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The Maine Workers’ Compensation Board prepared 
this guide to help you understand Maine’s workers’ 
compensation system. This guide attempts to answer 
the questions most commonly asked by injured 
workers. Much of the information in this guide only 
applies to employees who were injured on or after 
January 1, 1993, although there is some information 
about earlier dates of injury. A glossary of commonly 
used terms is also provided. 

If you would like additional information, please visit 
www.maine.gov/wcb or contact one of the regional 
offices of the Workers’ Compensation Board listed 
below: 

AUGUSTA 
442 Civic Center Drive, Suite 225 

156 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0156 

(207) 287-2308 or 1-800-400-6854 (Maine only) 

BANGOR 
106 Hogan Road, Suite 1 

Bangor, Maine 04401 
(207) 941-4550 or 1-800-400-6856 (Maine only) 

CARIBOU 
One Vaughn Place 

43 Hatch Drive, Suite 110 
Caribou, Maine 04736 

(207) 498-6428 or 1-800-400-6855 (Maine only) 

LEWISTON 
36 Mollison Way 

Lewiston, Maine 04240 
(207) 753-7700 or 1-800-400-6857 (Maine only) 

PORTLAND 
1037 Forest Avenue, Suite 11 

Portland, Maine 04103 
(207) 822-0840 or 1-800-400-6858 (Maine only) 

Workers’ Compensation Board Mission Statement 

The Board’s mission is to serve the employees and 
employers of the state fairly and expeditiously by 
ensuring compliance with the workers’ compensation 
laws, ensuring the prompt delivery of benefits legally 
due, promoting the preventing of disputes, utilizing 
dispute resolution to reduce litigation and facilitating 
labor-management cooperation. 
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GLOSSARY OF FREQUENTLY USED TERMS 

Administrative Law Judge: An employee of the 
Workers’ Compensation Board who holds hearings 
and writes decisions which resolve disputes between 
you and your employer. 

Average Weekly Wage: In most cases the average 
amount of money you earned each week for the 52 
weeks prior to your injury. Special rules apply to 
employees who customarily work less than 26 weeks 
per year or who work in certain kinds of jobs. Fringe 
benefits may also be added to your average weekly 
wage. 

Compensation Rate: What you are paid for time you 
have missed from work because of an injury. The 
compensation rate equals 2/3 of your average weekly 
wage.  Compensation rates vary depending on dates of 
injury.  Information about maximum compensation 
rates can be found under “ITEMS OF INTEREST” on 
the Workers’ Compensation Board’s website. 

Compensable: The word compensable can describe an 
injury that is related to work. It can also describe a 
medical bill or a claim for lost wages that your 
employer must pay. 

First Report of Injury: A written report prepared by 
your employer for any work-related injury you report. 
The report must be completed within 7 days after you 
have notified your employer of an injury. Your 
employer must give you a copy. 

Health Care Provider: Any doctor, nurse, 
chiropractor, physical therapist or other person who 
provides medical treatment. 

Insurer: An insurance company that pays workers’ 
compensation claims for your employer. It also fulfills 
many of your employer’s obligations under the 
workers’ compensation laws and represents your 
employer when disagreements occur between you and 
your employer. 

Lost Time: A phrase used to refer to the time missed 
from work because of an injury. 

Lost Wages: A phrase used to refer to earnings that 
are lost because you have missed time from work 
because of an injury. 
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Maine Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee 
Schedule: The Workers’ Compensation Board 
adopted schedule of fees that a Health Care Provider 
will be paid for medical services.  
 
Mediator: An employee of the Workers’ 
Compensation Board who holds conferences to help 
you, insurers, and your employer voluntarily resolve 
disputes. 

Memorandum of Payment: Often called a “MOP.” A 
written notice sent from your employer to you and the 
Workers’ Compensation Board to notify you that a 
payment for lost time has been made. 

Notice: When you tell your employer (which can 
mean a supervisor or someone from management) that 
you are injured and that your injury is related to your 
job, you give notice of your injury. The period in 
which you must give notice of your injury is different 
depending on your date of injury. For injury dates on 
or after January 1, 2020, you must give notice within 
60 days of your injury. For injury dates before January 
1, 2020 and on or after January 1, 2013, you must give 
notice within 30 days of your injury. 

Notice of Controversy: Often called a “NOC” 
(pronounced “knock”). A form sent from your 
employer to you and the Workers’ Compensation 
Board to let you know that your employer is denying 
your request for medical or weekly compensation 
benefits. 

Payment without prejudice: Your employer may pay 
you benefits without being certain that your injury is 
related to work. These payments are made without 
prejudice. In other words, they are voluntary. 

Petition: A written request by a party asking that an 
Administrative Law Judge hold a formal hearing. 
Common petitions include: 

Petition for Award: Used to demand payment of lost 
wages. 

Petition for Payment of Medical: Used to demand 
payment of medical bills and expenses. This is also 
known as a Petition to Fix. 
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Petition for Reinstatement: Used to demand that your 
employer give you a job. 

Petition to Remedy Discrimination: Used to demand 
relief for discrimination related to a workers’ 
compensation claim. 

Petition for Review: Used by you to request that an 
Administrative Law Judge review a suspension of 
benefits. Used by your employer to end or reduce 
payments for lost time. 

Statute of limitations: If you are injured at work, there 
is a time limit within which you must file a claim. 
This is called the statute of limitations. More 
information regarding the statute of limitations can be 
found on page 18 of this guide. 

Troubleshooter: An employee of the Workers’ 
Compensation Board whose job is to resolve disputes 
between you and your employer. The Troubleshooter 
also provides assistance and information to parties 
who use the workers’ compensation system. A 
Troubleshooter is also called a Claims Resolution 
Specialist. 

Weekly compensation benefits: If you miss time from 
work because of an injury, you will receive benefits to 
replace some of your lost wages. These payments are 
called weekly compensation benefits. 

Worker Advocate: An employee of the Workers’ 
Compensation Board who helps you prepare for 
mediation and formal hearing and also attends 
mediation and formal hearing with you. 

Workers’ Compensation Board: The state agency that 
oversees the workers’ compensation system. The 
Workers’ Compensation Board helps injured workers 
and employers resolve disputes about workers’ 
compensation benefits. 
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A SUMMARY OF 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

Workers’ Compensation is a type of insurance 
provided by your employer. It provides benefits to 
employees who suffer injuries on the job. These 
benefits include: 

 Weekly compensation for lost time from work 
because of an injury. 

 Payment of medical bills, prescriptions, and 
related costs. 

 Payment for the loss of a specific body part. 

 Payment of the cost of vocational rehabilitation 
(such as job retraining and job placement). 

 Payment of death benefits to the dependents of a 
worker whose death was work related. 

There are certain steps you must take if you are 
injured at work: 
 
 You must tell your employer (which can mean a 

supervisor or someone from management) within 
60 days of being injured at work that you 
suffered a work related injury (30 days for 
injuries before January 1, 2020). 
 

 If your employer has selected a health care 
provider, you must go to your employer's health 
care provider for the first 10 days of treatment. 

 If you want to change health care providers after 
the first 10 days, you must tell your employer 
that you are going to do that and tell them the 
name of the new health care provider. 

When you tell your employer you have been injured at 
work your employer must: 

 Fill out a First Report of Injury and give you a 
copy. 
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 Pay your claim for lost time within fourteen 
days; or, 

 Send a Notice of Controversy to you and to the 
Workers' Compensation Board if your employer 
does not want to pay your medical bills and/or 
lost time benefits. 

If there is a dispute about whether your employer must 
pay your claim: 

 A Troubleshooter will contact you and try to 
resolve the dispute. 

 If the Troubleshooter cannot resolve the dispute, 
a mediation will be held. 

 If mediation does not resolve the dispute, you 
may request a formal hearing. 

Qualified injured workers are entitled to the services 
of a Worker Advocate. Worker Advocates help 
injured workers prepare for mediation and formal 
hearing. 
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 

Reporting an Injury 
 
What should I do if I am injured at work? You 
must tell your employer (which can mean a supervisor 
or a member of management) as soon as possible that 
you have been injured. 

When must I tell my employer that I have been 
injured at work? If you were injured on or after 
January 1, 2020, you must tell your employer within 
60 days of your injury, or when you learn of your 
injury, that you have been injured. If you wait more 
than 60 days after the injury, you will lose the right to 
claim workers’ compensation benefits. 

If you were injured before January 1, 2020 and on or 
after January 1, 2013, you must tell your employer 
within 30 days of your injury. If you were injured 
before January 1, 2013, you must tell your employer 
within 90 days of your injury. 

What should my employer do when I report an 
injury? Your employer must complete a First Report 
of Injury within 7 days. Your employer must give you 
a copy of the First Report of Injury. If you lose a day’s 
work because of your injury, your employer must also 
file the First Report of Injury with the Workers’ 
Compensation Board. If your employer does not 
complete the First Report of Injury, you should call a 
regional office of the Workers’ Compensation Board 
and ask to speak to a Troubleshooter. 

 
Can my employer discriminate against me if I file a 
workers’ compensation claim? No. Your employer 
cannot discriminate against you for filing a workers’ 
compensation claim. Your employer cannot 
discriminate against you for testifying in a workers’ 
compensation claim. If you think your employer has 
discriminated against you because you filed a claim or 
testified, you can file a Petition to Remedy 
Discrimination. 

 
Medical Treatment 
 
Can I get medical help for my injury? Yes. For the 
first 10 days, your employer has the right to select a 
health care provider to treat your injury. After the first 
10 days of treatment you may choose a different health 
care provider. You do this by telling your employer that 
you wish to have a different person treat your injury. 
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Can my employer ask me to see another doctor? 
Yes. Section 207 of the Workers’ Compensation Act 
states that your employer can require you to see a 
different doctor for another opinion if you are treating 
with a health care provider of your own choice. This is 
not the same thing as an Independent Medical Exam 
under Section 312, a process that is explained later in 
this guide. 

Will my employer pay for any other medical costs? 
Yes. Your employer will pay for medicine and for 
mileage to and from your visits to health care 
providers. It will also pay for medical aids such as 
wheelchairs, crutches and hearing aids. 
 
Will my employer get my medical records? You 
should provide any note or form with work restrictions 
to your employer. The person paying workers’ 
compensation benefits will request medical notes to 
confirm your injury is work-related and whether you 
have any work restrictions. This person might also 
request medical notes related to treatment for prior 
injuries or conditions affecting the same or related 
body part. Most of the time this person will require 
this medical information before making payments. 
This person will also ask you to complete a Workers’ 
Compensation Board authorization to help get the 
medical records from your medical providers. 

What if I receive treatment outside of Maine? If you 
receive medical treatment from an out-of-state health care 
provider, the provider might not agree to accept the fees 
of the Maine Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee 
Schedule. If the provider does not accept the payment 
terms of the fee schedule, you may have to pay the 
difference between the health care provider’s charges and 
the amount due under the fee schedule.  If the health care 
provider accepts payment under the fee schedule, you 
should not have to pay for any portion of the cost of any 
provided medical services related to your injury. 

How long can I receive treatment for my injury? 
You can receive treatment until you recover from your 
injury. Your employer must pay for reasonable and 
proper treatment that is related to your injury. 

If I need treatment while my claim is being 
disputed, will my health insurer pay my bills? Yes. 
If the workers’ compensation insurer will not pay your 
claim for medical treatment, you can submit the bills  
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to your health insurer for payment. Your health 
insurer must pay the bills if the workers’ 
compensation insurer is denying your claim. Your 
health insurer can be paid back if your claim is later 
deemed to be work-related. 
 
Lost Wages 
 
What if I have to miss time from work because of my 
injury? If you miss more than 7 days of work because of 
an injury, you are entitled to receive weekly 
compensation benefits. If you lose between 7 and 13 
days, you will be paid for those days. If you miss more 
than 14 days, you will be paid for all of the days that you 
have missed. For example, if you miss 9 days of work, 
you would receive 2 days of benefits. If you missed 16 
days of work, you would receive 16 days of benefits. 
 
Will my employer pay me my full salary while I am 
out? No. Your employer will pay you 2/3 of your 
average weekly wage. This is called your compensation 
rate. There is a limit on how much you can receive, and 
the limit is different for different dates of injury. The limit 
is adjusted annually on July 1. Compensation rates vary 
depending on dates of injury.  Information about 
maximum compensation rates can be found under 
“ITEMS OF INTEREST” on the Workers’ 
Compensation Board’s website. 

 
If you were injured on or after January 1, 2020, and 
you have received 5 years of lost wage benefits 
because you are unable to work at all because of your 
injury, your compensation rate may increase but not 
beyond the maximum rate. 
 
If you were injured on or after January 1, 1993 and 
before January 1, 2013, your employer will pay you 
80% of your after-tax average weekly wage. As of 
July 1, 2019, the maximum benefit you can receive is 
$771.11 per week.  

When does my employer have to decide if it is 
going to pay me for my lost time? Your employer 
must decide whether or not to pay your lost time claim 
within 14 days of the time you tell your employer 
about your injury.  
 
How will I know if my employer is going to pay my 
claim? If your employer decides to pay your claim, it 
will send you a Memorandum of Payment. 
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My Memorandum of Payment states that my claim 
has been “accepted.” What does that mean? This 
means that your employer agrees that you have been 
injured at work and that you are entitled to benefits. 

My Memorandum of Payment states that my 
“claim is voluntary payment pending 
investigation.” What does that mean? This means 
that your employer is paying your claim even though 
it is not sure that your injury is work-related. This type 
of payment is often called “payment without 
prejudice.” 

What if my employer does not do anything for the 
first 14 days? If your employer does not dispute your 
claim within 14 days of when the employer learns 
about your injury, it must start paying you.  The 
employer may stop paying benefits before the end of 
the 45th day as long as it files a Notice of Controversy 
within that 45 day period.  If the required Notice of 
Controversy is not filed, then the employer must pay 
benefits. 
 

Return to Work 
 
Does my employer have to give me my job back? If 
you are able to return to work, and your job is still 
open, your employer must offer you your previous 
job. If your old job has been filled, or if your injury 
prevents you from doing that job, your employer must 
give you an available job that you can do even with 
your injury. Your employer must also make 
reasonable accommodations for your injury. That 
means that your employer must make changes to a job 
that will allow you to return to work, as long as the 
changes would not impose an undue hardship on your 
employer. 

What if I cannot return to my old job, and there is 
no other work at my employer’s business? If you 
cannot return to your old job because of your work 
related injury, you may be entitled to receive 
vocational rehabilitation. Vocational rehabilitation 
may include job retraining and job placement. 

What if my employer will not pay for vocational 
rehabilitation? If your employer will not voluntarily 
pay for vocational rehabilitation, you can ask the 
Workers’ Compensation Board to recommend a 
vocational rehabilitation plan. If recommended but  
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your employer refuses to pay for the plan, the 
Workers’ Compensation Board will pay for you to go 
through with the rehabilitation plan. In that case, you 
will not be responsible for any of the cost of the plan. 
The length of this plan may not extend beyond 52 
weeks except in case of a special order to extend the 
plan up to an additional 52 weeks. If you are 
participating in a rehabilitation plan ordered by the 
Workers’ Compensation Board, your benefits may not 
be reduced unless you return to work or the durational 
limit described on pages 16 and 17 is reached. 
 
What if I can work but I cannot find a job? You 
may be entitled to receive 100% of your compensation 
rate if your injury stops you from returning to work. 
You can show that your injury prevents you from 
returning to work by doing a “work search,” in other 
words, by keeping a list of the jobs that you have 
applied for but have not gotten. 

What if I can go back to work, but I cannot earn as 
much as I used to earn? If you can return to work, 
but your injury stops you from earning as much as you 
used to earn, you may receive partial benefits. Partial 
benefits are equal to 2/3 of the difference between 
your average weekly wage before the injury and your 
average weekly wages after the injury. 

If you were injured before January 1, 2013, your 
partial benefits are equal to approximately 80% of the 
difference between what your average weekly wage 
was before your injury and your earnings after you 
return to work. 

Do I have to do anything when I return to work 
after an injury? Yes. If you are receiving 
compensation for your injury, you must notify the 
Workers’ Compensation Board and the employer you 
were working for when you were injured that you 
have returned to work. You must do this within 7 days 
of returning to work. 
 

Lost Wages and Medical Benefits Ending 
 
How long can I receive benefits for lost time? 
Regardless of your date of injury, if your incapacity is 
total, you may receive benefits for as long as you are 
unable to work. Total incapacity means that you are 
unable to work at all because of your injury. 
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Partial incapacity benefits are due if you are able to 
work but still have some restrictions on what you can 
do because of your injury. If you were injured on or 
after January 1, 2020 and your incapacity is partial, 
you can receive benefits for a maximum of 624 weeks.  
If you were injured before January 1, 2020 and on or 
after January 1, 1993 and your incapacity is partial, 
you can, with an exception, receive benefits for a 
maximum of 520 weeks. If you were injured before 
January 1, 2020 and on or after January 1, 2013, the 
exception to the 520 week limit on benefits may be 
available if you have a whole person impairment 
above 18%, have worked 12 of the last 24 months of 
the 520 week period, and your earnings over the most 
recent 26 weeks are 65% or less than your pre-injury 
average weekly wage. If you were injured on or after 
January 1, 1993 and before January 1, 2013, the 
exception to the 520 week limit may be available if 
your injury has caused permanent impairment that 
exceeds the threshold established by the Board. If you 
were injured on or between January 1, 1993 and 
January 1, 1998, the permanent impairment threshold 
is 11.8%.  If you were injured on or between January 
1, 2002 and January 1, 2003, the permanent 
impairment threshold is 13.2%. If you were injured on 
or between January 1, 2004 and January 1, 2005, the 
permanent impairment threshold is 13.4%. If you were 
injured on or between January 1, 2006 and January 1, 
2013, the permanent impairment threshold is 12%. 

You can also ask the Workers’ Compensation Board to 
order your employer to continue paying benefits after 
the 624 or 520 week cap has been reached. To do this, 
you must prove that you will suffer an extreme financial 
hardship because you cannot return to work. 

If you were injured between October 17, 1991 and 
December 31, 1992, you may receive partial incapacity 
benefits for a maximum of 520 weeks. 

If you were injured between November 20, 1987 and 
October 16, 1991, you may receive partial incapacity 
benefits for a maximum of 400 weeks after you have 
reached maximum medical improvement. (Maximum 
medical improvement means the date after which 
further recovery is no longer reasonably anticipated.) 

If you were injured prior to November 20, 1987, there is 
no limit on the amount of partial incapacity benefits you 
can receive. 
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Can my employer stop paying benefits without my 
agreement? Yes. If your claim is “accepted,” your 
employer can stop paying benefits if you return to work 
for your employer or receive an increase in pay from 
your employer. Your employer may also file a Petition 
for Review to stop or reduce your weekly benefits. 

If your claim is being paid without prejudice, your 
employer can stop paying benefits if you return to 
work for your employer or receive an increase in pay 
from your employer. In addition, the employer can 
stop your benefits by filing a 21-day certificate of 
discontinuance. 

What is a 21-day certificate of discontinuance? If 
your employer is paying you without prejudice, it can 
notify you that it intends to discontinue weekly 
benefits no earlier than 21 days from the date that it 
mailed the notice to you. Your employer must state 
the reasons it is going to stop your benefits. 

What can I do if I receive a 21-day certificate of 
discontinuance? You can file a Petition for Review 
and request a provisional order. When you file these 
forms, you will be asking an Administrative Law 
Judge to decide, within about 21 days, whether or not 
your employer should be able to stop your benefits 
before a hearing is held. You can contact a regional 
office of the Workers’ Compensation Board and speak 
to a Troubleshooter who can assist you. 
 
What if my injury bothers me in the future? You 
can ask that your employer or your employer’s insurer 
pay for more medical care and lost time. You can 
make a claim only if the statute of limitations on your 
claim has not run out. 

What is the statute of limitations? The statute of 
limitations is the time limit within which you must file 
a claim for benefits. Once the statute of limitations 
expires, you cannot make a claim for further benefits. 
The statute of limitations is different for different 
dates of injury. If your employer makes a payment for 
workers’ compensation benefits within 2 years of your 
injury or within 6 years of the last time it made a 
payment, your statute of limitations will not expire for 
6 years. If it has not made a payment, you need to file 
a petition within the later of 2 years of the date injury 
or within 2 years of the date your employer filed a first 
report of injury with the Workers’ Compensation 
Board if that report was required to be filed. There are  
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certain cases where a longer period between payments 
can go by without your statute of limitations expiring. 
If you have questions about your statute of limitations, 
you should call a regional office of the Workers’ 
Compensation Board and ask to speak to a 
Troubleshooter. 

Dispute Resolution 
 
What if my employer refuses to pay my claim? If 
your employer refuses to pay your claim it will file a 
Notice of Controversy. A Notice of Controversy is 
often called a “NOC.” The Notice of Controversy 
should indicate why your employer is not agreeing to 
pay your claim. 

What happens if my employer files a Notice of 
Controversy? If your employer files a Notice of 
Controversy, your case will be sent to a 
Troubleshooter. The Troubleshooter will try to contact 
both you and your employer and try to resolve the 
disagreement. If you receive a Notice of Controversy, 
and you do not hear from a Troubleshooter within 2 
weeks, you should call a regional office of the 
Workers’ Compensation Board and ask to speak to a 
Troubleshooter. 
 
What if the Troubleshooter cannot resolve the 
dispute? If the Troubleshooter cannot resolve the 
dispute, your case will be sent to a Mediator. The 
Mediator will meet with you and a representative for 
your employer and your employer’s insurance 
company. The meeting will be held in an informal 
setting. The parties, with the Mediator’s help, will 
attempt to come to an agreement. The Mediator will 
not take sides at the mediation. Any agreements you 
reach must be reached voluntarily. 

If my case is sent to mediation, will someone be 
available to help me? Yes. There are Worker 
Advocates at each regional office who help you with 
your claims. You can receive assistance from a 
Worker Advocate if you were injured on or after 
January 1, 1993, have participated in troubleshooting, 
do not have an attorney, and request the services of a 
Worker Advocate. The addresses and phone numbers 
of the Worker Advocate offices are listed at the back 
of this guide. 

What will the Worker Advocate do? The Worker 
Advocate will help you prepare for mediation and will  
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attend mediation with you. She or he will also help  
you negotiate with your employer to resolve your 
dispute. 

Can I get a lawyer to help me? Yes. If you were 
injured on or after January 1, 1993, you will be 
responsible for paying your attorney for his or her 
services.If you were injured prior to June 30, 1985, 
your employer will pay your attorney’s fees if you 
make a claim in good faith, or if your employer begins 
the process. 
 
What if the Mediator cannot resolve the dispute? If 
the Mediator cannot resolve the dispute, either you or 
your employer can file petitions that request a formal 
hearing. There are different petitions which you can 
use to request different benefits. For example, if you 
want your employer to pay lost time benefits, then you 
would file a Petition for Award. If you want your 
employer to pay medical bills, then you will file a 
Petition for Payment of Medical and Related Services. 
These forms are available in all regional offices and 
online at www.maine.gov/wcb/. 

After an unsuccessful mediation, you, your employer, 
or an Administrative Law Judge may request an 
independent medical exam. Independent medical 
exams are explained on page 21. 

Will the Worker Advocate be able to help me after 
the mediation? Yes. If your claim goes to formal 
hearing, the Worker Advocate will help you prepare 
for the hearing and will attend the hearing with you. 

What is a formal hearing? The formal hearing is 
your opportunity to present your case to an 
Administrative Law Judge. The Administrative Law 
Judge will listen to your evidence and the evidence 
that your employer wants to present. After the 
Administrative Law Judge has heard all of the 
evidence, the Administrative Law Judge will write a 
decision. The decision is binding on you and your 
employer. 

What if I disagree with the Administrative Law 
Judge? You may appeal the decision of the 
Administrative Law Judge to the Appellate Division 
of the Workers’ Compensation Board. However, a 
finding of fact by an Administrative Law Judge is not 
subject to appeal. 
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What is an independent medical exam? When a 
request for an independent medical exam is granted, 
the Workers’ Compensation Board will ask a doctor to 
examine you and whatever records you and your 
employer want him or her to review. The independent 
medical examiner will write a report that explains 
whether or not your injury is related to work. The 
independent medical examiner’s decision will be 
binding on you and your employer unless there is clear 
and convincing evidence that the examiner’s findings 
are wrong. 

What is the difference between an independent 
medical exam under Section 312 and a medical 
exam under Section 207? An examination under 
Section 207 is an examination by a doctor that your 
employer has chosen. The doctor’s medical opinion is 
not binding on you and your employer. An 
independent medical exam is an exam under    Section 
312 by a doctor that the Workers’ Compensation 
Board has chosen. Unlike a Section 207 exam, the 
findings of an independent medical examiner are 
binding unless there is clear and convincing evidence 
that the examiner’s findings are wrong. 
 
Additional Information 

Are there penalties in the Workers’ Compensation 
Act? Yes. Employers and employees can be penalized 
for not filing required reports and forms and for 
willful violations of the Workers’ Compensation Act, 
fraud or intentional misrepresentation. Employers can 
be penalized for making late payment of benefits and 
for failure to carry mandatory workers’ compensation 
coverage. 

What is the “MAE” Program? The Office of 
Monitoring, Audit and Enforcement (MAE Program) 
actively monitors cases to ensure that all obligations 
under the Act are met. 

Where can I get more information? You can get 
more information at any one of the regional offices 
listed at the front of this guide or on the Board’s 
website: www.maine.gov/wcb/. 
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What are the addresses and phone numbers of the 
Worker Advocate offices? The addresses and phone 
numbers of the Worker Advocate offices are listed 
below. If you have not spoken to a Troubleshooter, 
please use the addresses and phone numbers listed at 
the beginning of this guide. If you have already 
spoken to a Troubleshooter, and need to contact a 
Worker Advocate, please use the addresses and phone 
numbers listed below. 

AUGUSTA 
442 Civic Center Drive, Suite 200 
71 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0071 
(207) 287-2266 
1-800-645-2266(Maine only) 

BANGOR 
106 Hogan Road, Suite 1 
Bangor, ME 04401 
(207) 941-4556 
1-888-594-4556 (Maine Only) 

CARIBOU 
One Vaughn Place 
43 Hatch Drive, Suite 140 
Caribou, Maine 04736 
(207) 492-7892 or 1-888-257-7892 (Maine only) 

LEWISTON 
36 Mollison Way 
Lewiston, Maine 04240 
(207) 753-7703 or 1-888-828-5460 (Maine only) 

PORTLAND 
1037 Forest Avenue, Suite 11 
Portland, Maine 04103 
(207) 822-0853 or 1-888-258-0853 (Maine only) 
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