Maine Criminal Justice Academy Graduates 45 Officers From Basic Law Enforcement Training Program

May 20, 2011

AUGUSTA ? Attorney General William J. Schneider today gave the keynote address at the Maine Criminal Justice Academy?s 20th Basic Law Enforcement Training Program Graduation Ceremony, held at the Academy?s Oak Grove Road facilities in Vassalboro.

Forty-five cadets from state, county, municipal and state agency organizations successfully completed the rigorous 18 week training. The following cadets received their badges in today?s ceremony:

  1. Officer Dennis V. Matthews, Auburn Police Department
  2. Officer Bryan J. Parker, Auburn Police Department
  3. Officer Jonathan D. Provisor, Auburn Police Department
  4. Officer Benjamin Murtiff, Augusta Police Department
  5. Officer Todd D. Nyberg., Augusta Police Department
  6. Officer Andrew M. Simmons, Augusta Police Department
  7. Officer Joshua R. Engroff, Baileyville Police Department
  8. Officer Ryan W. Freeman, Bangor Police Department
  9. Officer Matthew P. Bell, Biddeford Police Department
  10. Officer Scott R. Hendee, Biddeford Police Department
  11. Officer Kristie A. Bouchard, Brewer Police Department
  12. Officer Thomas P. Ferriter, Boothbay Harbor Police Department
  13. Officer Cody E. Laite, Camden Police Department
  14. Deputy Todd W. McGee, Cumberland County Sheriff?s Office
  15. Officer Wayne H. Drake, Farmington Police Department
  16. Officer Matthew W. Moorhouse, Freeport Police Department
  17. Officer Michelle E. Legare, Fryeburg Police Department.
  18. Deputy David L. Arsenault, Knox County Sheriff?s Office
  19. Mr. Kyle S. McDonald, MCJA ? Tuition Student
  20. Marine Patrol Officer Brent A. Chasse, Maine Marine Patrol
  21. Trooper Christopher R. Baez, Maine State Police
  22. Trooper Reid C. Bond, Maine State Police
  23. Trooper Tucker L. Bonnevie, Maine State Police
  24. Trooper David W. Coflesky, Maine State Police
  25. Trooper Nicholas D. D?Angelo, Maine State Police
  26. Trooper Thomas W. Kwok, Maine State Police
  27. Trooper Paul M. Mason, Maine State Police
  28. Trooper Jillian M. Monahan, Maine State Police
  29. Trooper Kyle D. Pelletier, Maine State Police
  30. Trooper Benjamin K. Sweeney, Maine State Police
  31. Trooper Kyle M. Wells, Maine State Police
  32. Trooper Samuel D. Quintana, Maine State Police
  33. Officer Ryan D. Lawson, Mount Desert Police Department
  34. Deputy David L. Quinn, Penobscot County Sheriff?s Office
  35. Warden Troy J. Francis, Penobscot Nation Warden Service
  36. Officer Christopher M. Kelley, Portland Police Department
  37. Officer Heath L. Mains, Saco Police Department
  38. Officer Eddie H. Murphy, Sanford Police Department
  39. Officer Christopher T. Schofield, South Portland Police Department
  40. Officer Caleb H. McGary, University of Maine Department of Public Safety.
  41. Officer Jason T. St. John, Westbrook Police Department
  42. Officer Brandon P. Perry, Windham Police Department
  43. Officer Eric P. Quatrano, Windham Police Department
  44. Deputy Robert W. Carr Jr., York County Sheriff?s Office
  45. Deputy Duane K. Fay, York County Sheriff?s Office

Attorney General Schneider commended the Academy faculty and staff for ?building these outstanding young cadets into modern law enforcement officers whose courage, commitment and daily efforts will keep our streets safe.?

The mission of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy is to provide the highest level of training available to law enforcement and correctional officers in the state. By statute, the Academy is required to provide a basic training program for all full-time law enforcement officers, all part-time law enforcement officers, all county and state correctional officers, all court security officers and all capitol police officers. The Academy also coordinates the eight Regional Training Districts across the state, many of which provide Academy certified training to officers in remote areas.

For more information about the Maine Criminal Justice Academy, go to the following link:


CONTACT: Brenda Kielty 626-8577