Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
BUREAU OF HUMAN RESOURCES

January 8, 2008

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 1-08

TO:

All Agency/Department Heads and Human Resource Representatives


SUBJECT:

2009 HOLIDAY SCHEDULE FOR STATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES NOT COVERED BY A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

The 2009 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.

HOLIDAY

DAY, DATE OBSERVED

   

New Year’s Day

Thursday, January 1, 2009

   

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 19, 2009

   

Washington's Birthday/President's Day

Monday, February 16, 2009

   

Patriots Day

Monday, April 20, 2009

   

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25, 2009

   

Independence Day

Friday, July 3, 2009

   

Labor Day

Monday, September 7, 2009

   

Columbus Day

Monday, October 12, 2009

   

Veterans Day

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

   

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 26, 2009

   

Thanksgiving Friday

Friday, November 27, 2009

   

Christmas Day

Friday, December 25, 2009

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday, holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday.  For calendar year 2009, Independence Day (July 4) falls on a Saturday and will be observed on Friday, July 3.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee.  If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted.  Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

S/ Alicia Kellogg
Alicia Kellogg, Director
Bureau of Human Resources