
The Maine Department of Labor is an equal opportunity provider. Auxiliary aids and services are available 
to individuals with disabilities upon request. 

  April 28, 2021 

 Mixed Earners Unemployment Compensation 
Program FAQs  

 

 

What is the Mixed Earners Unemployment Compensation (MEUC) program? 

The MEUC program was enacted by the Continued Assistance for Unemployed Workers Act of 
2020 and provides a $100 supplemental benefit to certain individuals who had both 
employment and self-employment prior to becoming unemployed during the pandemic. The 
program is payable for weeks ending January 2, 2021, through September 4, 2021.  

MEUC is intended for claimants who qualify for regular unemployment compensation (UC) 
benefits and had at least $5,000 in net self-employment income. Self-employment income may 
not typically be used to determine eligibility for unemployment benefits. However, under the 
MEUC program, claimants who have sufficient net self-employment wages may be eligible for 
the added $100 weekly benefit amount. 

The Maine Department of Labor will begin to accept and process MEUC applications on April 
29, 2021. The last date to submit a MEUC application will be November 3, 2021. 

Individuals receiving Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) are not eligible for MEUC 
benefits because their self-employment income has already been taken into consideration.  

What you need to know about MEUC: 

• MEUC Program is payable for weeks ending January 2, 2021, through September 4, 2021. 

• The MEUC $100 supplemental payment is in addition to the $300 Federal Pandemic 
Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) supplemental payment and the underlying 
unemployment benefit payment.  

• Unlike the FPUC program, the MEUC program has its own eligibility requirements; 
individuals are not automatically eligible for MEUC if they are eligible for UC.  

• MEUC is available to individuals receiving certain unemployment insurance benefits who 
received at least $5,000 of net self-employment income in the most recent taxable year 
ending prior to the individual’s application for regular Unemployment Compensation. 

 If regular Unemployment Compensation initial claim is filed during calendar year 
2020, then self-employment income from tax year 2019 is used. If the regular UI 
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initial claim is filed during calendar year 2021, then self-employment income from 
tax year 2020 is used. 

• Payments to eligible claimants will be retroactive. If eligible, you would receive MEUC for 
each week January 2 through September 4, 2021, for which you received unemployment 
benefits, including Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC), if otherwise 
eligible for a benefit payment.  

• An individual must be eligible to receive at least one dollar ($1) of underlying 
unemployment benefits to receive the $100 MEUC for that week. 

• MEUC is taxable income. 

• MEUC is subject to child support deductions. 

• FPUC fraud and overpayment requirements and overpayment offsets apply to MEUC. 

 
Am I eligible?  
 
MEUC is available to individuals receiving certain unemployment insurance benefits who 
received at least $5,000 of net self-employment income in the most recent taxable year ending 
prior to the individual’s application for unemployment compensation.  

• MEUC is a federal program and employers are not charged for MEUC benefits 

Do I need to apply for MEUC? 
 
If you think you meet the requirements outlined above, you must submit an application for 
MEUC so that we can determine if you are eligible. Only one application is needed; you do not 
need to apply each week. If eligible, you would receive MEUC for each week January 2 through 
September 4, 2021, for which you received unemployment benefits, if otherwise eligible.  
 
How do I apply for MEUC? 
 
The Maine Department of Labor is required to provide all potential eligible individuals for 
MEUC with a notice and instruction by mail and in their ReEmployME account correspondence.  
Those who may be eligible for the program have been notified by Bureau of Unemployment 
Compensation (BUC) with instructions on how to apply for the MEUC program benefit. 
Claimants may also review the MEUC claimant guide for a step-by-step instruction of how to 
apply. 
 

What is acceptable documentation to determine eligibility for MEUC? 

The documentation must show net self-employment income of at least $5,000 during the most 
recent taxable year in which you filed your unemployment claim. (If you filed your initial 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.maine.gov%2Funemployment%2Fmeuc%2F&data=04%7C01%7CJessica.L.Picard%40maine.gov%7Ca049eb502ab04986ba3208d90a81ec83%7C413fa8ab207d4b629bcdea1a8f2f864e%7C0%7C0%7C637552375405866674%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=s9erb2Q8A4ABkhW3hR2qk8PVeDJAqjlPdVg%2B1MUe3cE%3D&reserved=0
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unemployment claim in 2020, provide your 2019 tax year documentation. If you filed your 
initial claim in 2021, provide your 2020 tax year documentation.) 

Acceptable documentation of self-employment income could include, but is not limited to:  

• Federal form 1040 AND: 
 Schedule C – Profit or Loss from Business – Sole Proprietorship  

 Line 31 will be used to determine net income 
 Schedule F – Profit or Loss from Farming  

 Line 34 will be used to determine net income 
 Schedule J – Income Averaging for Farmers or Fishermen  

 Line 22 will be used to determine net income 
 Schedule K-1 – Partners share of income, deductions, credits  

 Line 14 will be used to determine net income 
• Income statement (may be pulled from accounting software such as Quick Books), 

which lists income and expenses, as well as net income, combined with a secondary 
document such as a 1099-MISC or 1099-NEC. 

• If income tax return is not available (if individual has not yet filed it), submission of 
alternative documentation is permissible. Acceptable alternative documentation 
includes the following (when submitting any of the below, please note they need to 
clearly indicate net income for the Department to be able to make a determination on 
eligibility):  
 pay-check stubs  
 bank receipts  
 business records  
 ledgers  
 signed contracts  
 invoices 
 billing statements  

Note:  When determining MEUC eligibility, if there is a question about whether 
documentation substantiates self-employment income or whether there is an employer – 
employee relationship (e.g. income included in wage records), then state Unemployment 
Compensation law and policy will be the basis for making this determination. 

Any MEUC payment made, which is later determined to be paid as a result of false a 
statement or fraudulent documentation will be considered an overpayment. The law 
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provides penalties for making false statements or concealing material facts to obtain or 
increase benefits.  

 

The following is a slide from the U.S. DOL’s Employment and Training Administration 
PowerPoint on UIPL 15-20, Change 3 which outlines Unemployment Compensation Program 
Tracks 1 and 2. 

 

Please continue to check www.maine.gov/unemployment for updates. If you have any 
questions, contact our Unemployment Claims Center at 1-800-593-7660. 

 

 

 

  

http://www.maine.gov/unemployment

