

insulated, the weight, quantity or volume, the money paid and a signed statement that the 

seller is the owner or otherwise authorized to sell the material.  The records must be 

maintained for one year and made available to any law enforcement officer who requests 

to see them. 
 

Certain items – scrap metal marked with initials of a utility, governmental entity, railroad 

or beer manufacturer, manhole covers, street lights, guard rails, street signs, water meter 

covers, beer kegs, traffic signals, unused or undamaged building materials, historical 

markers, grave markers and catalytic converters may not be purchased without the 

additional requirement of a signed statement from the seller stating that the items are not 

stolen to the best of the seller’s knowledge. 
 

There may not be any purchases from minors without a written statement of consent from 

a parent. 
 

Violations of these sections are civil violations with penalties of $50 to $1500.00. 
 

Effective April 3, 2008    Enacts30-A M.R.S.A. §3771 et seq. 
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Chapter 553 – L.D. 2182 
An Act to Allow Civil Penalties for Damaging 

Utility Property or for Theft of Utility Services 

There are now some specific statutes that allow utilities to civilly pursue a person 

involved with theft of utility services and the damage to utility equipment associated with 

the theft.  It does not take away your ability to charge someone criminally, but you may 

get fewer reports if utilities decide that they would rather use these statutes. 

 
Effective April 3, 2008    Enacts 35-A M.R.S.A. §2706 et seq.  

 

Chapter 555 – L.D. 2267 
An Act to Increase the Number of Concealed Firearms Permits Reciprocity 

Agreements that Maine May Enter into with Other Eligible States 

Previously Maine could only enter into reciprocity agreements for concealed weapons 

permits with two other states.  That limit has been removed. 

 
Effective June 30, 2008    Amends 25 M.R.S.A. §2001-A (2)(F)  

 

Chapter 577 – L.D. 2243 
An Act To Increase the Number of Mandated 

Reporters of Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation 

Sexual assault counselors and domestic violence advocates are added to the list of people 

who must report suspected abuse of children or incapacitated or dependent adults.   

 
Effective July 18, 2008    Amends 22 M.R.S.A.§ 3477 (1)(A) 

 Amends 22 M.R.S.A.§ 4011-A (1)(A) 

Chapter 586 – L.D. 2000 
An Act To Authorize DHHS to Investigate Suspicious Deaths of Children 

In addition to reporting suspected child abuse or neglect, mandatory reporters must now 

also report when a suspicious child death has occurred. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Amends 22 M.R.S.A.§ 4011-A  

 

Chapter 601 – L.D. 1505 
An Act To Adopt the Revised Uniform Anatomical Gift Act 

If a law enforcement officer, firefighter, paramedic or other emergency responder finds a 

person who is dead or near death, the official must search the person to look for 

documentation that indicates whether the person is an organ donor.  There’s no criminal 

or civil liability for failing to perform this search, but the responder may be subject to 

administrative sanctions. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 22 M.R.S.A.§ 2952  
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Chapter 603 – L.D. 1923 
An Act To Implement the Recommendations of the Right-To-Know 

Advisory Committee Creating the Public Access Ombudsman 

The Attorney General’s office has been directed to create the position of Public Access 

Ombudsman to assist with the compliance with Maine’s Freedom of Access laws.  

This law creating this position is repealed effective June 30, 2009. 
 

Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 5 M.R.S.A.§200-I  

 

Chapter 609 – L.D. 1951 
An Act To Create the Mental Health Homicide, 

Suicide and Aggravated Assault Review Board 

A new board has been established to review homicides, suicides and aggravated assaults 

which involve a person with severe and persistent mental illness. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 34-B M.R.S.A.§1931  

 

Chapter 633 – L.D. 2187 
An Act To Allow Limited Charitable Solicitation by Law Enforcement Associations 

Law enforcement agencies or associations may solicit property from the general public 

for the benefit of a LEO or his/her immediate family suffering from a catastrophic illness.  

The fundraising must be done in a particular manner, utilize a public benefit corporation 

and contain a notice with required wording.  Check the statute for all of the specific 

requirements before undertaking fundraising. 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 25 M.R.S.A.§3701 (8) & 3702-C  

 

Chapter 634 – L.D. 2220 
An Act To Aid Victims of Identity Theft in Securing a Police Report 

Law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction over a person’s actual residence or place of 

business are now required to take reports of suspected identity theft from that person.  

They still retain discretion over whether to investigate. 

   
Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 10 M.R.S.A.§1350-B  

 

Chapter 654 – L.D. 2047 
An Act To Shield Journalist’s Confidential Sources 

Subpoenas may not be issued to compel journalists to testify about the identity of their 

confidential sources or to obtain information which could be used to identify a 

confidential source unless there has been a court hearing where the journalist has had an 

opportunity to be heard and the judge concludes that the identify of the source is needed 

to serve the interests of justice (the specific interests are described in the statute). 

 
Effective July 18, 2008     Enacts 16 M.R.S.A. §61  


