Home > News & Reports
MAINE LAW BARS "NEW" SNOWMOBILE AND ATV SALES BY NON-DEALERS
October 17, 2002
OCTOBER 17, 2002
CONTACT: CHARLES DOW, Director
COMMUNICATIONS AND LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS
As the weather turns colder, Mainers should beware of snowmobile deals so good they're criminal.
A new Maine law makes it a crime for anyone who does not have a franchise with the manufacturer to sell a new snowmobile or ATV. A "new" snowmobile or ATV is one that has not previously been registered or for which sales taxes have not been paid. Common violators appear to be merchants in other businesses who buy new snowmobiles and ATVs at dealerships in Canada, and then resell them to Maine consumers without paying taxes, registration fees, or franchise fees. The practice cheats consumers out of warranty rights and shifts the tax burden to law-abiding citizens. Violators commit a Class E crime (maximum 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine). Violators can also be liable for triple damages under the state's Unfair Trade Practices Act.
The Attorney General's Office is looking into several complaints, and seeks to educate the public about this illegal practice.
See the new law on the web at: http://janus.state.me.us/legis/ros/lom/LOM120th/4Pub601-650/Pub601-650-15.htm#P416_82756