Maine Resident Free Lifetime Veteran State Park and Museum Pass
Maine Veteran Lifetime Day-Use State Park & Museum Pass - Authorized under Public Law Chapter 370 (L.D. 1656).
The Commissioner of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management, in accordance with a memorandum of agreement entered into with the Commissioner of Conservation and this section, shall issue a free day use pass to state parks, historic sites, and museum to eligible Maine veterans. Eligibility is as follows:
The Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management shall determine, based on an examination of an individual's discharge certificate from active duty services, also known as the DD214, whether the following criteria are met:
- The person is a resident of Maine; and
- The person received an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions.
A pass issued under this section does not expire and is valid for the lifetime of the holder.
If you are a veteran that meets the above criteria and would like to apply for a park pass, please click the link below for an application, which you must print, complete and return to the following address along with a copy of your DD214.
In order to open the pdf version, your computer must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed. A free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader may be obtained by clicking Acrobat Reader.
Mail completed application to:
Maine Bureau of Veterans' Services
117 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0117
Application processing time once received is approximately 2 to 3 weeks.
Please note that Maine veterans age 65 years or older will not be issued a park pass as they are automatically entitled to free admission as a Maine senior citizen.
The park pass is valid for the veteran only and is limited to Maine State Parks and Historic Sites operated by the Maine Department of Conservation. Proper identification is required. Passes are non-transferrable and may not be used by anyone other than the veteran. Failure to abide by this will result in a loss of privileges.
This pass is not valid for the following locations:
- Acadia National Park
- Baxter State Park
- Allagash Wilderness Waterway
- Penobscot Corridor
- Penobscot Narrows Observatory
- Maine Wildlife Park
You must have your park pass and proper identification to gain entrance at a Maine State Park or Historic Site.
Some of the rules that must be followed are as follows:
Pets must be leashed at all times
The consumption of alcohol is prohibited
There is NO smoking allowed in common areas
The State of Maine would like to thank you for your military service and hope you enjoy your visits to the Maine State Parks and Historic Sites.
Please contact Maine Veterans' Services for any questions regarding the Maine Veterans Lifetime Day-Use Park Pass program by calling 207-430-6035 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org