Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL SERVICES
Bureau of Human Resources


September 18, 1998

HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 10-98


TO: All Agency/Department Heads/Personnel Officers/EEO Officers
SUBJECT: 1999 Holiday Schedule for State Agency Employees Not Covered by a Collective Bargaining Agreement

====================================================================================

The 1999 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the Civil Service Rules and the Governor's benefit package for Confidential employees.

HOLIDAYS DAY/DATE TO BE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 18
Washington's Birthday (President's Day) Monday, February 15
Patriot's Day Monday, April 19
Memorial Day Monday, May 31
Independence Day Monday, July 5
Labor Day Monday, September 6
Columbus Day Monday, October 11
Veteran's Day Thursday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 26
Christmas Friday, December 24

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee.  If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an additional compensatory day will be granted.   Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, 1 of the Civil Service Rules.

To be eligible for holiday pay, employees must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceeding and the normal workday following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.


____________/s/________________
Donald A. Wills, Director
BUREAU OF HUMAN RESOURCES