Skip Maine state header navigation
Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation
|Home | Contact Us | News||
Site Map |
Law Enforcement Pre-Service
Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program
In 1989, the 114th Maine Legislature passed laws mandating the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy to establish standards for pre-service training. The purpose of this mandate was to ensure that no person could “serve as a law enforcement officer with the power to make arrests or the authority to carry a firearm until certified as satisfying pre-service training requirements.” This resulted in the first Law Enforcement Officer Pre-Service Training Program.
In 2009 the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy proposed changes to the current Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program. Updates to the existing program were implemented, and the format and number of hours required to graduate was increased. Students will also have to completea supervisory component.
In addition to the changes in the curriculum, the Maine Criminal Justice Academy has also prepared a certification process to become a part-time law enforcement officer. The elements of the certification process include weapons certification, a knowledge test, and supervision by your employing agency. These requirements are more fully explained as follows:
The Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program
Phase I: Students must complete the 40-Hour On-line Law Enforcement Pre-Service Training Program. Students must complete the MCJA application for the MCJA LEPS Phase I and send it along with the $250 fee, cash or check made payable to Treasurer, State of Maine to the Maine Criminal Justice Academy at 15 Oak Grove Road, Vassalboro, Maine 04989. Students will be given a Log-In and Password to complete the training.
This training must be completed before attending Phase II and there is no time limit to complete the Phase I of the training, however at the completion of the Phase I training the student will be given a completion certificate by JPMA. From the Phase I completion date, the student will have two years to start Phase II.
Phase II: Students must complete the 80-Hour Interactive, Scenario Based Classroom Program. Prior to the start of Phase II, students must complete the MCJA application for the MCJA LEPS Phase II. All students must meet the prerequisites listed below and send to the Academy all the required paperwork described below.
Phase III: After being hired by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Law Enforcement Officer, a provisional certificate will be issued upon receipt of a MCJA Notice of Employment and a MCJA Firearms Proficiency Form signed by a Certified MCJA Firearms Instructor. The employing agency must provide 80-hours of documented supervision before a regular certification as a Law Enforcement Officer is granted by the Criminal Justice Academy. The Chief Law Enforcement Officer will have to sign off on a notarized MCJA Form stating the officer has completed the 80 hours of supervision to his or her satisfaction. The part-time law enforcement officer will have one year to complete the 80 hours of supervision. An officer may receive an extension by the MCJA Board in extenuating circumstances.
Phase 1 can be done online at any time and is now available. Complete the Phase I application and send it to the academy with payment.
Phase II schedules:
Please DO NOT send payment with your application, wait until you are accepted into the class.
As of July 1, 2013, students will be responsible for the following: Title 17A (Maine Criminal Law) & 29A (Maine Traffic Law) are required and may be purchased through your college book store or directly through Swan Island Press, phone 207-666-8291 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
It is highly recommended that you also purchase the Law Enforcement Officer’s Manuals but these are not required. They are also available through Swan Island Press.
If you have further questions about the Pre-Service, contact Debra Annese at the Academy.
|Copyright © 2006 All rights reserved.|