Education Forums Highlight Work Opportunities for Social Security Beneficiaries Bookmark and Share

February 28, 2013

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 28, 2013
Contact: Julie Rabinowitz, 207-621-5009

Disability Employment Initiative extends the Ticket-to-Work Program statewide

AUGUSTA—Maine CareerCenters are hosting a series of community forums in March highlighting work incentives to help people receiving Social Security disability benefits return to work. The public is welcome to attend. Pre-registration is encouraged.

“People with disabilities can achieve their employment goals without fear of losing essential services,” said Maine Labor Commissioner Jeanne Paquette. “These workshops showcase the many support services available to people with disabilities. The Department of Labor can help people identify training programs, find a good job, and make new connections with their community and a wider network of support. We also assist businesses in hiring or keeping workers who have disabilities.”

“Hiring these workers makes good business sense because research shows that people with disabilities are committed employees and loyal customers,” said Governor Paul R. LePage. “My administration strongly supports connecting every Maine citizen with meaningful employment.”

Participants will learn about the Ticket to Work initiative that provides many Social Security beneficiaries with more choices for receiving employment services. The program encourages eligible Mainers to work through the CareerCenter network to access employment and training services, vocational rehabilitation, and other support services necessary to achieve an employment goal. Each CareerCenter in the state has staff available to assist people with disabilities.

Additional workshops will be added in June 2013.

To register or to learn more, please contact the following individuals in your region. The CareerCenter Ticket to Work Liaisons’ contact information is listed below their workshops. Additional employment resources for individuals with disabilities are available at http://www.employmentforme.org. TTY users should call Maine Relay 711.

  • Augusta CareerCenter, March 14, 2013, 1–3 p.m. Contact: Tracy Hotham, 207-624-5120 or 1-800-760-1573, Tracy.H.Hotham@maine.gov

  • Bangor CareerCenter, March 21, 2013, 1–3 p.m. Contact: Mike Johnson or Gwen LaPointe, 207-561-4050 or 1-888-828-0568, Michael.J.Johnson@maine.gov or GLapointe@emdc.org

  • Brunswick CareerCenter, March 21, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Patrice Daigle, 207-373-4012, Patrice.A.Daigle@maine.gov

  • Lewiston CareerCenter, March 7, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Linda Roberts or Patti Gray, 207-753-9000 or 1-800-741-2991, Linda.J.Roberts@maine.gov or Patricia.L.Gray@maine.gov

  • Machias CareerCenter, March 4, 2013, 10 –11:30 a.m. Contact: Donald Rice, 207-454-7551 or 1-800-543-0303, Donald.K.Rice@maine.gov or Lori Joy, 207-255-1934 or 1-800-292-8929, Lorinda.M.Joy@maine.gov

  • Presque Isle CareerCenter, March 19, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Peter Lento, 207-760-6300, Peter.Lento@maine.gov or Kent DeMerchant, 1-800-635-0357, KDemerchant@nmdc.org

  • Portland CareerCenter: March 25, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Senja St. John, 207-771-5627 or 1-877-594-5627, Senja.St.John@maine.gov

  • Rockland CareerCenter, March 7, 2013, 10–11:30 a.m. Contact: Kathy Wochomurka, 207-596-2603, Kathy.Wochomurka@maine.gov

  • Wilton CareerCenter, March 14, 2013, 10 –11:30 a.m. Contact: Cheryl Moran, 207-753-9030, Cheryl.A.Moran@maine.gov

  • York County CareerCenter, March 19, 2013, 1:30 –3 p.m., Springvale. Contact: Damian Cortez, 207-324-5460 or 1-1800-343-0151, Damian.P.Cortez@maine.gov

Maine’s statewide network of CareerCenters provide one-stop employment resources for job seekers and employers. Services for job seekers include job referrals, career counseling, job hunting workshops, labor market information, skills assessment and information on training. The public can use the CareerCenter to access the Internet for employment related purposes and computers are available for resume development. CareerCenters also offer specialized employment services for people with disabilities.

For more information, visit your local CareerCenter or call 1-888-457-888 (TTY users dial Maine Relay 711) or visit http://www.mainecareercenter.com.

-end-

Disability Employment Initiative extends the Ticket-to-Work Program statewide