Maine Crime Victims' Compensation Program
If you or someone you know is the victim of a violent crime, the Maine Victims' Compensation Program in the Attorney General's Office may be able to help. The Victims' Compensation Program provides financial reimbursement for losses suffered by victims of violent crime and their families.
Who Is Eligible To Apply?
- Victims of violent crimes (including OUI) occurring in Maine
- Dependents and family members of homicide victims
- Any person responsible for the funeral expenses of a homicide victim
What Are The Requirements?
- The crime must have occurred on or after January 1, 1993
- Unless the crime is a sexual assault, the victim must have suffered some bodily injury or a psychological injury resulting from a threat of bodily injury from the crime
- The crime must have been reported to the police within five days unless the victim is a minor or there is good cause for delay
- The claimant must cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement officials in the investigation and prosecution of the crime
- The claimant must apply for compensation within three years of injury or crime related loss, unless the victim is a minor or there is good cause for late filing
- If a victim has insurance and other coverage or eligibility for free care or a sliding scale, that must be applied to an expense or loss before Victims' Compensation pays
What Expenses Are Covered?
To the extent insurance or other funds do not cover crime related expenses, the claimant may be reimbursed for:
- Medical (including equipment, supplies and medications) limited to 75% of actual charges in most cases
- Dental charges and replacement of dentures
- Counseling expenses (for victims, family and household members of homicide victims, sexual assault victims, victims of catastrophic injury, and family/household members who witness the crime)
- Funeral/ burial costs up to $4,500, costs of a marker up to $500
- Lost income (for victims and limited coverage when care of dependents is necessary)
- Loss of financial support (for dependents of homicide victims)
- Crime scene cleaning costs (bio-matter)
- Repair or replacement of locks or other security devices
- Expenses NOT covered: property losses, compensation for pain and suffering, and other losses not medically related.
How to Apply
Write or call for an application to the Victims Compensation Board at the address and phone number at the bottom of this page. You also may obtain a Victims' Compensation application by contacting the Victim Witness Program in the office of your local District Attorney, the United States Attorney, or the Department of Corrections. The link at the right will assist you in contacting a Maine Victim Witness Advocate in your area.
Victims’ Compensation Program
Maine Office of the Attorney General
6 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0006
Tel: (207) 624-7882, or (800) 903-7882
- Instructions for Victims Compensation Application (PDF, requires the free Adobe Reader. )
- Maine Victim Witness Advocates
- Notice To Hospitals and Health Care Practitioners Performing Sexual Assault Forensic Examinations
- Victims' Compensation Fund Act, Title 5 M.R.S.A. 3360-3360-M
- National Association of Crime Victim Compensation Boards
(This site includes a list of links to compensation programs in other states. If you were a victim of a crime committed in a state other than Maine, you must apply to that state's compensation program for assistance.)
- United States Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs
- Federal Office for Victims of Crime
(These two government sites provide information and services for crime victims.)
- Maine Department of Corrections Victim services
(This site includes information about restitution, victim rights and notification and restorative justice efforts in Maine, especially for crime victims whose offenders are in the custody of the Department of Corrections.)