Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip navigation

-->
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver's License & ID Card Online Renewal & Replacement Services

Home > FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Note: Files denoted by the Adobe PDF file icon (Adobe PDF file) icon require the Adobe Reader. If you need an alternate format, please contact the BMV office by email at: license.bmv@maine.gov.

In an effort to improve customer service and reduce wait times in regional branch offices minor changes have been made to the expiration dates on some Maine licenses. A portion of license holders due to renew have been selected as eligible recipients to obtain a license valid for 4 years instead of 6. By staggering the duration of drivers licenses, BMV will be able to level out the demand for license renewal services. Regardless of the length of your renewal period, the price per year is the same.

Who is eligible to use the rapid renewal on-line licensing system?

Please be advised if you receive the following error message, it may mean that additional information is needed as it relates to the address on your current credential and you will need to proceed to a Motor Vehicle branch office to complete this transaction. The address on file contains a PO Box, RFD, out-of-state or other address type. As of April 18, 2008, you are required to show proof of your Maine residential address to BMV branch office personnel before your license or State ID request can be completed. For more information about this requirement, please visit our website at (http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/residency.htm) or call 624-9000, ext. 52114.

For a state ID card:

  • Anyone who was at least 23 years of age or older when their last state ID card was purchased.
  • Anyone purchasing a replacement identification card if no changes are made to the address and your current address is not a post office box, mail drop, rural route or general delivery.
    Note: Members of the military with a 'K' endorsement on their license are exempt from the age requirement.

For a driver's license:

  • Anyone purchasing a replacement license with no changes made to the address and your current address is not a post office box, mail drop, rural route or general delivery.
  • Anyone renewing their license who is over the age of 22 and not required to have a vision screening and processed their last digital renewal at a motor vehicle office with no changes made to the address and your current address is not a post office box, mail drop, rural route or general delivery.
  • A vision screening is required at the first license renewal after attaining age 40 and at every 2nd license renewal after that. A vision screening is required at every license renewal after attaining age 62.
    Note: Members of the military with a 'K' endorsement on their license are exempt from the minimum age requirement but an eye exam is required at certain ages over 40.

How do I change my address only?

  • Maine law requires you to notify the Secretary of State within 30 days of any change in your name or address. As of April 18, 2008, you are required to show proof of your Maine residential address to BMV branch office personnel before an address change request can be processed. For more information about this requirement, please visit our website at (http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/residency.htm) or call 624-9000, ext. 52114.

Why do I need to disclose my social security number to use the online service?

  • This statement is made in accordance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7(b). Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory and is required by 29-A MRSA § 1301(5) and (6) to apply for or renew a driver's license or non-driver identification card. Your social security number will be used solely for identification purposes and will be kept confidential.

How long will it take to receive my credential in the mail?

  • Your credential may take up to three weeks to arrive in the mail, however, most requests are fulfilled in less than two weeks. Your temporary credential is effective for 60 days.

You may not use this service to order a driver's license if any of the following condition apply:

  • Your privilege to operate is suspended.
  • You hold a commercial driver's license.
  • You hold a driver's license from another jurisdiction.
  • You are under 23 years of age or the digital photograph on file was taken before you turned 23 years of age.
  • Your current license credential has an out of state address, post office box, mail drop, rural route or general delivery. (Your license may contain this information as a mailing address but you must show proof of your physical address prior to receipt of a new credential)
  • You wish to make a change of address.
  • You changed your name since your last renewal; please visit a motor vehicle office to process a name change.

I have developed a medical condition or my present condition has changed since my last renewal, can I use this service?

I need an eye exam, can I use this service?

  • No, vision screenings are required at the first license renewal after attaining age 40 and at every 2nd renewal after that. A vision screening is required at every license renewal after attaining age 62. This screening may be done at a motor vehicle office or by your eye doctor. Please visit a motor vehicle office to renew your license. The following document will provide you with more information:

    Adobe PDF file icon Eye Form and Information (PDF files require the Adobe Reader)

  • Note: Please be advised if you receive the following error message it may mean that additional information is needed and you will need to proceed to a Motor Vehicle branch office to complete the transaction. The following link will provide information for what you will need to bring with you in order to complete the process.

Additional information for members of the military:

  • The renewal fee will be waived if your license includes the 'K' endorsement. You may still renew on-line without the endorsement but payment of the fee will be required. To have the 'K' endorsement added to your record, please contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles for additional information.
GET STARTED NOW:

Questions about this Service? Contact BMV at: (207) 624-9000 x 52114 or Email: license.bmv@maine.gov