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Disclaimer

This document was prepared by me solely as a supplement to the training and outreach efforts and programs
of the Maine Workers’ Compensation Board, and for use solely in those training programs. lts purpose is
simply to address some of the more common misunderstandings, errors, and ambiguities encountered by
employers, insurers, claims adjusters/administrators, and auditors and other employees of the Board in the
course of their duties. It addresses the more common forms and appendices.

This document is not in any way meant to replace or be a substitute for the Board’s Forms Manual, nor is it in
any way meant to be a source of legal advice or opinion.

The full Forms and Petitions Manual, as well as Maine WC Law, Rules and Regulations, blank forms,
WC Board newsletters, Compliance Reports, training modules, and other Board information may be found
online at www.maing.gov/wcb.

My contact information is below. Please feel free to contact me with any comments, questions,
or other inquiries.

Gordon A. Davis

Director of Audits

Maine Workers’ Compensation Board
24 Stone Street, Suite 102

Augusta, Maine 04330

Tel 207-287-6327
Gordon.Davis@maine.gov

Maine
Workers'
Compensation
Board

The general mission of the Maine Workers' Compensation Board is to serve the employees and employers of the State fairly and
expeditiously by ensuring compliance with the workers' compensation laws, ensuring the prompt delivery of benefits legally due,
promoting the prevention of disputes, utilizing dispute resolution to reduce litigation and facilitating labor-management cooperation.




MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD FORMS REFERENCE

GUIDE
BOARD FORM STATUTES RULES FILING REQUIREMENTS
wcB-1 First Report of Injury §303 i7 Filed electronically within 7 days
31 natice/knowledge of incapacity.
34
8.13
8.16
wCB-2 Wage Statement §153(4) 17 Fileg within 30 days notice/knowledge
§205(8) of a claim for compensation.
§303
WCB-2A Schedule of Dependents | §303 1.7 Filed within 3¢ days notice/knowledge
and Filing Status 8.9 of a claim for compensation for dates of injury
Statement prior to 1/4/13.
Fringe Benefits
wcCce-2B Worksheet §303 1.7 Filed within 30 days notice/knowledge
8.9 of a claim for compensation.
Memorandum of
wWCB-2 Payment 8153(1)(B} 1.1 Filed within 14 days notice/knowledge
§205(7) 1.7 of a claim for incapacity or death benefits.
8.12
WCB-4 Discontinuance or §205(9)A) 1.7 Filed within 14 days after benefits are
Modification of 8.11 reduced or discortinued pursuant to
Compensation 812 39-A M.R.S.A. §205(9)(A).
WCB-4A Consent Between 8.18 Filed when the parties have agreed o
Employer and Employee a voluntary payment of a retroactive
closed-end pericd of incapacity, or a
modification or discentinuance in
ongeing weekly incapacity benefits,
WCB-8 Certificate of §205(9)(B)1) 1.7 Filed via certified mail no fater than 21
Discontinuance or 8.156 days prior to the effective date of the
Reduction of discontinuance or reduction: of benefits,
Compensation pursuant io 39-A M.R.S.A. §205(9)(B)(1).
WCB-9 Notice of Controversy §313(1) 1.1 Filed elecironically within 14 days
1.7 of a claim for incapacity or death benefits.
3.4
8.2
8.12
WCB-11 Statement of 1.7 Filed within 195 days from the date of
Compensation Paid 8.1 injury when indemnity Denefits are paid
8.12 and annually on the anniversary date
of the injury subsequent to that. Final
report when nio further benefits are
anticipated.

Effective 1/1/2013




EMPLOYER'S FIRST REPORT OF OCCUPATIONAL INJURY OR DISEASE

1. WCB FiLE NUMBER {if known):

1a. OSHA 300 CASE NUMBER (H applicable):

REASON FOR REPORT (check alt that apply) - -

2a. [ £OST TIME - ONE OR MORE DAYS ~ 2b.  WAS EMPLOYEE PAID FOR % DAY OR MORE N DAY OF INJURY?

3. I LOST EARNINGS BUT NO LOST TIME

4. [J MEDICALMEALTH CARE

O3 ves
5. [T FATALITY DATE OF DEATH: i

Ono

MM DD YYYY
6a. £ OCCUPATICNAL DISEASE 6. DATE OF LAST EXPOSURE: i 6c. DATE OF DIAGNOSIS AS OCCUPATIONALLY RELATED: __ [/
MM DD YYYY MM DD YYYY
7a. LI CORRECT PRIOR REFORT 7b.  DATE GF CORRECTION: it 7c. DATE CORRECTION SENTTOWCE: __ /|
MM DD YYYY MM DD YYYY
s EMPLOYER ™7 7

8. STATE EMPLOVER UNEMPLOYMENT

INSURANGE AGCOUNT NUMBER (UIAN):

9, FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER [FEINY:

70, EMPLOYER HAVE,

11, STREET/P.O BOX MAILING ADDRESS:

12.CITY: 13. STATE:

14. ZiP: 15. TELEPHONE NUMBER:

{ )

16. PRIMARY BUSINESS PERFORMED BY
EMPLOYER WHERE INJURY OCCURRED:

17 EMPLOYER LOGATION IF DIFFERENT FROM
MAILING ADDRESS:

18, DID INJURY OR EXPOSURE OCCUR ON EMPLOYER'S Premises? [ ves [ o
IF NO, THEN GIVE NAME AND PHYSICAL ADDRESS OF THE EMPLOYER WHERE THE EMPLOYEE WAS
INJURED OR EXPOSED:

(check one)’ 1. INSURER -

‘00 THIRD PARTY ADMINISTRATOR (TPAJ

‘T SELF-ADMINISTERED EMPLOYER

19. INSURANCE / TPA COMPANY NAME:

20. POLICY NUMBER:

21, INSURER FILE NUMBER:

22 STREET/P.C. BOX MAILING AGDRESS:

23.CITY: 24, STATE:

25. ZIP: 26. TELEPHONE NUMBER:

( }

27, LAST NAME:

38 FIRST NAWE, Ty

{ )

30, TELEPHONE NUMBER;

32, GENDER:
Ll maie O3 remaLe

37, SOGAL SECURITY NUMBER

XXK-KX-

33. STREET/P.0. BOX MAKING ADDRESS:

M.y 35. 8TATE:

36, ZIP: 37. DATE OF BIRTH:

S S
MM DD YYYY

38, OCCUPATIONAOB TITLE:

39.DATE OF HIRE: 40. WEFKLY WAGE AT TIME OF INJURY:

! /

R S S $

MM DG YYYY

41, DOES EMPLOYEE WORK FOR ANOTHER EMPLCYER?
[ves I MO 1F YES, GIVE NAME AND ADDRESS:

CLAIM INFORMATION .. ©

42 DATE OF INJURY QR ILLNESS:

i /

MM DD YYYY
DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED:

Y S S
MM DD Yyyy

43. DATE OF INCAPACITY: 44. TIME EMPLOYEE BEGAN WORK

45. DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED INSURER/TPA:

{a.g. 7:30am):
i ! !
MM DD YYYY MM DB OYYYY
K&, TIME OF INJURY (g.g. 1:10 pm):
DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED: U7, HAS EMPLOYEE RETURNED To Worx? L1 ves Ll ng
s / IF YES, GIVE DATE: / f
MM DD YYYY MM DD YYYY

48, SPECIFIC INJURY OR ILLNESS
{e-g. second degree bum of toxic hepatitisy:

1%, BODY PART(s) AFFECTED {e.g. lower right forearm:

50. ALL EQUIPMENT, MATERIALS, OR GHEMICALS EMPLOYEE WAS
LiSING WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED (e.g. acelylene lorch, metal plate):

51, SPECIFY ACTAITY THE EMPLOYEE WAS ENGAGED IN WHEN THE FVENT
OCCURRED {6.9. cuting mala’ plate for flooring.}:

52. HOW INJURY OR ILLNESS GCCURRED. DESCRIBE THE SEQUENCE OF EVENTS AND INCLUDE ANY CBJECTS OR SUBSTANCES
THAT DIRECTLY INJURED OR MADE THE EMPLOYEE ILL. (¢.g. worker stepped back to ingpect work and
slipped on some scrap metal. As worker fell, worker brushed against hol melat.):

WAS ACTIVITY PART OF NORMAL Jos buTiEs? O ves O no

53, HOSPITALIZED OVERNIGHT AS INPATIENT?
OvesEno

F4. WAS THE ENPLOYEE TREATERS, HEALTH GARE PROVIGER RAME: | 56, MAILING ADDRESS: 57 TELEPHONE NUMBER:
N AN EMERGENGY ROOM? { j

] ves O o

‘PREPARER INFORMATION -

56, PREPARER NAME AND TITLE {TYPE OR PRINT): 5. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 50, DATE SENT 0 WCB:
I

MM DD YYYY

THE STATE OF RAINE DCES NOT DISCRIMINATE ON THE BASIS CF DISABILITY IN ADMISSION TO, ACCESS TQ, OR OPERATION OF ITS PROGRAMS, SERVICES, OR ACTIVITIES.

THIS FORM IS AVAILABLE IN ALTERNATIVE FORMAT. FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE, CONTACT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD, ADA COORDINATOR, TELEPHONE: 1-888-801-9087
CR TTY Maine Relay 711.

WCB-1 {eff. 1/1/13)




FROI - WCB-1

DUE DATE - file electronically within seven days of notice/knowledge of a work-related injury
which has caused the employee to lose a day’s work.

Box 2b — Was employee paid for % day on day of injury? - Make sure this is accurate! It affects
the calculation of the waiting period, compensability, and indemnity benefits. (if paid for ¥ day
or more, the date of injury is NOT a compensable day of incapacity).

Box 42 — Date of injury or illness

e Date of injury - date accident occurred (traumatic injury) or date of last exposure
(cumulative injury or occupational disease).
¢ Date emplovyer notified — the date the employer had notice or knowledge of the injury.

Box 43 — Date of incapacity

» Date of incapacity — first day qualifying as a day of incapacity/disability in the first period or
incapacity/disability.

s Date employer notified — date that the employer had notice or knowledge of the work-
related incapacity/disability in the first period or incapacity/disability. In the case of
sporadic incapacity, enter the date that the employer had notice or knowledge of a day or

more collectively lost from work.

Box 45 — Date employer notified insurer/TPA - Earliest date insurer or administrator had notice
of the injury from any source. (For most filing/payment deadlines the day employer had notice
or knowledge starts the clock ticking regardless of when insurer/administrator was notified).

Box 47 — Has employee returned to work? - Must report yes or no if Box 2a is checked (there is

lost time). If days lost are less than or equal to 7, actual RTW date must be reported within 7
days of RTW with FROI 02 transaction. Not required if more than 7 days lost.

General

e Typical TE's — Ul doesn’t match database, FEIN problem, addresses don’t match.

e Don’'t use 01 to make a change, only to cancel.

e Use CO to correct a data element when a TE is received.

e Use 02 to otherwise update or change a data element.

s The paper copy to the employee must be materially the same as the one filed EDI with the
Board.

¢ Employers must report ALL injuries, including medical only injuries to their insurer.




WAGE STATEMENT
STATE OF MAINE
WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
27 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0027

1. INSURER FILE NUMBER: 6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (LAST 4 DIGITS): 7. WCB FILE NUMBER:
XXH -XX-
2. EMPLOYER NAME: B. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 9. FIRST NAME: 70, M1
3. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: | 11. ADDRESS-NUMBER AND STREET:
4. INSURER NAME: 12.CY: 13. STATE: 14,2 15. HOME PHONE:
5. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS:! 16. DATE OF INJURY: 17, DESCRIPTION OF INJURY:
18. DOES EMPLOYEE WORK CONCURRENTLY 19. DOES EMPLOYEE RECEWE FRINGE BENEFITS THAT MAY STOP 0
FOR ANOTHER EMPLOYER? YES [ | WHILE ON WORKERS' COMPENSATION? YES
IF YES, GIVE NAME(S): o [] | NOTE: THE EMPLOYER SHALL RECALCULATE THE AVERAGE N [
NOTE: THE EMPLOYER SHALL SUBMIT A WAGE WEEKLY WAGE IF/AWHEN FRINGE BENEFITS CEASE (SEE RULE
STATEMENT FOR EACH ADDITIONAL EMPLOYER. 1,5(2)
20. LIST GROSS EARNINGS FOR EACH WEEK.
WK WEEK ENDING | GROSS FARNINGS | WK WEEKENDING | GROSS EARNINGS | WK WEEK ENDING | GROSS EARNINGS
1 19 37
2 20 38
3 21 )
g 22 40
5 23 a
6 24 42
7 25 43
] 26 ¥
9 77 45
10 28 6
T 29 47
12 30 48
13 31 49
14 32 €0
i8 33 &1
16 34 WK OF
INJURY
17 35 21. TOTAL
EARNINGS $
18 36 32. GROSS AVERAGE
WEEKLY WAGE $
23, COMMENTS:
24, PREPARER NAME (1YPE OR PRINTY. 75, TELEPHONE NUMBER: 26. DATE MAILED:
)
TOLL-FREE NUMBER: P
E-MAIL ADDRESS: . () MM _OD_ YYYY

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and pregrams. Aucxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance
with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers’ Compensatien Beard. Telephone: 1-888-8Q1-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.
WCB-2 (eff. 1/1/13)




WAGE STATEMENT - WCB-2

DUE DATE - Within 30 days of notice/knowledge of a claim for compensation (Box 22 of the MOP or
Box 20 of the NOC).

Box 18 - Concurrent employer — obtain separate wage statements for each employer. The employer

for whom the employee worked at the time of injury is required to obtain and file the WCB-2(s) from
the other employer(s). A concurrent employer is one who the employee had an employment
relationship with at the time of the injury, whether or not they were actually working for them.

Box 19 — Fringe benefits — added to AWW only if discontinued during incapacity. Per Rule 1.5(2)(B),
the AWW must be recalculated when fringe benefits cease. Form WCB-2B, Fringe Benefits Worksheet,
must also be filed whether “yes” or “no” is checked.

Box 20 — Gross wages for each week

¢ Must be actual earnings, estimates are not accepted.

¢ If the employee is paid on other than a weekly basis, the form may be filled out on that basis (bi-
weekly, monthly, etc.). However, actual earnings should be shown for the week of hire and week
of injury, as well as any weeks with NO earnings.

e Include reported tips for tipped employees,

o Use payroll week ending dates, not check issue dates.

s Must be completed even if worksheet attached.

* Week 52 is the week that includes the injury; work backward to week 1.

* Include all weeks, even if no earnings. Do not go back more than 52 weeks.

e If seasonal per 102(4)(C), use prior calendar year earnings.

Box 21 — Total earnings - This must be the total of all earnings for the 52 week period, even if not all
are used in calculating the AWW. Please note on Box 23 of the form if you left out any weeks in the

AWW calculation (week of injury, for example).

General

¢ Please review all wage statements for accuracy.

» [f102(4)(B) applies, omit week of hire and/or week of injury if either or both reduce AWW.
(Include any omitted weeks in Box 21, just omit from your calculation and note in Box 23.)

o [f102(4)(D) applies, you must get two comparables, even if not used in a mathematical formula in
calculating the AWW.,

o Be careful when faxing —if it can’t be read, it is not filed and will be returned to you,

e Include preparer name and title (Box 24).




FRINGE BENEFITS WORKSHEET

STATE OF MAINE
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD

27 STATE HOUSE STATFION, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0027

1. INSURER FILE NUMBER:

8, SOGIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits}:
XAX-XX-

7. \WCB FILE NUMBER:

2. EMPLOYER NAME:

B. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME:

9. FIRST NAME:

10. ML

3. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHCGNE NUMBER:

11. EMPLOYEE ADDRESS-NUMBER AND STREET:

4. INSURER NAME:

12. CITY:

13. STATE: 14. ZIP:

15. HOME PHONE:

5, INSURER MAILING ADDRESS:

16. DATE OF INJURY:

17. DESCRIPTION OF INJURY:

PROVIDE THE COST OF THE FRINGE BENEFIT PAID BY THE EMPLOYER AS OF THE EMPLOYEE’S
DATE OF INJURY IF THE EMPLOYEE WAS RECEIVING THE BENEFIT ON HIS/HER DATE OF INJURY
(SEE RULE CHAPTER 1(5)(1)).

NOTE: THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ARE SUBJECT TO VERIFICATION BY THE EMPLOYEE AND HIS/HER
REPRESENTATIVE AND DOCUMENTATION MUST BE PROVIDED UPON REQUEST.

Conti hil . Weekly Cost of
* Fringe Benefit Provided E;r:)icr;‘;‘:%s:k‘: OILﬁ e EB::eflts %Emnéfggt} o
(v, msurance) YesO NoD | YesO NoDJ 3
Dental Insurance Yes ] Noll Yes [1 Noll $
Disabiiity Insurance ves O No T Yes (1 No O 3
{inc. short and long term)
401K Yes L] No [ Yes [ No U $
Life Insurance Yes O No U Yes 0 No U $
Education/Training Yes O No U Yes O No U $
Pensicn ves O No U Yes L] No U $
Other (please list): Yes [1 No Yes &0 No [ $
Other (please list): ves 1 No Yes [0 Noll $

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

19. PREPARER NAME (TYPE OR PRINT):

20. TELEPHONE
NUMBER:
¢ )

TOLL-FREE NUMBER:
)

21. DATE MAILED:

S A —
MM DD YYYY

The Stale of Maine provides equal oppartunity in employmenl and programs. Auxliary aids and servicas are available (o individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with this
form, contacl the ADA Goordinalor al the Maine Workers' Compensalion Board, Telephone: (888) 801-6087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

WCB-2B {eff. 1/1/13)




FRINGE BENEFITS WORKSHEET — WCB-2B

DUE DATE — Within 30 days of notice/knowledge of a claim for compensation (Box 22 of
MOP or Box 20 of NOC)

Box 18 — Fringe benefits - Provide the cost of the fringe benefit paid by the employer as
of the employee’s date of injury if the employee was receiving the benefit on his/her
date of injury (see Rule 1,5.1). NOTE: the amounts reported are subject to verification
by the employee and his/her representative and documentation must be provided
upon request.

General

¢ The WCB-2B is required to accompany ALL Wage Statements (WCB-2) filed on or
after 1/1/2013, regardless of date of injury. A WCB-2B is required to be filed for
concurrent employers, as well as the employer of injury.

e Any benefit checked as “yes” in the “provided” column must also be checked “yes”
or “no” in the “continues” column, and have a dollar amount in the “weekly cost”
column, or a percentage in the case of a 401(k).

¢ Benefits calculated based on AWW including lost fringe benefits are subjectto a
maximum rate of 2/3 the SAWW at the time of injury. If benefits based on AWW
without lost fringes are higher, pay the higher amount.

e Per change effective 9/1/18 to Rule 1.5.1.A.3, inclusion of 401(k), 403(b) and
equivalent plans ends when the employee returns to work.




1. REVISION DATE: 2, WCB FiLE NUMBER

55— MEMORANDUM OF PAYMENT {f known:

MM DD YYYY

T L T T s BMPLOYEE o L e

3. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 4. FIRST NAME: 5. M 6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):
XXX-XX-
7. STREET/P.Q. BOX MAILING ADDRESS: 8. CITY: g. STATE: 10. ZIP; 11, HOME PHONE NUMBER;
( )

12. DATE OF INJURY: 13. SPECIFIC iINJURY CR ILLNESS:! 14, BODY PARTS (8) AFFECTED:!

S R S

MM DD YYYY
_ T T e EMPLOYER T e T
15. INSURER FILE NUMBER: 16. EMPLOYER NAME: 17. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:
18, INSURER NAME: 19.INSURER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE
20. YOUR EMPLOYER/ANSURER IS REQUIRED TO FILE THIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION FORM UPCN PAYMENT OF A LOST TIME WORK-RELATED INJURY. PAYMENT
IS MADE FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON:

A. [0 YOUR CLAIM IS ACCEPTED.
g, O  THIS IS AVOLUNTARY PAYMENT WITHOUT PREJUDICE.
c. [ THIS IS A MANDATORY PAYMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 1.1. AMOUNT PAID § . PERIOD COVERED BY MANDATORY PAYMENT:
FROM {DATE CLAIM MADE} / / THROUGH {DATE NOTIGE OF GONTROVERSY FILED AND BENEFITS PAID) / /
MM DO YYYY MM DD YYYY
21. TYPE OF PAYMENT: 22, FIRST DAY OF COMPENSABILITY AFTER
WAITING PERIOD WAS MET:

A OO WEEKLY COMPENSATION
B, O SPECIFIC LOSS: WEEKS / /
¢. 00 OTHER (EXPLAINY MM DD YYYY
23. DATE OF INCAPACITY: ! / 24. DATE CHECK MAKED: 25. AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE: 26. CURRENT WEEKLY COMPENSATION RATE:

MM DD YYYY O totaLEd PARTAL

e $ $
DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED MM DD YYYY
OF ICAPACHTY: / /
e (IF VARYING RATES ARE BEING PAID, ENTER
MM DD YYYY THE WORD “VARYING")

27. 15 THIS AN APPORTIONMENT cLAIM? [ yEs [ no {F YES, ANSWER THE FCLLOWING:

OTHER DATE(S) OF INSURY INVOLVED:

OTHER INSURER({S) INVOLVED:

EXPLAIN THE TERMS OF THE APPCRTIONMENT:

28. COMMENTS:

ASSISTANGE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES

AUGUSTA BANGOR CARIBOU LEWISTON PORTLAND
24 STONE ST, STE 102 108 HOGAN RD ONE VAUGHN PL 36 MOLLISON WAY 62 ELM 5T
AUGUSTA, ME BANGOR, ME 43 HATCH DR, 5TE 110 LEWISTON, ME PORTLAND, ME
04330-5220 04401-5638 CARIBOU, ME: 04736 04240-7777 04101-3081
{207} 287-2308 (207) 941-4560 (207) 498-6428 (207) 753-7700 (207) 822-0840
1-800-400-6854 1-800-400-6856 1-8006-400-6855 1-800-400-6857 1-800-400-6868
29. PREPARER NAME (TYPE OR PRINT}: 30, TELEPHONE NUMBER: 31. DATE MAILED:
{ }
E-MAIL ADDRESS: TOLL-FREE NUMBER: Y SN S
MM DD YYYY
¢ }

The State of Maize provides equal opporiunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services ase avallable to individuals with disabilities upon request. For assistance with
this form, contact the ADA Coordinater at the Maine Workers” Compensalion Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.
WCB-3 {eff. 9/1/18)




MEMORANDUM OF PAYMENT - WCB-3

DUE DATE- Within 14 days of notice/knowledge of incapacity or 6 days from Box 22 of MOP (broken
period).

Box 20 — Reason for payment - Be careful about checking 20A! This creates a “compensation scheme”

(payment with prejudice), meaning that unless the employee returns to work you cannot reduce or
discontinue benefits without an order from the Board.

Box 21 - Type of payment

o If Box B (specific loss) is checked, enter the number of weeks payable.
o If Box Cis checked, describe the type of payment, e.g. Permanent Impairment (pre 1993), Salary
Continuation, decision, etc,

Box 22 — First day of compensability

e The date that the employee was incapacitated beyond the waiting period and/or was entitled to
indemnity benefits (sometimes referred to as “day 8”).

o Complete if current incapacity is subject to 7 day waiting period or employee is a firefighter. Need not
be completed for subsequent periods of incapacity from the same injury.

» For salary continuation, complete as if the employee has lost the wage that is being continued during
the time absent, or when the hours missed equals hours in a regular work week.

» For partial incapacity, waiting period may be determined by lost wages (AWW method} or lost benefits
(WCR method). Other methods may be acceptable.

Box 23 -

Date of Incapacity — Initial date disability began as entered in Box 43a of the FROI.

Date Emplover Notified of Incapacity - Date employer notified of the incapacity, not the injury. Can not
pre-date date of incapacity above, and should match Box 43b of the FROI.

Box 24 — Date check mailed - Date check is mailed, not processed. For salary continuation, date payroll

check is mailed/delivered/direct-deposited.

General
e Must be closed with a discontinuance via a WCB-4, a WCB-4a, or a WCB-8.

e If a provisional MOP was filed initially and the actual rate is greater than the provisional rate, an
amended MOP {WCB-3) must be filed to establish the correct average weekly wage and weekly
compensation rate {(no MOD required).

s If a provisional MOP was filed initially and the actual rate is less than the provisional rate, a (21-Day)
Certificate of Discontinuance or Reduction of Compensation {(WCB-8) must be filed to establish the
correct AWW and WCR, and the higher rate paid for the 21 days. Effective 9/1/18 - AWW may be
adjusted ONCE within 90 days from initial lost time payment to correct an error or miscalculation.

B




DISCONTINUANCE OR
MODIFICATION OF COMPENSATION
PURSUANT TO 39-A M.R.S.A. §205(9)(A)

STATE OF MAINE
WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
27 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0027

1. INSURER FILE NUMBER: 6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits): |7. WCB FILE NUMBER:
XXK-XX-
2. EMPLOYER NAME: 8. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 9. FIRST NAME: 10. ML

3. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: |11, ADDRESS-NUMBER AND STREET:

4. INSURER NAME: i2. CITY: 13. STATE: 14. ZIP: 15. HOME PHONE:

5. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS: 16. DATE OF INJURY: 17. DESCRIPTICHN OF INJURY:

PLEASE COMPLETE EITHER THE SECTION FOR DISCONTINUANCE OR MODIFICATION, BUT NOT BOTH.

18. REASON FOR DISCONTINUANCE:
[] RETURNEDTO WORK FOR SAME EMPLOYER D RETURNED TO WORK FOR SAME EMPLOYER
REGULAR/FULL DUTY MEDICAL RELEASE EARNING AT/IABOVE AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE
{] BOARDDECISION |:| OTHER (EXPLAIN}
19. PERIOD OF INCAPACITY: 20, WEEKLY COMPENSATION RATE: 21, AMCUNT PAID: 22. DATE FINAL PAYMENT MAILED:

FROM (DATE): TO: (RETURN DATE):

23. COMMENTS:

MODIFICATION

24, REASON FOR MODIFICATION:

(] RETURNED T WORK FOR SAME EMPLOYER [J ¢osT OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT [0  iNCREASED/IDECREASED EARNINGS WITH SAME EMPLOYER
MODIFIED WORK/DUTY (PRE 1993 CLAIMS ONLY)
7] sGARD DECISICN [J wmaAX RATE INCREASE [0 OTHER(EXPLAIN)
25. OLD COMPENSATION RATE: 6. NEW COMPENSATION RATE: 27. EEFEGTIVE DATE OF MODIFICATION:

28. COMMENTS:

ASSISTANGE 1S AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' GOMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES

AUGUSTA BANGOR CARIBOU LEWISTON PORTLAND
24 STONE ST, STE 102 106 HOGAN RD ONE VAUGHN PL 36 MOLLISON WAY 62 ELM ST
AUGUSTA, ME BANGOR, ME 43 HATCH DR, STE 110 LEWISTON, ME PORTLAND, ME
04330-5220 04401-5638 CARIBOU, ME 04736 04240-7777 04101-3061
(207} 287-2308 (207} 941-4550 (207) 498-6428 (207) 7537700 (207) 822-0840
1-B00-400-6654 1-800-400-6856 $-B00-400-68565 1-800-400-6857 1-800-400-6858
28, PREPARER NAME (TYPE OR PRINT}: 30 TELEPHONE NUMBER: 31, DATE MAILED:

{ )

TOLL-FREE NUMBER: [ S DU
MM DD YYYY
( )

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon request. For
assislance with this form, coniact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Retay 711,
WCB-4 (eff. 14713}



DISCONTINUANCE OR MODIFICATION - WCB-4

DUE DATE — Within 14 days after benefits are discontinued or modified under §205(9}{(A)
(return to work or an increase in pay with the employer of injury) or §205(9)(B)(2) (order or
award of compensation).

Box 19 — Period of incapacity

e “From” date should be same as Box 23a of the MOP.

e “To” date should be the first day after the paid through date.
s Only one period of incapacity should be entered per form,

Box 20 — WCR - if more than one rate was used, enter last rate used.

Box 21 - Amount paid — Total amount paid for this period of incapacity. Do not reduce by any

recoveries, and do not include any interest or penalties.

Box 22 - Date final payment mailed — Date last benefit payment was mailed, not processed.

Box 25 — Old compensation rate - Rate prior to modification. This should match the new rate
on the previously filed modification. If varying, enter “varying.”

Box 26 — New compensation rate - Rate following modification. If varying, enter “varying.”

Box 27 — Effective date - Date modification became effective, not the date the check was

issued.

General

s Can not be used for return to work with a different employer, or if employee refuses to
return to work, even with a full-duty release. There must be an actual return to work with
the employer of injury to discontinue with a WCB-4. Note change to Rule 8.11.2.C
regarding what is considered a return to work effective 9/1/18.

» A modification must be filed when the benefit is modified due to a max rate increase.

¢ Please use one section only (discontinuance or modification) per form,

e When revising a previously filed form, write “REVISED” across the top of the form, put a line
through the original “Date Sent to WCB” date and note the revision date.




CONSENT BETWEEN EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE
STATE OF MAINE
WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
STATION 27, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0027

1. INSURER FILE NUMBER: 6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 7. WC8 FILE NUMBER:
XXX-XXK-
2. EMPLOYER NAME: 8. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 9. FIRST NAME: 10. ML

3. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: | 11. ADDRESS-NUMBER AND STREET:

4. INSURER NAME: 12. CITY: 3. STATE: 14. ZiP: 15. HOME PHONE:

5. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS: 18. DATE OF INJURY: 17. DESCRIPTION OF INJURY:

18. TERMS OF CONSENT:

18A. DATE OF INCAPACITY: 18B. AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE: 18C. CURRENT WEEKLY COMPENSATION 18D. COES EMPLOYEE WORK FOR ANOTHER
RATE: EMPLOYER? IF YES, GIVE NAME(S):
1 vorar [ parmiaL [Jves Owe
48E. NEWW COMPENSATION RATE: 48F. EFFECTIVE DATE OF REDUGTION: 18G. EFFECTIVE DATE OF DISGONTINUANCE: 18H. AMOUNT SAIC:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE (Please read and initial)
18,

BEFORE YOU SIGN THIS FORM, YOU SHALL CALL THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S OFFICES TO FIND OUT WHAT RIGHTS YOU HAVE IF
YOU SIGN THIS FORM. A LIST OF THE BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES IS SHOWN AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE.

EMPLOYEE INITIALS:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYER
THIS FORM SHALL NOT BE USED FOR CASES WHEN AN ORDER, AWARD GF GOMPENSATION OR A COMPENSATION SCHEME WAS ENTERED
UNDER SECTION 205 (9)(B)2).

CONSENT
70.

WE AGREE TO THE TERMS LISTED IN BOX 48 ABOVE. WE UNDERSTAND THAT THIS 1S NOT A FINAL SETTLEMENT. SIGNING THIS CONSENT
FORM CREATES A PAYMENT WITHOUT PREJUDICE, DOES NOT CREATE A PAYMENT SCHEME, AND DOES NOT PREVENT EITHER PARTY fROM
REOPENING THE CLAIM WITHIN CERTAIN TIME LIMITS. THIS FORM MUST BE SIGNED BY THE EMPLOYEE, EMPLOYEE'S ATTORNEY OR WORKER
ADVOCATE IF ANY, AND THE EMPLOYER/NSURER OR BY A DULY AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE,

EMPLOYEE SIGNATURE CATE
EMPLOYEE 'S AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE SIGNATURE (IF APPLICABLE) DATE
EMPLOYER/INSURER OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE SIGNATURE DATE

ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES

AUGUSTA BANGOR CARIBOU LEWISTON PORTLAND

24 STONE ST, STE 102 106 HOGAN RD ONE VAUGHN PL 38 MOLLISON WAY 62 ELM ST
AUGUSTA, ME BANGOR, ME 43 HATGH DR, STE 140 LEWISTON, ME PORTLAND, ME

04330-5220 04401-5638 CARIBOU, ME 04736 042407777 04101-3064
(207) 287-2308 {207} 941-4550 {207) 498-6428 (207) 753-7700 (207) 822-0840
1-800-400-6854 1-800-400-6856 1-800-400-6855 1-800-400-6857 1-800-400-6858

21. PREPARER NAME AND TITLE (TYFE OR PRINT): 22. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 23. DATE MAILED:

The State of Maine provides equal opporunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are avaitable to individuals with
disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board.
Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

WCB-4A (eff. 1/1/13)




CONSENT BETWEEN EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE — WCB-4A

DUE DATE — No specific due date for the form itself, but payment is due within 10
calendar days after being signed by all parties.

General

May be used when the parties have agreed to a voluntary payment of a
retroactive closed-end period of incapacity, or a modification, reduction or
discontinuance in ongoing weekly incapacity benefits.
Shall not be used to reduce or discontinue benefits on a date subsequent to
the date signed.
Best practice - don’t sign until employee signs and returns.
Compensation payments are due within 10 calendar days after all parties have
sighed.
The parties may agree to the pre-injury average weekly wage or may agree to
pay benefits based upon a provisional wage and reserve the issue of the pre-
injury average weekly wage for later determination by the Board. In either
event, the form shall also indicate whether the employee is receiving 100% of
the benefits at issue for the designated period. If the employee is receiving less
than 100% of the benefits at issue for the designated period, the form shall
indicate the percentage of benefits that the employee is receiving.

> All wage forms are still required to be filed.
Upon request by any of the parties, the Consent Between Employer and
Employee, WCB-4A, shall be reviewed within 14 calendar days by an agent at
the Board’s regional offices in order to answer any relevant questions prior to
the employer and employee signing this form.
Shall not be used when an order or award is entered under 205(9)(B)(2).
Signing the WCB-4A does not by itself create a compensation scheme.
Per rule change effective 9/1/18, can be used to supersede a WCB-8 (21-day)

notice.
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CERTIFICATE OF

DISCONTINUANCE OR REDUCTION OF COMPENSATION
PURSUANT TO 39-A M.R.S.A. §205(9)(B)(1)

STATE OF MAINE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
27 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0427

1. INSURER FILE NUMBER:

6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits):
KXA-XX-

7. WCB FILE NUMBER:

2. EMPLOYER NAME: 8. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 9. FIRST NAME: 10. M.L:
3. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: | 11. ADDRESS-NUMBER AND STREET:

4. INSURER NAME: 12. CITY: 13. STATE: 14, ZiP: 15, HOME PHONE:
5. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS: 16. DATE OF INJURY: 17, DESCRIPTION OF iNJURY!

BCARD ADDRESS ABOVE.

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

YOUR WEEKLY COMPENSATION BENEFITS WILL BE DISCONTINUED OR REDUCED 21 DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS
CERTIFICATE WAS MAILED BASED ON THE ATTACHED INFORMATION. IF YOU DISAGREE WITH THIS ACTION, YOU MAY FILE
A PETITION FOR REVIEW AND REQUEST REINSTATEMENT OF YOUR BENEFITS PENDING HEARING, UNDER 38-A M.R.S.A.
§205(9)(C). YOUR PETITION AND REQUEST (ON FORM WCB-121) MUST BE MAILED TO THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION

18. REASON FOR DISCONTINUANCE OR REDUCTICON (MUST ATTACH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION):

DISCONTINUANCE

19. PERIOD OF INCAPACITY!
FROM (DATE}

TO{EFFECTIVE DATE
OF DISCONTINUANCEY):

20. WEEKLY COMPENSATION RATE:

21, COMPENSATION PAID
TO DATE OF
CERTIFICATE:

22. COMPENSATION TO
BE PAID FOR 21 BAY
PERIOD:

REDUCTION

23. OLD COMPENSATION RATE:

24, NEW COMPENSATION RATE:

25. EFFECTIVE DATE OF REDUCTION:

AUGUSTA
24 STONE ST, STE 102
AUGUSTA, ME
043305220
(207) 287-2308
4-B00-400-8854

ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES

BANGOR GARIBOU LEWISTON PORTLAND
106 HOGAN RD ONE VAUGHN PL 36 MOLLISON WAY 1037 FOREST AVE, STE 11
BANGOR, ME 43 HATCH DR, STE 110 LEWISTON, ME PORTLAND, ME
04401-5638 CARIBOU, ME 04736 04240-7777 041033382
(207) 941-4550 (207) 496-6428 (207) 753-7700 (207} 822-0840

1-8G0-400-6856

1-800-400-6855

1-800-400-6857

1-800-400-6858

28, PREPARER NAME (TYPE OR PRINT):

£-MAIlL ADDRESS:

27. TELEPHONE NUMBER:
( }

TOLL-FREE NUMBER:

{ )

28. DATE MAILED (MUST
MATCH POSTMARK).

R SR —
MM DD YYYY

The State of Maine provides equal cpportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with

disabilities upon request.

Telephone; 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

WCB-8 (eff. 1/1/13}

For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers” Compensation Board.




(21 DAY) CERTIFICATE OF DISCONTINUANCE OR REDUCTION
OF COMPENSATION — WCB-8

Use if benefits are discontinued or reduced for any reason other than those
which allow the filing of a WCB-4 unless indemnity is being paid pursuant to an

order or award, or compensation scheme,

DUE DATE — File by certified mail no later than 21 days prior to the effective date of the
discontinuance or modification.

Box 18 - Reason for discontinuance — Enter reason and attach supporting documentation,

Box 19 — Period of incapacity

e “From” date should be same as Box 23 of the MOP.

e “To” date should be date payment for the incapacity will end (no earlier than 21 days from
Box 28).

e Only one period of incapacity should be entered per form.

Box 20 — WCR — If more than one rate was used, enter last rate used.

Box 21 - Compensation paid — Total amount paid or due to the date the form is mailed for the
current period of incapacity. This should be a dollar amount. Do not reduce by any recoveries.
For salary continuation, do not include amounts paid by the employer.

Box 22 - Compensation paid for the 21 day period — Total amount anticipated to be paid for
the 21 day notice period. This should be a dollar amount. Note Boxes 21 and 22 should equal
the total weekly compensation paid for the period listed in Box 19.

Box 23 — Old compensation rate - Rate prior to modification. if varying, enter “varying.”

Box 24 — New compensation rate - Rate following modification. If varying, enter “varying.”

Box 25 — Effective date of reduction - Date payment for incapacity will be reduced (no earlier
than 21 days from Box 28).

General

o Send certified mail to WCB and employee on date of mailing shown in Box 28.

e Be sure to get postmarked receipts from the post office upon mailing.

¢ Do not count the day form is mailed in calcutating the 21 days. For example, if mailed May
5 (Box 28), add 21 days and use effective date of May 26 in Box 19 or 25.

e A cover letter should accompany the WCB-8 which includes the certified number,

¢ Use form 231-A to take an offset for earnings with a different employer.




NOTICE OF CONTROVERSY T WCB FILE # 1 known),

THIS IS A DENIAL OF YOUR BENEFITS

‘ B ) R : < "EMPLOYEE: - e L
2. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 3. FIRST NAME: 4. Ml: 5. EMPLOYEE ID:
ITYPE: #:
6. STREET/P.O. BOX MAILING ADDRESS: 7. CITY: 8. STATE: 0. ZiP: 10. HOME PHONE #:
( )
11. DATE OF INJURY: 12. SPECIFIC INJURY OR iLLNESS: 3. BODY PART({S) AFFECTED:
Y S
T L e T L T T "EMPLOYER "~ - R
14, INSURER/CLAIM ADMIN FILE #: 15. EMPLOYER NAME: 16, EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE #:
17. INSURER/CLAIM ADMIN NAME AND ADDRESS: 18. INSURER/CLAIM ADMIN FEIN:
1g. NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE

YOUR EMPLOYER/ANSURER IS DENYING YOUR WORKERS' COMPENSATION GLAIM OR PART OF IT. THE REASON FOR THE DENIAL 15 CHECKED BELOW.
IF YOU DISAGREE WITH THIS DENIAL, CONTACT A CLAIMS RESOLUTION SPECIALIST AT THE NEAREST REGIONAL OFFICE LISTED BELOW.

19a. 19b.

FULL DENIAL REASON PARTIAL DENIAL REASON

20a.
DATE OF INITIAL INCAPACITY / /

CURRENT DTE OF INCAPACITY / !
P0b.

FULL DENIAL EFFECTIVE DATE ! ! DATE EMPLOYER NOTIFIED / /

“NOTE: Reasons identified in boxes 19a or 19b will not preciude a party from raising additional issues at a later
idate.

21. COMMENTS:

22 If tha employer falls Lo comply with the provisions of Rule 1.1, the employee must be paid total benefits, with eredit for earnings and other statutory offsets,

o the date the ctaim is made in accordance with 39-A M.R.S. § 205(2) and in compliance with 38-A M.R.S. § 204. The employer may discontinue benefits
under this subsection when both of the following requirements are met: A. The employer files a Notice of Controversy; and B. The employer pays benefits from
he date the claim is made. Payment under Rule 1.1 requires fiting of a Memorandum of Payment.

ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD'S REGIONAL OFFICES

AUGUSTA BANGOR CARIBOU LEWISTON PORTLAND

24 STONE ST, STE 102 106 HOGAN RD ONE VAUGHN PL 36 MOLLISON WAY 62 ELM 5T
AUGUSTA, ME BANGOR, ME 43 HATCH DR, STE 410 LEWISTON, ME PORTLAND, ME

04330-5220 04401-5638 CARIBCU, ME 04736 04240-7777 04101-3081
(207} 287-2308 (207) 941-45650 (207) 498-6428 (207} 753-7700 (207) 622-0840
1-800-400-5854 1-800-400-6856 1-800-400-6855 1-800-400-6867 1-800-400-6858

23. NAME (TYPE OR PRINT}: 24. TELEPYHONE #: 25. DATE SENT TO WCB:
/ !

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in empioyment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with disabilities upon
request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensafion Board. Telephone: 1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine
Relay 711.

WCB-9 (eff. 1/1/13)




NOTICE OF CONTROVERSY - WCB-S

DUE DATE - File electronically within 14 days of notice/knowledge of a claim for
incapacity or death benefits. For denial of medical benefits only, file within 30
days of notice/knowledge of claim for medical benefits.

Box 19A — Full denial reason - Code 1 through 5 (see Forms Manual). Also enter

denial effective date.

Box 19b - Partial denial reason — Code A through G (see Forms Manual).

Box 20a
¢ Date of initial incapacity — first day qualifying as a day of disability.

e Current date of incapacity — first qualifying day of disability in the current

period of disability being denied. If the same as above, leave blank.

Box 21 — Comments - Use for additional information, explanations, or clari-
fications. If disability has been intermittent or sporadic, it should be noted here.

General

e If a NOCis filed for a claim for which a FROI was never filed (medical only for
example), the FROI must be filed.

e A WCB-2 and WCB-2B must be filed within 30 days of employer notice or
knowledge (Box 20b).

e If a NOC is filed on a medical only claim and it later becomes a lost time claim,
a new NOC must be filed to dispute indemnity.

e If alost time NOC is filed, it can NOT be revised to medical only, even if there is
no lost time. The WCB-2 and WCB-2B must be filed.

e |[f filed late, benefits must be paid from the date the claim was made through
the date the NOC is filed (and accepted), and payment made. A mandatory
MOP must be filed.

¢ The copy to the employee must be materially the same as the one filed EDI
with the Board (.pdf file now being sent with the AKC report).




STATEMENT OF COMPENSATION PAID
STATE OF MAINE
WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD
27 STATE HOUSE STATION, AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0027

1. INSURER FILE NUMBER: 6. SOCIAL SEGURITY NUMBER (last 4 digits): |7. WCB FILE NUMBER:
XHK-KX-
2. EMPLOYER NAME: 8. EMPLOYEE LAST NAME: 9. FIRST NAME: 10, ML

3. EMPLOYER MAILING ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: |11, ADDRESS-NUMBER AND STREET:

4. INSURER NAME: 12, CITY: 13. STATE: 14, ZIP: 15. HOME PHONE:

5. INSURER MAILING ADDRESS: 16. DATE OF INJURY: 17. DESCRIPTION OF INJURY:

18. REASON FOR REPORT:
[] INTERIM REPORT (ONGOING PAYMENTS OF ANY KIND} D FINAL REPORT (NC FURTHER PAYMENTS ANTICIPATED)

PAYMENT SUMMARY
19. LIST CUMULATIVE TOTALS (DO NOT INCLUDE ANY PENALTY AMOUNTS):

MEDICAL TREATMENT DEATH BENEFIT/FUNERAL 3
EXPENSE (NOT TO EXCEED
$7,000.00)

WEEKLY 3 LEGAL EXPENSE (EMPLOYEE 3

COMPENSATION RELATED)

PERMANENT s LEGAL EXPENSE (EMPLOYER $

IMPAIRMENT RELATED)

(PRE 1993 ONLY)

EMPLOYMENT $ INTEREST AND OTHER PAYMENTS §

REHABILITATION

LUMP SUM SETTLEMENT $
TOTAL AMOUNT PAID $
(DO NOT REDUCE THESE TOTALS
BY THE AMOUNT OF ANY
RECOVERIES, INCLUDING
DEDUCTIBLES)

ASSISTANCE 1S AVAILABLE AT THE MAINE WORKERS’' COMPENSATION BOARD’S REGIONAL OFFICES

AUGUSTA BANGOR CARIBOU LEWISTON PORTLAND
24 STONE ST, STE 102 06 HOGAN RD ONE VAUGHN PL 36 MOLLISON WAY 62 ELM ST
AUGUSTA, ME BANGOR, ME 43 HATCH DR, STE 110 LEWISTON, ME PORTLAND, ME
04330-5220 04401-65638 CARIBOU, ME 04736 04240-7777 04%01-3061
(207) 287-2308 (207) 941-4550 (207) 498-6428 (207) 753-7700 (207} 822-0840
1-800-400-6854 1-800-400-6856 1-800-400-6855 1-800-400-6857 1-800-400-6858
20. PREPARER NAME (TYPE CR PRINT): 21. TELEPHONE NUMBER: 22. DATE MAILED:
( )
[ S S—
E-MAIL ADDRESS: TOLL-FREE NUMBER: MM DD YYYY
( )

The State of Maine provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to individuals with
disabilities upon request. For assistance with this form, contact the ADA Coordinator at the Maine Workers' Compensation Board. Telephone:
1-888-801-9087 or TTY Maine Relay 711.

WCB-11 (efi. 1/1/13)




STATEMENT OF COMPENSATION PAID - WCB-11

DUE DATE - Initial report due within 195 days of date of injury. Annual —within
15 days of each anniversary date of the injury if payments of any type made since
the previous SOC. Final—when no further payments are anticipated.

e Not required if no indemnity benefits were ever paid.

e Not required if all indemnity paid was salary continuation.

Box 18 — Reason for report - Indicate interim {ongoing payments of any kind) or

final (no further payments anticipated).

Box 19 — Cumulative totals

e Do not include any penalty amounts, nor reduce any totals by the amount of
any recoveries.

e For salary continuation, do not include amounts paid by the employer.

» Medical — include only those items listed in the Forms Manual. Do not include
case management fees.

e Weekly Compensation — Sum of all indemnity benefits, specific loss benefits,

and mandatory indemnity payments. On the “final” report, this must match
the total of the “amount paid” (Box 21) on all WCB-4 forms, “amount paid”
(Box 18h) on all WCB-4A forms, and “amount paid” (Box 20c} on all mandatory
MOP forms, and/or the sum of Box 21 and Box 22 on the WCB-3.

¢ Permanent Impairment — For injuries prior to 1993 only.

e Employment Rehabilitation — Employment rehabilitation expenses paid.

e Lump Sum Settlement — Include LSS and the amount of any Medicare Set-
Aside.

¢ Death benefit/Funeral Expense — Cannot exceed $7,000.00.

e Legal Expense — sum of all legal expenses paid for the claim — separated into

employee related and employer related expenses.
e Interest and Other Payments — Payments not otherwise reported for this

claim, such as surveillance, mileage, etc.

21




Additional resources from the Maine Workers’ Compensation Board

Open Training — Open training is a two day course offered in Augusta four times a year. It addresses

both basic and advanced topics, making it a great fit not only for those new to Maine Workers' Compensation,
but also as a great refresher for the more experienced. Open training dates for 2018 are October 25-26. 2019
sessions will be held Juanuary 24-25, April 18-19, June 20-21, and October 24-25. Topics covered generally
include form filing, claim administration compliance, average weekly wage calculation, benefit calculation,
waiting period determination, transitioning between total and partial benefits, the audit process, and “sticky
issues” discussions. Presentations are supplemented with hands-on examples, useful reference materials,
and discussions with Board staff. Note: space is limited and training sessions often fill fast! To reserve a spot
at open training, MFS training (see below), or Employer Training (see below), contact Kimberly Belka at 207-
287-7067, or Kimberly.Belka@Maine.qov.

On-Site Training - It may make more sense to have us come to you, particularly if you have a number of
employees needing training, and sending them all to open training is difficult. The Board has a one day on-site
program that takes the *meat” from the two day open training, as well as an analysis of your most recent
compliance information and most recent audit report to help determine the most beneficial training. The on-site
session normally runs from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. Contact Gordon Davis for more info.

Medical Fee Schedule Training — MFS training is offered peridically in Augusta. Dates and times will be
announced in our newslietters. Contact Kimberly Belka if you are interested.

Employer Training - The Board has partnered with the Maine Dept. of Labor to offer a half day course
specifically geared to the employer, helping employers understand the Maine WC system, reporting
requirements, and why their cooperation with the claim administrator is so important. Those classes are
scheduled for September 28, 2018 and march 29, 2019 at the Dept. of Labor in Augusta.

Newsletters — the Board publishes a "MAE News” newsletter addressing various topics such as new WC

legislation, rule changes, court cases, vocational rehab, medical fee schedules, and more. It also publishes a
“Training Perspectives” training newsletter which deals specifically with compliance training issues and actual
questions from claim administratots and adjusters. To subscribe via email, contact Kimberly Belka at
Kimberly. Belka@maine.gov. Current and past newsletters are available on the MWCB web site.

MWCB Web Site - www.Maine.gov/wch/

You will find many valuable resources on our web site, including alt Board forms in fillable PDF format, EDI
information, laws, rules and regulations, newsletters, compliance reports, training modules, benefit tables, fee
schedules, and regional office locations.

For more information on our training and outreach programs contact
Gordon Davis, 207-287-6327, or Gordon.Davis@Maine.gov

Board
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