
Maine State Agency for Surplus Property 

Procedure for the Purchase of Property by  

an Employee Leaving State Service 

     Title 5, §20-A paragraph 2 
 

Title 5,  §20-A paragraph 2 permits state employees who are leaving state service to potentially 

purchase property that they used while employed or any other person to purchase as a gift to an 

employee that is leaving state service. The following is the procedure for requests and how they 

are approved. A copy of this procedure, statute and Request/Agreement form will be provided to 

the agency.  

 

Note that agencies are not required to release property for sale to the employee. Considerations 

for release are: Departmental/agency needs for the property, type of property, replacement costs 

and the reason for the employee leaving state service. For all requests, the Surplus Property 

manager will have final approval or denial. 

 

1. The Request/Agreement form is submitted to the immediate supervisor prior to or within 

3 months of leaving state service. The supervisor will forward the request to the Bureau 

Director or Service Center Director to obtain necessary approval. If the property 

requested has a value greater than $1,000, the agencies Commissioner’s approval is 

required. 

 

2. The Bureau Director or Service Center Director will contact the Surplus Property 

manager who will make a determination of need for the property by other state agencies 

by referencing an established want list. If an agency need exists, the property becomes 

eligible for distribution to another agency. 

 

3. If no need exists for the property by another agency, then the fair market value will be 

determined by the Surplus Property manager in conjunction with the releasing agency, if 

necessary. The price may also include any considerations for remaining buy out costs. 

Once determined, the Surplus Property manager will communicate the price to the 

agency. 

 

4. If approved by the agency, the Request/Agreement form with necessary signatures will 

be forwarded to the Surplus Property manager for the final approval signature. A check 

made payable to, “Treasurer, State of Maine” including sales tax, must be submitted with 

the Request/Agreement form or payment can be made by credit or debit card. A BP-84 

Redistribution Order must also be included in order to transfer the property from the turn 

in agency. It is the agency’s responsibility to inform their property officer of the 

transaction. 

 

5. A sales document will be provided to the employee to present for the receipt of the 

property and a copy of the sales document and BP-84 will be forwarded to the agency. 

Property must not be released until payment is received and a sales receipt is provided to 

the employee and agency. 

 

Revised 4/2010  

 



 

REQUEST/AGREEMENT 

Condition of Sale of State Property to an Employee Leaving State Service 

Per Title 5 §20-A paragraph 2 

I ____________________________________________________________________ 

(State Employee) 

request and agree, if approved, to purchase the following property: 

______________________________________________________________________ 

(Description of Property with Serial # and Fixed Asset #, if applicable) 

 For the amount of: ___________________ 

plus 5.5% sales tax: ___________________ 

                      Total: ___________________ 

Origin Account Code: ________________________________________ 

*The account code must be provided, otherwise no funds will be returned to the agency.* 

As a condition of this sale, any property containing sensitive or classified 

information in an electronic form related to State government business, must be certified as 

overwritten, degaussed or destroyed by the Releasing Authority below, as indicated by the 

approval signature, prior to releasing the property to the employee. 

Dated: _______________ Signed: ____________________________ 

(State Employee or person purchasing as gift) 

Dated: _______________ Signed: ____________________________ 

(Releasing Authority) 

Dated: _______________ Signed: _____________________________ 

(Surplus Property Manager) 

Rev. 10/2013 


	Employee Leaving State Service Procedures Amended April 2010.pdf
	5.5% Employee Leaving State Service Sales Agreement 10_2013.pdf

