Home → News & Events
July 24, 2009
The Federal Minimum Wage increased to $7.25 on Friday, July 24. Most Maine employers won't be affected by the change because they they will have already been paying the $7.25 rate as required by Maine law. A few examples of instances where the State does not have jurisdiction would be in agricultural jobs, most of the fishing industry, taxi drivers, members of the employer’s family who reside with the employer and certain sales people who are paid on commission and not controlled by the employer.
Service employees who regularly receive $30 or more a month in tips must be paid a cash wage of at least one-half of the minimum wage. Their tips for the week must bring the total wages up to full minimum wage. Most employees must be paid time-and-one-half when they work over 40 hours a week. This includes all restaurants, hotels and motels as of July 17, 2008.
Maine law requires employers to display a Maine Minimum Wage Poster, which can be downloaded at no cost on the Maine Department of Labor website at: www.maine.gov/labor/posters.
For more information about Maine’s wage and hour laws, contact the Maine Department of Labor at 207-623-7900 (TTY: 800-794-1110).