Maine Disabled Veterans Controlled Moose Hunt

2018 Disabled Veterans Controlled Moose Lottery

We are pleased to announce the launch of this year’s Disabled Veterans Controlled Moose Hunt. As in years’ past, we are again partnering with the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife (IF&W) and Smoldering Lake Outfitters to provide permits, individual guides for the hunters, and all equipment for the Hunt.

IF&W has allocated moose hunting permits for disabled veterans who are residents of Maine – and a small group of non-resident disabled veterans – to participate in the Controlled Moose Hunt. This Hunt is not like the regular IF&W moose lottery, as it requires each hunter to team up with a registered Maine Guide who has specific training for the Controlled Moose Hunt. This year, there will be three Hunts in August and two in September. All five will take place on farm land specified by IF&W.

Please note that this is a one-time Hunt. If you have ever tagged a moose through the Disabled Veterans Controlled Moose Hunt, you are ineligible to hunt again.

The Bureau of Veterans’ Services and Smoldering Lake Outfitters are working with sponsors to reduce the cost of the Hunt for Maine veterans. If you or your organization is interested in sponsoring this terrific program, please contact Melissa Willette, Director of Communications for the Bureau, at:

    2018 Disabled Veterans Controlled
    Moose Hunt Lottery Winners

  1. Bruce Hanson, South Paris
  2. Michael Webster, Wells
  3. Michael Harcek, Woolwich
  4. Charles Dudley, Limestone
  5. Nathaniel Jack, Nobleboro
  6. Bertrand Pinette, Madawaska
  7. Thomas Funderburke, Greenfield Twp.
  8. Wayne Napples, Topsham
  9. Glenn Roberts, Orono
  10. Ralph Waterman, Freeport
  11. Thomas Demers, Bangor
  12. Herbert Macomber III, Waterville
  13. Randy Shoe, Berwick
  14. Disabled American Veterans (DAV) Sponsored Veteran
  15. AMVETS Sponsored Veteran

    2018 Disabled Veterans Controlled
    Moose Hunt Lottery Alternates

  1. Robert Dolak, Belgrade Lakes
  2. Bruce Willey, Cherryfield
  3. Elwood Ellis, China Village
  4. Donald Howlett, South Thomaston
  5. David Andrew Michaud, Saint Albans