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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO
FRANCHISE TAX: Every financial institution that
had Maine net income or Maine assets during the
taxable year must file Form 1120B-ME and pay Maine
franchise tax, even if the institution is established as
a partnership, S corporation or entity disregarded as
separate from its owner. “Financial institution” means a
bank, bank holding company, thrift institution, savings
association, insured institution, savings bank holding
company, qualified savings bank, insured depository
institution, appropriate federal banking agency or
qualified family partnership (as defined in the Bank
Holding Company Act of 1956, 12 U.S. Code § 1841),
or any other financial institution (except a credit union)
authorized to do business in Maine as defined in 9-B
M.R.S.A.8§8131(17-A). “Financial institution” includes any
corporation of which more than 50% of the voting stock
is owned, directly or indirectly, by a financial institution
or by a credit union as defined in 9-B M.R.S.A. § 131.

. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Financial institutions

reporting for calendar year 2008 are required to file
with payment on or before March 15, 2009. Fiscal year
taxpayers are required to file, with payment, on or before
the 15th day of the third month following the close of the
taxable year.

. EXTENSION FOR FILING: A State of Maine extension

request form is not required. If you are unable to file your
return by the original due date of the return, Maine allows
an automatic seven-month extension of time to file.
CAUTION: AN EXTENSION TO FILE YOUR MAINE

RETURN IS NOT AN EXTENSION FOR PAYMENT OF
TAX. If you owe money, you must pay at least 90% of
that amount by the original due date for filing your return
and the remaining 10% must be paid when the return
is filed by the extended due date in order to avoid the
failure-to-pay penalty. However, interest is charged on
any tax paid after the original due date of your return.

Remit your estimated tax payment with Form 1120B-
EXT-ME (Extension Payment Voucher) by the original
due date for filing your Maine return to: Maine Revenue
Services, P.O. Box 9114, Augusta, ME 04332-9114.
Form 1120B-EXT-ME is available at www.maine.gov/
revenue/forms or by calling 207-624-7894.

. PAYMENT OF FRANCHISE TAX: Allfinancial institutions

subject to franchise tax must make payment of estimated
tax unless the liability for the taxable year reduced by
allowable credits is less than $1,000. See instructions
for Form 1120B-ES/ME for details. Form 1120B-ES/
ME vouchers and instructions are available at www.
maine.gov/revenue/forms or by calling 207-624-7894.

Electronic Payment Required. Beginning in 2009,
taxpayers with an annual total combined tax liability for
all taxes of $50,000 or more must pay electronically. For
years after 2009, the threshold is $25,000.

. INTEREST: Beginning January 1, 2009, interest of 8%

per annum, compounded monthly, will be added to the
balance of any tax due from the original due date to
the date of payment and should be included with any
payment.

6. PENALTIES:

a. Underpayment of estimated tax penalty. Beginning
January 1, 2009, the penalty is 8% per annum,
compounded monthly. The penalty is assessed
if the sum of the four equal quarterly estimated tax
payments is not at least equal to the lesser of the
previous year’s Maine income tax liability or ninety
percent (90%) of the tax liability for the current
year. Exception: certain large corporations cannot
use the previous year’'s liability in determining
the required amount of estimated tax payments.
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS (continued)

Late filing and late payment penalties. If a past due
return is filed before the receipt, or within 30 days of

b.the receipt, of a demand notice, the penalty for failure
to file is the greater of $25 or 10% of the amount of tax
due. If the return is filed more than 30 days after the
receipt of a demand notice, the failure-to-file penalty
increases to 100% of the tax otherwise due.

For failure to pay a tax liability, the penalty is 1% of the
tax liability for each month the payment is delinquent,
up to 25%.

Other penalties. The law also provides for penalties
for substantial understatement of tax, negligence,

c. fraud, and for payment of tax by check that is returned
for insufficient funds.

7. ACCOUNTING PERIOD COVERED: Form 1120B-ME
will cover the same period as the equivalent federal
return.

8. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer's method of
accounting for Maine franchise tax purposes must be
the same as that used for federal income tax purposes.

9. FEDERAL RETURN MUST ACCOMPANY STATE

RETURN: Maine franchise tax return, Form 1120B-
ME, must be accompanied by a legible copy of pages
1 through 4 of the financial institution’s federal return for
the same taxable period.
You are not required to provide Maine with copies of
supporting schedules attached to the federal form filed
with the Internal Revenue Service unless specifically
requested.

10. FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED
RETURNS: Taxpayers must file Maine amended returns
for any change or correction by the Internal Revenue
Service in federal net income per books or total end-of-
year assets. The amended return must be filed within 90
days after final determination of the federal change or
correction. Attach a copy of the Internal Revenue Agent’s

report and closing letter with all supporting schedules to
the Maine amended return.

Taxpayers filing amended federal returns must, within
90 days, file amended Maine returns with copies of the
federal amended return. When filing returns that reflect
federal net operating losses, a copy of federal Form
1139 must be attached.

In addition, an amended Maine franchise tax return is
required to correct errors on a previously filed return.
The amended return must be filed within 90 days of the
discovery. Maine Revenue Services does not provide
a form for amended franchise tax returns. Use Form
1120B-ME for the year(s) you are amending and check
the box marked “check here if an amended return” in the
upper right corner of the form.

11. COMBINED REPORT FOR UNITARY MEMBERS:
A financial institution that is a member of an affiliated
group and operates in a unitary fashion must file a Maine
Franchise Tax Combined Report For Unitary Members
(Form CRB). Maine law defines affiliated group to mean
a group of two or more financial institutions in which more
than 50% of the voting interest of each member financial
institution is directly or indirectly owned by a common
owner or owners, either corporate or noncorporate, or by
one or more of the member financial institutions. Unitary
is defined as a business activity that is characterized by
unity of ownership, functional integration, centralization
of management and economies of scale.

The State of Maine three factor apportionment formula
is used to apportion net income of multi-state financial
institutions. This formula adopts many features of the
financial institution apportionment formularecommended
by the Multistate Tax Commission. The law provides
that the apportionment formula is also used to compute
Maine assets from the total end-of-year assets of the
financial institution.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Line la. Net Income Per Books: Enter net income per books
from federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065.

Line 1b. Maine Net Income: Financial institutions that are not
part of an affiliated-unitary group and have income solely from
activity within Maine must enter here the same amount as on
line 1a. Financial institutions that are members of an affiliated-

unitary group must file a combined report (Form CRB). A
financial institution that is taxable both in and outside Maine must
apportion its net income by completing Schedule A on page 7 of
Form 1120B-ME. The instructions for Schedule A are on page
6. For information on how to file a Maine combined report (Form
CRB), see paragraph 11 of the General Instructions above and
the instructions for Form CRB.

Line 2a. Total End-of-year Assets: Enter total end-of-year
assets from federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065.

Line 2b. Maine Assets: Financial institutions that are not part of
an affiliated-unitary group and have income solely from activity
within Maine must enter here the same amount as on line 2a.
Financial institutions that are members of an affiliated unitary
group must file a combined report (Form CRB). A financial
institution that is taxable both in and outside Maine must
apportion its assets by completing Schedule A on page 2 of
Form 1120B-ME. The instructions for Schedule A are on page 6.
For information on how to file a Maine combined report (Form
CRB), see paragraph 11 of the General Instructions above and
the instructions for Form CRB.



SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS (continued)

Line 3. Tax: Afinancial institution must elect each year the rate
at which they will be taxed by placing an “x” in the appropriate
box. Maine offers two tax rate options:

Option 1 - Atax on Maine income and Maine assets equal to
the sum of 1% of the financial institution’s Maine net income
plus .008% of its Maine assets.

Option 2 - Atax on Maine assets only, equal to .039% of the
financial institution’s Maine assets.

Line 3a. Tax on Maine Net Income: The tax rate on income
is 1% (0.01) of Maine net income as listed on line 1b. Leave

blank if option 2 is elected.

Line 3b. If option 1 is selected on line 3, the franchise tax rate
on Maine assets listed on line 2b is 8 cents (8¢) per $1,000
(0.008%). If option 2 is selected on line 3, the franchise tax
rate on Maine assets listed on line 2b is 39 cents (39¢) per
$1,000 (0.039%). Apply the appropriate factor and enter the
result on this line.

Lines 4a, b, c: These lines are for entities that made estimated
tax payments, deposits with an extension payment voucher, or
for those taxpayers filing amended returns and claiming credit
for tax paid with original return.

Line 4d. Net Operating Loss Credit: A credit is allowed
against franchise tax on assets in the case of a taxable entity
that sustains a book net operating loss. The credit is computed
by multiplying the book net operating loss by the franchise tax
rate on income (0.01). The total amount of the credit allowed
is limited to the franchise tax on assets as listed on line 3b.
Excess credit amounts may be carried over to the next five (5)
tax years and may be applied against the total tax listed on line
3c. If you carry over an excess credit from a previous year,
attach a carryover schedule to support your entry on line 4d.

Line 4e. Other Credits: A list of allowable tax credits follows.
You must complete and attach a tax credit worksheet for each
tax credit claimed. Tax credit worksheets may be downloaded
from the internet. Go to www.maine.gov/revenue/forms. You
may also order worksheets by telephone by calling (207) 624-
7894. Enter the total amount of credit used to reduce tax liability
online 4e. The total amount of all credits used to reduce tax

liability cannot exceed the total tax liability on line 3c.

Maine Seed Capital Tax Credit: The tax credit allowed is
based on the amount authorized by the Finance Authority of
Maine. A copy of the tax credit certificate must be attached to
the return. The amount of credit is subject to limitations as
outlined in 36 M.R.S.A. § 5216-B.

Jobs and Investment Tax Credit: Eligibility for this credit is
based on the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as of December
31, 1985, § 38(b)(1) and requires the addition of $5 million
of IRC § 38 property , and 100 new jobs attributable to that
investment in the 24-month period following the date the
property was placed in service. For further details see 36
M.R.S.A.85215. Jobs created between August 1, 1998 and
October 1, 2001 must be covered by qualified retirement
and health insurance plans, and wages must be greater
than the average per capita income in the labor market
area in which the employees are employed.

Employer-Assisted Day Care Tax Credit: A taxpayer
constituting an employing unit is allowed a credit for providing

day care for, or paying day care expenses of, employees,
subject to the limitations of 36 M.R.S.A. § 5217. The credit is
limited to the lowest of $5,000, 20% of the cost incurred, or
$100 for each child of an employee of the taxpayer enrolled
on a full-time basis. Carryover provisions apply. This credit
is doubled if the day care provided constitutes quality child
care. The Maine Department of Health and Human Services
(“DHHS"), Office of Child Care and Head Start, certifies
quality child care facilities. Attach a copy of the certificate
when claiming the double credit for quality child care. For
more information on quality child care services and the
certification process, call DHHS, Office of Child Care and
Head Start, at 207-287-9300.

Quality Child Care Investment Credit: Businesses, other
than self-employed individuals, making certified investment
in quality child care services qualify for a credit equal to
30% of up to $30,000 of eligible expenditures. Carryover
provisions apply. The Maine Department of Health and
Human Services, Office of Child Care and Head Start, must
certify eligible investments. Attach a copy of the certificate
when claiming this credit. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-Q. For more
information on quality child care services and the certification
process, call DHHS, Office of Child Care and Head Start, at
207-287-9300.

Employer-Provided Long-Term Care Benefits Credit:
Employers are eligible for the employer-provided long-term
care credit if the policy on which premiums are paid is certified
by the Maine Bureau of Insurance or the policy meets the
federal definition of a qualified long-term care insurance
contract under the Internal Revenue Code. If the qualifying
policy is one certified by the Bureau of Insurance, indicate
the policy number when claiming this credit. 36 M.R.S.A. §
5217-C.

Biofuel Production And Use Tax Credit: A taxpayer engaged
in the production of biofuels in Maine who has received
certification from the Commissioner of the Maine Department
of Environmental Protection (DEP) is allowed a credit against
the tax imposed on income derived during the taxable year
from the production of biofuel. The credit allowed, including
carryovers, may not reduce the tax otherwise due to less
than zero. Unused credits may be carried over for 10 taxable
years. When claiming this credit, attach a copy of the
certificate issued by the Maine Department of Environmental
Protection. 36 M.R.S.A.§ 5219-X.

Research Expense Tax Credit: The credit is 5% of qualified
research expenses incurred during the taxable year that
exceed the average qualified research expense for the
previous 3 tax years, plus 7.5% of the basic research
payments determined pursuant to IRC § 41(e)(1)(A). Only
expenditures for research conducted in Maine qualify for the
credit. The term “qualified research” is defined in IRC § 41(d).
The credit is limited to the first $25,000 of tax liability before
credits plus 75% of the tax liability that exceeds $25,000.
Carryover provisions apply. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-K.

Super Research and Development Credit: Businesses whose
Maine research expenses increase by more than 50% over
the average research expenses incurred in the three years
immediately preceding June 12, 1997 qualify for this credit.
The credit is equal to the excess over 150% of the 3-year



SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS (continued)

average. The credit is limited to 50% of the net income tax
due after other credits and may not reduce the tax liability
below the liability of the previous year after the allowance of
all other credits. Carryover provisions apply. 36 M.R.S.A. §
5219-L.

High-Technology Investment Tax Credit: Businesses
engaged primarily in high-technology activities are eligible for
this credit. The credit is equal to the adjusted basis of eligible
equipment on the date that equipment is placed in service in
Maine, net of any lease payments received during the year.
The credit may not reduce current year’s tax liability below
the liability of the previous year after the allowance of all other
credits. The credit is limited to $100,000 per year ($200,000
in certain cases) and may not reduce the tax liability below
zero. Carryover provisions apply. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-M.

Credit for Dependent Health Benefits Paid: Employers that
offer a qualified health benefit plan and that employ fewer
than five employees may qualify for this credit. The credit is
equal to the lesser of 20% of the dependent health benefits
paid by the employer or $125 per employee with dependent
health benefits coverage. The credit is limited to 50% of the
income tax due. Any unused credit may be carried over for
two years. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-0O.

Clean Fuel Credit: The credit is based on the expenditures
paid or incurred for construction, installation of, or
improvements to any filling station or charging station in
Maine for the purpose of providing clean fuels to the general
public for use in motor vehicles. Clean fuel is defined as any
product or energy source, other than conventional gasoline,
diesel or reformulated gasoline, that lowers emissions of
certain pollutants. Clean fuel includes, but is not limited to,
petroleum gas, hydrogen, hythane, dynamic flywheels, solar
energy, alcohol fuels, and electricity. The credit applies to
expenditures incurred on or after January 1, 1999 and
automatically expires January 1, 2009. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-
P.

Nonrefundable Historic Rehabilitation Credit for qualified
expenditures incurred prior to 2008: (See explanation below
regarding the refundable Historic Rehabilitation Credit for
qualified expenditures incurred after 2007.) A taxpayer is
allowed a nonrefundable credit equal to the amount of the
federal credit claimed for the taxable year with respect to
qualified expenditures incurred prior to 2008, including
carryovers, for rehabilitation of certified historic structures
located in Maine. The credit is limited to $100,000 annually
per taxpayer. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-R(1). You must compete
and attach a tax credit worksheet.

NOTE: A new refundable historic rehabilitation tax credit
was recently enacted for qualified expenditures incurred
after December 31, 2007. Follow the worksheet instructions
for the refundable historic rehabilitation tax credit on how
to claim the refundable credit on the Franchise tax return.
The worksheet instructions also provide a description of the
qualifications for the refundable credit.

Family Development Account Credit: Contributors to family
development matching fund accounts are eligible for a credit.
The credit per tax return is equal to the lesser of $25,000 or

50% of the amount contributed. The credit is limited to the tax
liability on the return and must be taken after the allowance
of all other credits. The Finance Authority of Maine certifies
the allowable credit for each contributor. Call 207-623-3263
for further information. 36 M.R.S.A. § 5216-C.

Pine Tree Development Zone Credit: A taxpayer engaged
in the business of financial services, manufacturing or a
targeted technology, as defined by 5 M.R.S.A. § 15301,
that is located within a Pine Tree Development Zone may
be eligible for this credit. To be eligible, the taxpayer must
add new, full-time jobs that meet certain wage and benefit
requirements. The credit is equal to 100% of the tax liability
related to qualified business activity for each of the first
five years after the start of qualified business activity. The
credit is 50% of the Maine tax liability related to qualified
business activity for years 6 through 10. Businesses must
be certified by the Department of Economic and Community
Development. Eligible businesses may qualify for other tax
benefits under the Pine Tree Development Zone program. 36
M.R.S.A. § 5219-W.

Pollution Control Boiler Credit: 36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-Z. A
qualified business is allowed a credit of 1.5¢ per kilowatt-
hour (or equivalent) produced by a pollution-reducing boiler.
The credit may not reduce the taxpayer’s income tax liability
to less than zero, but unused credit amounts may be carried
over until exhausted. Eligible businesses and boilers will be
certified by the Department of Environmental Protection. The
credit applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2006 and is repealed December 31, 2009. See LD #1968,
PL 2005, c. 519, Pt. TTT.

Credit for Educational Opportunity: A nonrefundable credit
is available for certain educational loan payments for Maine
resident individuals who earn an associate or bachelor’s
degree from a Maine college or university and who
subsequently live in Maine, work for an employer located
in Maine and pay taxes in Maine. The credit is available
to eligible graduates and employers making loan payments
on behalf of qualifying employees. Unused credits may be
carried over for up to 10 tax years. If eligible, both spouses
on a married-joint return may claim the credit. Maine
universities and colleges are required to certify qualifying
loans and caps applicable to the credit.

The employer credit is limited to eligible payments made
during the term of the qualified employee’s employment and
is also limited to 50% of the credit amount if the qualified
employee works only part-time (16-32 hours weekly). A
qualified employee is an employee that would be eligible to
claim the credit if they had made the loan payments. The
employer credit cannot exceed the amount that the qualified
employee could claim as a credit if the employee had made
the loan payments. An employer claiming the credit may
not also claim the Recruitment Credit under 36 M.R.S.A. §
5219-V with respect to loan payments made on behalf of the
same employee.

Only scheduled loan payments made during the tax year are
eligible for the credit. Generally, the credit is available with
respect to Educational Opportunity Programs beginning after
2007. See LD #1856 PL 2007, c. 469.



SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS (continued)

Line 4f. Total Credits: Enter the total of any previously remitted
tax payments from lines 4a, 4b and 4c as well as any tax
credits from lines 4d and 4e. The total amount entered on line
4f may exceed the total tax liability on line 3c. However, the
total amount of tax credit from lines 4d and 4e that is used to
reduce tax liability this year can not by itself exceed the total
tax liability on line 3c.

Line 5b. Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax: If the

financial institution underpaid estimated tax, complete and
attach Form 2220ME, available at www.maine.gov/revenue/
forms.

Line 7a. Credited to next year’s estimated tax: Use this line only
if you elect to have all or a portion of the overpayment on line 6
credited to your next year’s estimated Maine franchise tax.

Line 7b. Refunded: Enter here the difference between lines 6
and 7a. Refunds of $1.00 or more will be mailed to you.

IMPORTANT

IF ALL REQUIRED LINES AND SCHEDULES (INCLUDING FORM CRB) ARE NOT COMPLETED, THE RETURN
IS INCOMPLETE AND WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED A FILED RETURN. PAGES 1 -4 OF THE FEDERAL RETURN
MUST BE ATTACHED TO YOUR MAINE FRANCHISE RETURN.

SCHEDULE A - INSTRUCTIONS

APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME
(See 36 M.R.S.A. § 5206-E)

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Schedule A is for financial institutions that are taxable both
in and outside Maine. To the extent that a financial institution
derives its income from a unitary business carried on by 2 or
more members of an affiliated group, Maine net income and
Maine assets are determined by apportioning that part of
the net income and assets of the entire group that is derived
from the unitary business.

Maine employs a three-factor formula to determine income
and assets apportioned to Maine. However, one or more
factors may be excluded from the apportionment formula
under certain circumstances. If a factor is excludable from
the apportionment formula, the weighting of the remaining
factors must be changed.

A factor is excludable only if both the numerator and
denominator are zero,* but is not excludable merely because
the numerator is zero. When excluding the receipts factor,
change the weight of the payroll and property factors to 50%
(0.5) each. When excluding either the payroll or property
factor, change the weight of the receipts factor to 66.67%
(0.6667) and the weight of the remaining factor (payroll or
property) to 33.33% (0.3333). If two factors are excludable
from the apportionment formula, change the weight of the
remaining factor to 100%. If you are excluding any factors,
attach a schedule detailing the factors used and the
apportionment computation. If the total of 8(C), 9(C) and
10(C) does not equal the amount you enter on line 11, your
tax liability will not compute accurately.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Line 8. Receipts Factor: The receipts factor is a fraction.
The numerator is the Maine receipts of the taxpayer during
the tax period. The denominator is the receipts of the taxpayer
everywhere in the U.S. during the tax period. See § 5206-
E(2) for a complete description of Maine and everywhere
receipts.

Line 9. Payroll Factor: The payroll factor is a fraction. The
numerator is the total amount of compensation paid in Maine
or paid to Maine-based and Maine resident employees
during the tax period, and the denominator is the total
compensation paid everywhere in the U.S. by the taxpayer
during the tax period to all employees working in the U.S.
See § 5206-E(4) for a complete description of Maine and
everywhere payroll.

Line 10. Property Factor: The property factor is a fraction.
The numerator is the average value of the taxpayer’s owned
or rented real and tangible personal property located in
Maine plus loans and credit card receivables located in Maine
during the tax period, and the denominator is the average
value of such property everywhere in the U.S. during the tax
period.

Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the net
annual rental rate. Loans and credit card receivables are
valued at outstanding principal, without regard to any reserve
for bad debt. See § 5206-E(3) for a complete description of
Maine and everywhere property.

* For example, if the business does not own or lease property anywhere in the United States, the property factor may

be eliminated.



FORM CRB - INSTRUCTIONS

MAINE FRANCHISE TAX
COMBINED REPORT FOR UNITARY MEMBERS

The combined reporting form, when applicable, must be filed with Form
1120B-ME. This report must be accompanied by an affiliation schedule
(federal Form 851 for consolidated filers is acceptable) listing name,
federal ID number and corporate activity of all members of the affiliated

group.
PURPOSE OF FORM

NOTE: Only unitary business group members are to be
included on this form. Affiliated non-unitary members
are not to be included.

Form CRB is used to calculate Maine net income of a unitary
business. Maine net income is a financial institution’s net
income or loss per books required to be reported pursuant
to the laws of the United States on Internal Revenue Service
Form 1120, 1120S, 1065, or any other Internal Revenue
Service Form used to report net income or loss per books.
36 M.R.S.A. § 5206-D(13).

COMBINED REPORTING

Financial institutions with Maine netincome that are members
of an affiliated group engaged in a unitary business must file
a combined report. Financial institutions that are members of
a unitary business but are not required to file a federal return
must be excluded from the combined report. This includes
those financial institutions not required, but electing to file, a
federal tax return.

“Affiliated group” means a group of two or more financial
institutions of which more than 50% of the voting stock of
each member is directly or indirectly owned by a common
owner or owners, either corporate or non-corporate, or by
one or more of the member financial institutions. 36 M.R.S.A.
§ 5206-D(1). A “unitary business” is a business activity that
is characterized by unity of ownership, functional integration,
centralization of management, and economies of scale. 36
M.R.S.A. § 5206-D(22).

All financial institutions required to file federal returns that
are part of a unitary business are required to be included in
the combined report of any taxable financial institution with
Maine nexus, even if the affiliated financial institution has no
nexus with Maine.

COLUMN INSTRUCTIONS

Column 1. Put a check in this column for those
corporations listed in column 2 that have nexus with Maine.

Column 2. Enter the name and federal identification
number of each member of the unitary business.

NOTE: Each unitary member should have an
amount entered in either column 3 or
column 4, but not both.

Column 3. Enter the separate net income per books of
each member listed in column 2 that was part of a federal
consolidated return (member’s share of Form 1120, Schedule

6

M-1, line 1 or Schedule M-3, line 11). This information can
be obtained from the supporting statement filed with federal
Form 1120 for consolidated returns. Attach the supporting
statement from the federal Form 1120 consolidated return.

Column 4. Enter the net income per books of each member
listed in column 2 that filed a separate federal return
(member’s net income from federal Form 1120, line 28 or
equivalent income from other federally filed return). Entries
in column 4 relate to members of the unitary business that
were not included in a federal consolidated return.

Column 5. Enter any adjustments for eliminations,
deferrals, and other modifications allowed under federal
law and regulations not yet taken in column 3. Include any
intercompany transactions between unitary members listed
on this report if those transactions resulted in gains or
losses. Similar adjustments are allowed for unitary business
members that are not part of the same consolidated filing.
These adjustments include, but are not limited to, (a)
dividends paid out of income subject to apportionment
under 36 M.R.S.A., chapter 819 by one unitary member to
another unitary member; (b) deferrals of gains/losses from
intercompany sales of inventory; and (c) deferrals of gains/
losses from intercompany sales of fixed assets. Attach a
worksheet detailing adjustments claimed in column 5.

Column 6(A). Combine columns 3, 4, and 5. This is the
adjusted separate income of each member of the unitary
business group.

Column 6(B). Enter total end-of-year assets from federal
return or pro forma federal return.

Columns 7-9. Enter each financial institution’s share of
receipts, payroll and property of the unitary business. See
36 M.R.S.A. 88 5206-E(2), (3) and (4). Carry over totals from
line 18 to Schedule A. The amounts listed on the total line of
columns 7, 8 and 9 (line 18) of the Combined Report must
agree with those entered on lines 8, 9 and 10, columns (A)
and (B) of Schedule A, Form 1120B-ME if a single return is
filed for the entire group.

LINE INSTRUCTIONS

Line 17. To the extent not already eliminated, remove all
intercompany transactions resulting in gains or losses. These
eliminations are for columns 6(B)-9 only. Attach a worksheet
that details any adjustment claimed on this line.

Line 18. Enter the total for each of columns 3 through 9.
Enter column 6(A), line 18 on Form 1120B-ME, line 1a. Enter
column 6(B), line 18 on Form 1120B-ME, line 2a.



FORM 1120B-ME
2008

For tax period 01/01/08 to 12/31/08 or

CHECK APPLICABLE BOXES: (1) Initial return Final return

2) —

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

MAINE FRANCHISE TAX RETURN
FOR FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

*0808410*

Check here if an
amended return:

to

B —

Change of name/address

Name

Address

City

Contact Person First Name Contact Person Last Name

Check here if this is a combined return and enclose Form CRB:

Federal Employer ID Number

State of
Inc.

Business Code
State ZIP Code

Telephone Number

Parent Company Federal ID Number

Principal Place of Activity in Maine City where records are maintained State
Maine Tax Computation
1. MAINE NET INCOME:
a. NET INCOME PER BOOKS ( from federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065) ................... la. .00
b. MAINE NET INCOME (from line 1a above or page 2, Schedule A, line 13)............... 1b. - 00
2. ASSETS:
a. TOTAL END-OF-YEAR ASSETS (from federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065)............. 2a. .00
b. MAINE ASSETS (from line 2a above or page 2, Schedule A, line 15).............c......... 2b. _00
3. TAX: Select a rate option (see instructions, page 3)
OPTION 1 OPTION 2
a. TAX ON MAINE NET INCOME (See inStructions, Page 3).........ccoeeeveeveevrresreennnnns 3a. _00
Leave blank if option 2 is elected.
b.  TAX ON ASSETS (s€€ inStructions, PAge 3) ......ccceoereeruiriireiniesiieiesie e 3b. .00
C. TOTAL TAX (20D @S 38 ANG 30) w..ovreerrrveeerrreeeeseeeeesseesssessseeessesesessssesseeessssssseenes 3c. .00
4. PREPAYMENTS AND CREDITS:
A, ESTIMATED TAX PAID .....oovvooiiooeeoeseeeeeseseeeoessseeseseseesesesesseseesssses s sseseessesen 4a. .00
b. DEPOSIT WITH EXTENSION PAYMENT VOUCHER............ovveeerereoreeenereseneeon. 4pb. .00
c.  PAID WITH ORIGINAL RETURN (if an amended retUrn) ... ....eeeeeeeeeeresssserneenes 4c. .00
d. NET OPERATING LOSS CREDIT (se€ iNStructions, PAge 3)...........ooovvrvrrveeeeeeeenns 4d. .00
e. OTHER CREDITS (see instructions, pages 3 and 4) .........ccccceevrveienenineneneseennenns de. .00
f.  TOTAL PREPAYMENTS AND CREDITS (add lines 4a through 4€) .............ccooervrn. 4, .00
5. BALANCE DUE, PENALTY, PAYMENT DUE WITH RETURN:
a. IF LINE 3c IS GREATER THAN LINE 4f, ENTER TAX BALANCE DUE.................... 5a. .00
b. ENTER PENALTY for Underpayment of Estimated Tax (attach Form 2220ME)....... 5b. - 00
. PAYMENT DUE WITH RETURN (add lines 5 and 5b) ..............ccceeermrrrrmmrrrrreerrrreenn 5c. .00

PAY IN FULL WITH RETURN ( make check payable to Treasurer, State of Maine)

Return Continued on Page 2

Rev. 11/08



2008 Form 1120B-ME, Page 2 H“m“m “H“H
00

Federal Employer ID Number:

* *
Return Continued from Page 1 0808411
6. OVERPAYMENT:
If line 4f, page 1, is greater than 3c plus 5b, page 1, enter overpayment......... 6. .00
7. AMOUNT ON LINE 6 TO BE:
a. CREDITED to next year's estimated taXx ..........ccovvuverreriieenieiiienee e 7a. -00
B REFUNDED ...oooooccccooo oo 7b. -00

AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements and to the best of my knowledge
and belief they are true, correct and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on information of which preparer has any
knowledge.

Date Signature of Officer
Title Officer’s Social Security Number
Date Individual or Firm Signature of Preparer Preparer’s Federal ID Number
PAYMENT AND SUBMISSION
"' Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine
1 Send check and return to: Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 1062, Augusta, ME 04332-1062

SCHEDULE A - APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME

Do not complete this schedule if 100% of your business activity is conducted in Maine.
All others must complete this schedule and enter amount in columns A and B, even if those amounts are zero.

Read the instructions on page 6 before completing this schedule.

If this schedule is left blank or excluded, your Maine apportionment factor will be set at 100%. Round all dollar amounts to whole numbers.

(A) (B) (©
Maine Factors
Col. (A) divided by Col. (B)

Within x Statutory Weighting
Maine Everywhere in U.S. Rounded to 6 Decimals
8. Total Receipts............ 8. + . X.50=.
9. Total Payroll.............. 9. + . X.25=.
10. Total Property .......... 10. + . X.25=.
11. MAINE APPORTIONMENT FACTOR (add column (C) lines 8 through 10) ........ccceeiiiiiiiiiiiiieiieeniee e 11.
12. NET INCOME PER BOOKS (page 1, liN€ 1a.) covv..evveeeveeererreessrererrenneees 12. .00
13. INCOME APPORTIONED TO MAINE (line 12 multiplied by line 11).
Enter here and on page 1, [iN€ 1b .......cccooiiiiiiiiiiii e 13. -00
14. TOTAL END-OF-YEAR ASSETS (page 1, line 2a)...........cccccoooorrrrrrrs 14. .00
15. ASSETS APPORTIONED TO MAINE (line 14 multiplied by line 11).
Enter here and on page 1, [iN€ 2b ... 15. .00

Office Use Only
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

FORM CRB - Page 1 of 2

MAINE

FRANCHISE TAX

COMBINED REPORT FOR UNITARY MEMBERS

Federal EIN

Important: The Combined Report must be accompanied by a legible copy of the parent
company’s federal Consolidated Tax Return, pages 1, 2, 3 and 4 (or equivalent).

This report must be attached to Form 1120B-ME.

2008

Col. 1
Nexus
with
Maine

Column 2
Name and

Federal ID number of
Unitary Business Member

Column 3
Net Income per
Books of Unitary
Member Participating
in a Federal
Consolidated Filing

Column 5
Allowable
Adjustments

Column 4
Net Income per
Books of Unitary

Member Filing
Separate Federal
Return

Column 6 (A)
Adjusted
Separate Net Income
per Books of Unitary
Member (Combine
Cols 3, 4, &5)

Column 6(B)
Total
End-of-year
Assets

Adjustments and eliminati
(Attach schedule showing

ons for columns 6(B) through 9
origin of any amount on this line)

TOTALS

Rev. 11/08




FORM CRB - Page 2 of 2
MAINE FRANCHISE TAX
COMBINED REPORT FOR UNITARY MEMBERS

Federal EIN :

2008

Important: The Combined Report must be accompanied by a legible copy of the parent
company’s federal Consolidated Tax Return, pages 1, 2, 3 and 4 (or equivalent).

This report must be attached to Form 1120B-ME.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Column 7 Column 8 Column 9
';\'l”e A. B. A. B. A. B.
2 Receipts Receipts Payroll Payroll Property Property
in Maine Everywhere in U.S. in Maine Everywhere in U.S. in Maine Everywhere in U.S.
Adjust-
ments
Totals
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