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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

1. CORPORATIONS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX:
Every entity subject to federal income tax as a corporation (in-
cluding exempt organizations) and doing business in Maine must
file Form 1120ME and pay its applicable Maine corporate income
tax. Corporations who elect to file under Subchapter “S” of the
Internal Revenue Code (except those with federal taxable income
at the corporate level), insurance companies subject (o tax under
36 M.R.S.A., Chapter 357 (Insurance Premiums Tax and Fire In-
vestigation and Prevention Tax) and financial institutions subject
to tax under 36 M.R.S.A., Chapter 819 (Franchise Tax) are not
subject to Maine corporate income tax. Corporate small business
investment companies, licensed under the United States Small
Business Investment Act of 1958 who are commercially domi-
ciled in Maine and do business primarily in Maine are also not
subject to this tax.

2. BANKING INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRAN-
CHISE TAX: Every corporation that is a financial institution, ex-
cept a credit union; any service corporation or subsidiary as defined
in 9B M.R.S.A., Section 131 and any financial institution holding
company that is doing business in this state must file Form 1120B-
ME and pay Maine franchise tax. Do not use Form 1120ME.

3. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Corporations reporting
for the calendar year 1993 should file, with payment, on or before
March 15, 1994. Fiscal year taxpayers should file, with payment,
on or before the 15th day of the third month following the close of
their taxable year.

4. EXTENSIONS FOR FILING: The State Tax Assessor may
grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return. The request
for extension must be filed by the 15th day of the third month fol-
lowing the close of the taxable year — even if no additional tax is
due. The Maine extension period is the same as the federal exten-
sion plus 30 days. An extension for filing the return is not an ex-
tension for payment of tax. Failure to Pay penalties apply if the tax
is not paid by the original due date of the return. Use the extension
voucher provided with Form 1120ES-ME when requesting exten-
sions that necessitate an additional deposit. If no additional tax is
due, file a copy of federal form 7004 with your extension request.

5. PAYMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME TAX: All cor-
porations subject to income taxes shall pay an estimated tax un-
less the liability for the current taxable year or for the prior tax
year reduced by any allowable credits is less than $500. See in-
structions for Form 1120ES-ME for details.

6. INTEREST: Interest at 10% per annum compounded
monthly will be added to any balance of tax due from the original
due date to the date of payment and should be included with any
payment.

7. PENALTIES:

a. Underpayment of estimated tax penalty (at 10% per
annum compounded monthly) may be assessed if the sum of quar-

terly estimated tax payments is not at least equal to the lesser of
the previous year’s Maine income tax liability or ninety percent
(90%) of the tax liability for the current year, except certain large
corporations cannot utilize the previous year’s liability in deter-
mining the required amount of estimated tax payments. :

b. Late filing — late payment penalties. If a past-duc return is
filed either before the receipt or within 30 days of the receipt of a
demand notice, the penalty for failure to file is the greater of $10
or 10% of the amount of tax due. If the return is filed more than
30 days after the receipt of a demand notice, the failure to file
penalty becomes 100% of the tax otherwise due.

For failure to pay a tax liability in a timely fashion, the penalty
is the greater of $5 or 1% of the tax liability for each month the
payment is delinquent, up to a maximum of $25 or 25%.

¢. Other Penalties. The law also provides for penalties for
substantial understatement of tax, negligence, fraud, and for pay-
ment of tax with a check that is returned for insufficient funds.

8. ACCOUNTING PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN:
Your Maine return covers the same accounting period as your fed-
eral corporate return.

9. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer’s accounting
method for Maine income tax purposes must be the same as that
used for federal income tax purposes.

10. ADDITIONAL FORMS TO ACCOMPANY STATE
RETURN: Any taxable corporation with Maine nexus that is a
member of an affiliated group, whether or not unitary as defined
by Maine law, must complete Schedule CB. Exempt organiza-
tions filing the Maine corporate return, Form 1120ME, must at-
tach a legible copy of the corporation’s federal return, Form 990T.

11. FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR § CORPORATIONS
AND PARTNERSHIPS: S corporations and partnerships that
have Maine source income or that have resident shareholders or
partners are required to file an information return consisting of
Form TR (transmittal form), a copy of the federal return and
Schedules K-1.

Shareholders and partners are subject to Mainc income tax.
Those who are nonresident individuals and who have no other
Maine-source income may satisfy the filing requirement with a
composite return. In that event, the entity would file a return on
behalf of its shareholders or pariners using form 1040ME labeled
“composice return.” For additional information, see Rule 805.

S corporations that incur federal taxable income (e.g. certain
capital gains, certain built-in gains) that is taxed at the corporate
level are required to file form 1120ME and report only the income
on form 1120ME that is taxed at the corporate level for federal
purposes.

12. FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED RE-
TURNS: All taxpayers must file a Maine amended return for any
change or correction by the Internal Revenue Service in federal



taxable income within 90 days after final determination of such

change or correction. Attach a copy of the Internal Revenue

Agent’s report with all supporting schedules to your Maine
amended return.

Any taxpayer filing an amended federal income tax return
must, within 90 days, file an amended Maine income tax return
and attach a copy of federal Form 1120X. When filing returns that
reflect federal net operating losses, a copy of the federal Form
1139 must be attached.

The state does not provide a form for amended returns. Use
Form 1120ME for the year(s) you are amending and print or type
“amended” in the upper left corner of the form.

13. COMBINED REPORTS: A taxable corporation that is a
member of an affiliated group and that operates in a unitary fash-
ion must file a combined return based upon federal taxable in-
come. Corporations that may be part of an affiliated unitary group
but are not required to file a federal income tax return are to be

excluded from combined filing. Additionally, 80-20 corporations
are cxcluded from the combined group.

Maine defines affiliated group to mean a group of two or more
corporations in which more than 50% of the voting stock of each
member corporation is directly or indirectly owned by a common
owner or owners, either corporate or non-corporate, or by one or
more of the member corporations. Unitary is defined as a business
activity that is characterized by unity of ownership, functional in-
tegration, centralization of management and economies of scale.

A single return may be filed on which the aggregatc Maine in-
come tax liability of the Maine-nexus members of a unitary group
is reported. All members of the affiliated group are to be listed on
Schedule CB. For detailed instructions see Schedule CB.

14. 80-20 CORPORATION DEFINED: An 80-20 corpora-
tion is an entity with more than 80% of its aggregate property and
payroll located outside the 50 states and District of Columbia and
none of its property and payroll located in this State.

IN ALL CORRESPONDENCE PLEASE REFER TO YOUR EMPLOYER FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1 OF FORM 1120-ME

Line 1. FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME: Enter federal taxable
income from line 30 of federal Form 1120 or line 26 of federal
Form 1120A, unless the corporation is an S corporation. In that
case, use the S corporation’s corporate level federal taxable in-
come. Corporations that are members of an affiliated unitary
group should see the instructions under “Combined Reports” in
paragraph 13 above and on Schedule CB.

Line 2a. NONTAXABLE INTEREST: Enter here interest on
U.S. Bonds, U.S. Treasury Notes, or other obligations of the U.S.,
which by law are exempt from state taxes, but taxable by the Fed-
eral Government.

Interest from bonds issued by Maine municipalities is exempt
from Maine income tax even if taxed on the federal return. Tax-
payers may subtract from federal taxable income interest income
and capital gains from the sale of bonds issued by the Waste Man-
agement Agency to the extent included in federal taxable income,

Line 2b. FOREIGN DIVIDEND GROSS-UP: This amount is
from federal Form 1120, Schedule C, line 15.

Line 2c. FEDERAL JOBS CREDIT ADJUSTMENT: An ad-
justment equal to the taxpayer’s Federal Jobs Credit is allowed.
Enter the amount of the required reduction of salaries and wages
on your federal return due to the Jobs Credit. Also attach a copy
of federal Form 5884, “Jobs Credit.”

Line 2d. INCOME NOT TAXABLE UNDER THE CONSTI-
TUTION OF MAINE OR THE U.S.: Enter non-unitary income
this State is prohibited from taxing under the constitutions of the
United States or the State of Maine. The amount must be de-
creased by any expenses incurred in the production of that income
to the extent that these expenses are deductible in determining
federal taxable income (attach schedule).

Line 2e. DIVIDENDS FROM AFFILIATED CORPORA-

TIONS: Enter 50% of all apportionable dividends from affiliated
corporations that are not included with the taxpayer in a Maine
combined report. (Dividends must be included in federal taxable
income, line 1.)

Line 2f, NET OPERATING LOSS DEDUCTION: If you have
a net operating loss for tax years beginning in 1989, 1990, 1991
and 1992 that was carried back for federal purposes but not al-
lowed for Maine, you are allowed a deduction on this line as a net
operating loss carry-forward. However, the net operating loss
carry-forward cannot reduce Maine Net Income to less than zero.

Line 4a, INCOME TAXES IMPOSED BY MAINE OR ANY
OTHER STATE: Maine does not permit a deduction for income
taxes imposed by Maine or any other state. Income taxes taken as
a deduction on federal Form 1120 must be added back to arrive at
Maine taxable income.

Line 4b. UNRELATED EXPENSES: If the corporation(s) in-
cluded on this return is (are) part of a group, but filing separately
for Maine, then any expenses incurred by the corporation(s) on
behalf of subsidiaries or other members of a group who are not in-
cluded on this return must be added back. Attach supporting
schedules.

Line 4¢c. INTEREST ON STATE AND MUNICIPAL BONDS
OTHER THAN MAINE: Corporations must add interest on
state and municipal bonds that originate outside Maine to their
federal taxable income for Maine income tax purposes.

Line 4d. NET OPERATING LOSS RECOVERY ADJUST-
MENT: Enter on this line:

(1) The amount of any net operating loss for this taxable year
which has or will be carried back to previous taxable years pur-
suant to Internal Revenue Code, Section 172, and



(2) The amount of any net operating loss carryover deduction
claimed in this taxable year under Internal Revenue Code, Section
172, which has previously been used to offset Maine modifica-
tions to federal taxable income. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5200A,
Subsection 1.

Line 6. MAINE TAXABLE INCOME: Corporations that are

not part of an affiliated-unitary group and have income solely
from business activity within Maine enter on line 6 the same
amount as on line 5. Corporations having income from within and
outside the state apportion income on Schedule A and enter on
this line the amount shown on line 17 of Schedule A. All corpora-
tions who are members of an affiliated-unitary group must com-
plete Schedule A. See General Instructions, paragraph 13, page 3
of this booklet and the instructions on Schedule CB.

Line 7a. MAINE CORPORATION INCOME TAX: For tax
years beginning in 1993, the Maine corporate tax rate is as follows:

If the Maine Taxable Income is: The Tax is:
Not over $25,000.....ccccmrimnvrnnnees 3,5% of Maine Taxable Income
But not over of excess over
$ 25,000 $ 75,000......cccs $ 875plus7.93%  $ 25,000
75,000 250,000.....cc0eeen. 4,840 plus 8.33% 75,000
250,000 OF MOTE veverernerens 19,417 plus 8.93% 250,000

In the case of an affiliated group of corporations subject to
Maine tax engaged in a unitary business, the respective preferen-
tial rates shall be applied only to the first $250,000 of Maine net
income of the entire group and shall be divided equally among the
taxable corporations unless those taxable corporations jointly

elect a different assignment. The balance of the Maine net income
of the entire group shall be taxed at 8.93%. Schedule D, page 2,
1120-ME must be completed.

Line 7b. MINIMUM TAX: Minimum tax is imposed, for each
taxable year, upon every corporate taxpayer required to file a
Maine corporate income tax return. Complete Schedule E to com-
pute the amount to be entered on this line,

Lines 8a, b, c. CREDITS: These lines are for taxpayers who have
made estimated tax payments and deposits when requesting an ex-
tension of time for filing, as well as for taxpayers filing amended
returns and claiming credit for tax paid with original return.

Line 8d. OTHER CREDITS: Enter on this line the amount on
Schedule F, line 33i (1120-ME, page 3). (Note: the amount on
line 33i cannot exceed the tax liability on line 7¢ of form 1120-
ME.) See instructions for Schedule F on page 5.

Line 9b. PENALTY FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMAT-
ED TAX: If the corporation underpaid estimated tax, complete
and attach Form 2220-ME to the corporate return.

Line 11a. AMOUNT OF LINE 10 YOU WISH CREDITED:
Use this block only if you want to have all or a portion of the
overpayment on line 10 credited to your next year’s estimated
Maine corporate income tax.

Line 11b. AMOUNT TO BE REFUNDED: Enter here the dif-
ference between lines 10 and 11(a). Amounts on this line greater
than $.99 will be refunded automatically.

SCHEDULE A INSTRUCTIONS

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: Schedule A is for corporations
engaged in interstate business. Maine employs a three-factor for-
mula to determine the percentage of corporate income which is
apportioned to Maine. This percentage is derived by a fraction,
the numerator of which is the property factor plus the payroll fac-
tor plus twice the sales factor, and the denominator of which is 4.
If the apportionment provisions do not fairly represent the extent
of the taxpayer’s business activity in this state, the taxpayer may
petition for, or the Tax Assessor may require, in respect to all or
any part of the taxpayer’s business activity:

(a) Separate accounting.

(b) The exclusion of any one or more of the factors.

(c) The inclusion of one or more additional factors which will
fairly represent the taxpayer’s business activity in this state.

(d) The employment of any other method to effectuate an equi-
table apportionment of the taxpayer’s income.

“Tax period,” referred to in instructions for lines 12, 13, and
14, means the period represented by adjusted federal taxable in-
come on line 5 of form 1120ME.

“Sales” means all gross receipts such as trade sales, dividends,
interest, rents, and royalties.

Those corporations that are members of an affiliated unitary
group see further instructions on Schedule CB.

Line 12. SALES FACTOR: The sales factor is a fraction, the nu-
merator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer in the state dur-
ing the tax period, and the denominator of which is the total sales
of the taxpayer everywhere during the tax period.

Sales of tangible personal property are attributed to Maine if
(1) the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser, other than
the United States Government, in Maine, regardless of the F.O.B.
point or other conditions of the sale; or (2) the property is shipped
from an office, store, warehouse, factory or other place of storage
in Maine and the purchaser is the United States Government or
the taxpayer is not taxed in the state of the purchaser.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are at-
tributed to Maine if (1) the income producing activity is per-
formed in this state; or (2) the income producing activity is per-
formed both in and outside Maine and a greater proportion of the
income producing activity is performed in this state than in any
other state, based on costs of performance.

Line 13. PAYROLL FACTOR: The payroll factor is a fraction,



the numerator of which is the total paid in Maine during the tax pe-
riod by the taxpayer for compensation, and the denominator of
which is the total compensation paid everywhere during the tax pe-
riod. “Compensation” means wages, salaries, commissions and
any other form of remuneration to employees for personal ser-
vices, including deferred compensation. Compensation is paid in
Maine if (1) the individual’s service is performed entirely within
this state; or (2) the individual’s service is performed both within
and outside Maine, but the service performed outside the state is
incidental to the individual’s service within Maine; or (3) some of
the service is performed in the state and the base of operations or,
if there is no base of operations, the place from which the service
is directed or controlled is not in any state in which some part of
the service is performed, but the individual’s residence is in Maine.

Line 14. PROPERTY FACTOR: The property factor is a
fraction, the numerator of which is the average value of the tax-
payer’s real and tangible personal property (including inventory)
owned or rented and used in Maine during the tax period and the
denominator of which is the average value of all the taxpayer’s
real and tangible personal property (including inventory) owned
or rented and used during the 1ax period.

Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at original cost.
Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the net annual
rental rate. Net annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by
the taxpayer less any annual rate received by the taxpayer from

_subrentals. The average value of the property shall be determined
by averaging the values at the beginning and ending of the tax pe-
riod, but the tax assessor may require the averaging of monthly
values during the tax period if reasonably required to reflect prop-
erly the average value of the taxpayer’s property.

Line 16. Enter adjusted federal taxable income from page 1, line
5 of form 1120-ME.

SCHEDULEF

a. Maine Seed Capital Tax Credit: Enter on this line the tax
credit as authorized by the Finance Authority of Maine. A copy of
the tax credit certificate must be attached to the return. The
amount of credit is subject to limitations as outlined in 36
M.R.S.A., Section 5216-B.

b. Jobs and Investment Credit: A tax credit for qualifying
jobs and investment credit is entered on this line. Eligibility for
the credit requires the addition of $5 million of IRC Section 38
property based on the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as of De-
cember 31, 1985, Scction 38, (b) (1), and 200 new jobs in the 12
month period following the date the property was placed in ser-
vice. For further details see 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5215.

¢. Employer Assisted Child Care Tax Credit: A taxpayer
constituting an employing unit is allowed a credit for providing or
paying day care expenses of employees subject to the limitations
0f 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217. The tax credit is limited to the low-

est of five thousand dollars, twenty percent of the cost incurred, or
one hundred dollars for each child of an employee of the taxpayer
enrolled on a full-time basis. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5217.

d. Employer-Provided Long-Term Care Benefits Credit: A
taxpayer constituting an employing unit is allowed a credit against
the tax subject to the limitations of 36 M-R.S.A,, Section 5217-B.
The tax credit is limited to the lowest of five thousand dollars,
twenty percent of the costs incurred, or one hundred dollars for
each employee provided long-term care policy.

Any unused credit may be carried over to the following year or
years for a period not to exceed 15 years.

e. Investment Tax Credit: For tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1991, taxpayers will be able to claim a credit equal to
1% of the amount of qualified investments made in the previous
five taxable years (six years for taxable years ending in 1995).

" Qualified investments are investments in manufacturing machin-

ery and equipment made on or after January 1, 1989. Excess cred-
its cannot be carried back, but can be carried forward for a maxi-
mum of five years. Furthermore, taxpayers are prohibited from
considering any potential current year investment tax credits in
the determination of réquired estimated income tax payments.

f. Solid Waste Reduction Investment Tax Credit: For tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 1993, taxpayers will be able
to claim a credit on solid waste reduction, reuse, or recycling ma-
chinery and equipment certified eligible for the credit by the Maine
Waste Management Agency. The credit is the amount certified by
the Maine Waste Management Agency and applies to machinery
and equipment placed into service from January 1, 1990 to June’
30, 1991 or on or after January 1, 1993. Recapture provisions
apply on the early disposal of machinery and equipment for which
a credit has been claimed. 36 M.R.S.A., Section 5219-D.

g. Reclaimed Wood Waste and Cedar Waste Credit: This
credit is $5 per green ton of reclaimed wood waste or cedar waste
purchased by the taxpayer and delivered to the taxpayer’s wood
combustion facility. The waste must be used within Maine for the
generation of electrical or thermal energy. The credit is limited to
50% of the Maine income tax liability or the total Maine income
tax liability of all taxable corporations that are members of an af-
filiated group. Any unused credit may be carried forward (up to
15 years) or carried back (up to 3 years). The credit is effective
for tax years beginning in 1993. The credit must be certified by
the Maine Forest Service.

h. Maine Minimum Tax Credit: A minimum tax credit is
available for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1992. This
credit is modelled after the federal altemnative minimum tax credit.
Complete Schedule I on page 4 of form 1120ME to calculate your
credit.

(NOTE: The total of these credits cannot be more than the -
tax liability on line 7¢ of form 1120-ME.)

IMPORTANT: IF ALL REQUIRED LINES AND SCHEDULES (INCLUDING SCHEDULE CB) ARE
NOT COMPLETED, THE RETURN IS INCOMPLETE AND NOT CONSIDERED A FILED RETURN.
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TAX LAW CHANGES

SOLID WASTE INVESTMENT TAX CREDIT. Previous legislation reinstated this credit for equipment purchased and placed into
use during the period January 1, 1990 to June 30, 1991. The credit also applies to equipment purchased on or after January 1, 1993. New
legislation expands the credit to include equipment that converts waste into manufacturing feedstock. The taxpayer may claim one of
four credits for each qualifying piece of equipment. The Waste Management Agency certifies the allowable credit. Applicable credits
may only be used to reduce taxes in tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1993. Carryforward and recapture provisions apply.

RECLAIMED WOOD WASTE AND CEDAR WASTE CREDIT. This credit is effective for tax years beginning on or after January
1, 1993. It is $5 per green ton of reclaimed wood waste or cedar waste purchased by the taxpayer and delivered to the taxpayer’s wood
combustion facility. The waste must be used within Maine for the generation of electrical or thermal energy. The credit is limited to 50%
of the Maine income tax liability; carryforward and carryback provisions apply. The allowable credit is certified by the Maine Forest
Service. The credit is repealed December 31, 1993.

PROCEDURES FOR MAKING A CLAIM FOR A REFUND. 36 M.R.S.A., Sections 151, 5280, and 5282 were amended to clarify
the procedure for making a claim for a refund. It establishes that, if a taxpayer requests an informal conference in writing with the claim
for refund, the taxpayer may elect to deem the refund denied if no decision is received from the State Tax Assessor within 9 months of
the filing date. The taxpayer elects to deem the refund denied by filing in Superior Court a petition for review of the deemed denial. If
the taxpayer does not request an informal conference with the refund claim, and no response is forthcoming from the Assessor within 6
months of the date filed, the taxpayer may deem the refund denied by requesting reconsideration of the deemed denial pursuant to Sec-
tion 151.

IMPORTANT TAX INFORMATION

CORPORATE INCOME TAX SURCHARGE. The corporate income tax surcharge effective for tax years beginning in 1991 and
1992 has expired. '

INTEREST RATE. The annual interest rate is unchanged at 10%, compounded monthly.

UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX PENALTY. The penalty for the underpayment of estimated tax is 10% annually, com-
pounded monthly.

TRANSMITTAL FORM FOR S CORPORATIONS AND PARTNERSHIPS. S corporations and partnerships must complete Form
TR (transmittal form) when filing copies of federal returns with Maine. S corporations and partnerships that do business in Maine or that
have resident shareholders or partners are required to file copies of federal forms 11208 or 1065. The copies, along with Form TR, must
be filed with the Maine Bureau of Taxation by the 15th day of the third month following the close of the taxable year for S corporations
and by the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable year for partnerships. Form TR is available upon request from the
Bureau of Taxation, Income Tax Division, Augusta, Maine 04333-0024.

INFORMATION:

BUREAU OF TAXATION — INCOME TAX DIVISION FORMS: order by calling
State Office Building » toll-free within Maine
Augusta, Maine 04333-0024 1-800-773-7894

Telephone: (207) 626-8475



