Home → News & Events
October 1, 2009
Approximately 26,000 of Maine’s low-wage workers will receive a raise in their hourly pay as the state minimum wage increases a quarter from $7.25 to $7.50 per hour. The majority of individuals making at or below the minimum wage are adult workers. According to information from the U.S. Department of Labor, 74 percent of workers earning at or below the minimum wage are older than the age of 19, and 24 percent work full-time or more. Certain employers are exempt from paying the minimum wage. Tipped employees may be paid one-half the regular minimum wage provided the employer makes up the difference if tips plus the hourly wage do not average at least the minimum wage. Maine law requires employers to display the minimum wage poster. An updated version of the Maine Minimum Wage Poster can be printed at no cost from the Maine Department of Labor website at: www.maine.gov/labor/posters. The poster is also available in Spanish and Mandarin translations.
For more information about Maine’s wage and hour laws, contact the Maine Department of Labor at 207-623-7900 (TTY: 800-794-1110).