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Dear Holders of Unclaimed Property, 

As State Treasurer, I thank you for your help in returning unclaimed property to its rightful owner in 
Maine. Your report of unclaimed property is the first and most important step to finding the owners. 
We are always trying to find new ways to make filing your annual report as easy as possible. That’s 
why, with the Legislature’s support, we have added a new position specifically assigned to assist 
holders in understanding requirements and reporting. You may always contact them at 
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov or calling (207) 624-7463.  

In this booklet, I hope you will find helpful instructions and useful forms to guide you through this 
process.  Please check the table of contents for a quick reference to specific 
types of unclaimed property your business may be holding. Most reports are 
due November 1, but there are some steps that must begin a few months 
before that. Once you have filed your report, my office catalogs those assets 
and publishes the list on the web for all to search 
(https://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov/). Owners or heirs can search for 
lost accounts that were forgotten or misplaced and even file a claim 
electronically.  

This year, our office returned more than $28.4 million back to rightful owners. 
Without your diligence, record keeping, and reporting to us, that would not 
have been possible. Thank you for your continued effort. Be sure to search our database for 
financial assets we may be holding in your organization’s name. If you have any questions, please 
feel free to contact us.  

 

 
 

Henry Beck 

 

                              

Office of the State Treasurer 
39 State House Station 39 
Augusta ME 04333-0039 



 
 

Maine State Treasurer 
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Introduction 
 

The Office of the State Treasurer is the custodian of Mainer’s 
unclaimed property. It is our mission to return all property held by 
the State to its rightful owners or their heirs. 
 

The Treasurer’s Office is responsible for ensuring compliance with 
Maine’s Uniform Unclaimed Property Act:  Title 33, Chapter 45. 
The statute requires organizations to review their records annually 
for funds, securities and safekeeping that remain unclaimed and 
have passed their assigned dormancy period. 
  
Any business association is required by law to file an annual 
Holder Report. A business association is defined as:  
 

 “…a corporation, joint stock company, investment company, 
partnership, unincorporated association, joint venture, 
limited liability company, business trust, trust company, 
land bank, safe deposit company, safekeeping depository, 
financial organization, insurance company, mutual fund, 
utility or other business entity consisting of one or more 
persons, whether or not for profit.”  
 

A holder who fails to report, pay, or deliver property within the time 
prescribed by law may be assessed 18% interest from the date the 
property should have been reported. In addition, the state may 
impose penalties of $200 per day. 
 

Our office requires all holders of unclaimed property to file an 
electronic report annually through our website, 
https://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov/, using our online upload 
tool. The tool can also be used by organizations that have no 
property to report by filing a ‘negative report.’  
 

The goal of this manual is to assist holders with the filing of 
unclaimed property. Additional information is available on our 
website, along with relevant forms. For questions not covered in 
this guide, our Holder Outreach Specialist is available by email at 
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov or by phone: (207) 624-7463. 
 

 
Holder - The entity or 
person who controls the 
unclaimed property until it is 
transferred to the owner or 
the state on behalf 
of the owner. 
 
Holder Report - Annual 
filing required by state law 
by a business that is 
holding funds belonging to 
another individual, or entity, 
and those funds have 
reached the end of an 
assigned dormancy period. 
The funds can be held in 
the form of an uncashed 
check, dormant bank 
account, credit balance, 
security account, unpaid 
safe deposit box contents, 
etc. 
 
Abandoned/Unclaimed 
Property - 
Intangible property or 
safekeeping that is 
unclaimed by its rightful 
owner after a significant 
period of time. Unclaimed 
property law does not 
include real estate, animals 
and vehicles. 
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What’s New? 
 

In FY20, the Office of the State Treasurer adopted a version of the Revised Uniform 
Unclaimed Property Act (RUUPA) with some change from the old statute and the act itself.  
Please read over the act for changes applying to your organization or contact 
up.holderinquiry@maine.gov to ask for the PowerPoint of changes.   

 Gift Obligations are no longer reportable to Maine’s Unclaimed Property and need to be held 
as a liability of the business until the time the obligation has been redeemed by the owner. 

 A Gift Obligation exception is made for a closing business looking to release the liabilities to 
the State of Maine.  

 

 

 

 

Statistics FY24 
 

Total Unclaimed Funds in Maine (1979-2024)  $333.3M as of 6/30/2024 

Total Number of Accounts Available   Over 6.0 million 

Cash Received FY24 (7/1/23-6/30/24)   $65.4 million 

Claims Paid FY24 (7/1/23-6/30/24)   68,384 claims; $28.4 million 

Average Claim Amount     $412.00 

Largest Personal Claim Paid FY24    $302,198.00 
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Quick Reference Guide 
Deadlines & Requirements 
 

Reporting & Payment Deadlines 
 

Life Insurers and Stored-Value Obligations: 
May 1st 
 

All Other Holders November 1st  
 

Due Diligence: 
 

The legal notification period which is not more 
than 180 days (May 1) or less than 60 days 
(September 1) before the report is filed. 
 

Reporting Requirements:  
 

All reports must be submitted electronically at 
https://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov.  
 

Acceptable file types are: .HRS, .RPT, and 
.TXT. If you are sending an .MED file, please 
rename it to .TXT. DO NOT rename an Excel 
file to .TXT format. 
 

Payment: 
 

Maine accepts two forms of payment, ACH-
Debit via PayMaine and by check made 
payable to: 
  

Office of the State Treasurer 
Unclaimed Property/Holder Report 
39 State House Station 
Augusta ME 04333-0039 
 

Contact Information: 
 

Holder report inquiries: 

up.holderinquiry@maine.gov  
 

Phone: (207)624-7463 
 

To file your report:  

https://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov/ 

Special Considerations 
 

Aggregate Reporting: 
 

Properties of less than fifty ($50) dollars may 
be reported in the aggregate, only if the owner 
is Unknown.   
 

Gift Obligations Reporting: 
 

No reporting is due for obligations last active in 
calendar year 2022 or later.  
 

Negative Reports: 
 

All Maine organizations are required to file an 
annual report.  If no properties are found during 
an annual records review; a negative report 
should be filed.    
 

Safekeeping/Safe Deposit Boxes 
Reporting: 
 

Information on the contents of boxes located in 
Maine must be reported by November 1st with 
your electronic report.  Safe deposit box 
contents or safekeeping items must be remitted 
no later than the following June 1st. 
 

Reciprocal Reporting: 
 

If you are a business located and incorporated 
in the State of Maine, you may be able to file 
ONE Unclaimed Property Report with Maine’s 
State Treasurer.  Please confirm with the other 
state that they allow such reporting. Dormancy 
periods, due diligence requirements and all 
other laws of the owner’s state apply. Maine 
requires the amount to be under $1000 and/or 
less than 10 properties and will not accept 
stock for out-of-state owners or safekeeping 
properties held outside the state.  
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Overview  

1 
Identify 
Identify the 
Unclaimed 

Property you 
hold 

You have 
no property 

to report 

You have 
property to 

report 

File a 
‘Negative 
Report’ 

2 
Notify 

Try to locate the 
owners of the 

Unclaimed 
Property 

3 
Report 
Submit an 
electronic 

report 

4 
Remit 

 
Submit 

payment 
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Overview (Cont.) 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Identify 
Identify the Unclaimed Property that you hold. This includes any 
type of outstanding check, savings and checking accounts inactive 
for three (3) years, unclaimed wages, dividends, credit balances, 
stored value cards and any other property as categorized in the 
Dormancy Periods table on pages 10-12. 

Notify 

Try to locate the owners of the Unclaimed Property that you hold.  
Notification must be sent for any property valued at $50 or more. Do 
this by sending a letter to the owners at their last known address 
during the legal notification period (Due Diligence Period) which is 
not more than 180 days or less than then 60 days before the report 
is filed. See the sample due diligence letter in this booklet. 

Report 

All reports must be sent electronically using our online upload tool. 
The State of Maine also accepts files created by several third-party 
unclaimed property companies, such as Sovos & Avenu Insights. If 
you have no properties to report, you can still use the online 
upload tool to submit a 'Negative Report.' If you have a relatively 
small number of properties to report and wish to enter them 
manually, you can use our Manual Online Reporting tool. 

Remit 
Payment 

The State of Maine accepts two forms of payment: 
 

-To submit your payment via ACH-Debit, visit PayMaine. Please 
include your TIN in the ‘Reference’ field.   
 

-Checks should be made payable to: Treasurer State of Maine. 
Remember to include the printed confirmation page found at the end 
of the online upload tool. If you are using a third party, please 
include the corresponding summary sheet that includes your FEIN 
and amount reported and remitted. 
 

Checks and forms should be mailed to:                                                   
Office of the State Treasurer                                                                     
Unclaimed Property Holder Report                                                                         
39 State House Station                                                                                        
Augusta ME 04333-0039 
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Identify Unclaimed Property 
 

Policies 
Review your organizations policies surrounding the reporting process, for example, the 
maintenance of outstanding checks lists, void/replacing checks, stale dated checks, account 
inactivity, deceased customers/clients etc.  

Possession  
Determine if your organization is in possession of property that belongs to a resident of Maine.   

 
 Companies of all sizes and industries generate potential unclaimed property liabilities 
 Reviewing the general ledger is key in determining a company’s exposure to the 

many property types 
 Analysis includes both aged items on the books and items that were written off or 

never applied 

Review 
Review appropriate financial accounts/ledgers and identify any accounts potentially holding 
unclaimed property. 
 

 

 Identify all cash related accounts and other miscellaneous income, write off or 
suspended accounts including predecessor/successor accounts. 
 

 Vendor payments, Expense Payments, Payroll, Refunds etc. 
 

 Determine the bank accounts/reports associated with each of these accounts and 
review accordingly. 
 

 Aged checks on outstanding check lists 
 Stop/Void checks that were not reissued 
 Uncashed or refunded items from third-party administrators 

 

 Review Contracts with service providers and understand who is responsible for the 
review/reporting of aged items. 

 

 Payroll, Insurance, rebates, etc. 
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Identify Unclaimed Property (Cont.) 
 

Industry Specific Review 

 Financial Institutions 
 

 Checking and Savings Accounts 

 Matured CD’s 

 Security Deposits 

 Trust Accounts 

 Unidentified Deposits 

 

 Health Care 
 

 Patient Credit Balances 

 Unidentified Remittances 

 Self-insurance Payments 

 Debit/Interest Checks 

 
 

 Retail/Manufacturing 
 

 Customer Refunds 

 Unredeemed Stored Value Cards 

 Commission Payments 

 Worker’s Compensation Checks 

 

 Utilities 
 

 Utility Deposits 

 Refunds/Rebates 

 Membership Fees 

 Court Ordered Refunds 

 Royalties 

 Special Assessment Fees 
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Identify Unclaimed Property (Cont.) 
 

Areas of Accounts Receivable Exposure 

Stale Dated Credits 

 Revolving vs Stand Alone Credit 
 

 Stand Alone Credits are more likely to go unclaimed as owner is usually not 
aware of the credit balance 

 Both considered unclaimed when aged 3 years 
 

 Authenticating the Credit 
 

 Abandonment begins the date the credit was first created 
 Is the credit balance owed to another business entity? 
 Is the credit an accounting or clerical error? 
 Can credit be applied to outstanding balance or prior bad debt? 
 Can the owner be located, and the amount refunded? 
 Document and retain information supporting the resolution 

 
Write-offs 

 Small Balance Write-offs 
 

 The law does not allow write-offs of small credit balances to income or to offset 
an unrelated customer’s debit balances 

 
 Determination of Net Credit Write-Offs 

 

 All debits/credits related to customer receipts should be aggregated – Isolating 
transactions can be tricky 

 Transactions may cross several business units/entities, numerous write-off 
accounts, and multiple related customer accounts 

 Maintain detailed journal entry explanations and utilize transaction codes to 
help simplify the process 
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Identify Unclaimed Property (Cont.) 
 

Unapplied Cash/Deposits 

 What are Unapplied Cash/Deposits? 
 

 Payments received by a company that cannot be matched to an account and 
allocated to a liability account for review 

 Reasons may include recoveries for an in-active customer, incorrect account 
number/address or customer name 

 Common Account Names include “Unapplied Cash”, “Unidentified 
Remittances” and “Unapplied Payments” 

 Transactions are sometimes posted to a dummy customer account 
 

 Why are They Often Overlooked? 
 

 Amount falls below materiality threshold 
 Payments generally do not appear on aging reports 
 Payments held with intention of future matching 

 
 Who is Most Affected? 

 

 Financial Institutions – overnight deposits, mail deposits, and missing deposit 
slips 

 Insurance/Utilities/Hospitals – payments made by 3rd parties 
 Any company with a large volume of direct billings to customers 

 

Suspense Accounts 

 What are Suspense Accounts? 
 

 Accounts used to temporarily carry receipt or disbursement discrepancies 
pending their analysis and permanent classification 
 

 Determination of Suspense Account Liability 
 

 Understand & Monitor Suspense Codes 
 Regularly pull reports and review based on Production Date 
 Continuously work to minimize suspense balances 
 At the time an interest is presumed abandoned, any other property right 

accrued or accruing to the owner as a result of the interest is also presumed 
abandoned 



10 
 

Property Codes with Dormancy Periods 
 

Code Description Years   Code Description Years 
 Account Balances     College Savings  

AC01  Checking Accounts 3   CS01  Cash 3 
AC02  Savings Accounts 3   CS02  Mutual Funds 3 
AC03  Matured CD or Savings Certificate  ✫   CS03  Securities 3 
AC04  Christmas Club Funds 3    Court Funds  
AC05  Money on Deposit to Secure Funds 3   CT01  Escrow Funds 1 
AC06  Security Deposits 3   CT02  Condemnation Awards 1 
AC07  Unidentified Deposits 3   CT03  Missing Heirs’ Funds 1 
AC08  Suspense Accounts 3   CT04  Suspense Accounts 1 
AC20  Stored-Value Obligations  3*   CT05  Other Court Deposits 1 
AC21  Other Accounts 3   CT06  Public Aid Child Support Checks 1 
AC50  Other Account Balances Owing 3   CT09  Court Ordered Refunds 1 
AC80  Non-Interest Bearing Savings 3   CT10  Restitution 1 
AC81  Non-Interest Bearing Club Acct 3   CT11  Bail Refund 1 
AC99  Aggregate Account Balances Due 3   CT21  Other Court/State/Municipal Gov. 1 
 Official Checks    CT98  Intestate Succession to State 1 
CK01  Cashier’s Checks 3   CT99  Aggregate Government Property 1 
CK02  Certified Checks 3    Health Savings Plan  
CK03  Registered Checks & Bank MO’s 3   HS01  Health Savings Account 3 
CK04  Treasurer’s Checks 3   HS02  Health Savings Account Investment 3 
CK05  Drafts 3    Insurance  
CK06  Warrants – Uncashed State Checks 1   IN01  Individual Policy Benefits or Claims 3 
CK07  Money Orders – Non Bank 7   IN02  Group Policy Benefits or Claim 3 
CK08  Traveler’s Checks 15   IN03  Proceeds Due Beneficiaries 3 
CK09  Foreign Exchange Checks 3   IN04  Proceeds from Matured Policies 3 
CK10  Expense Checks 3   IN05  Premium Refunds – Individual 3 
CK11  Pension Checks 3   IN06  Unidentified Remittances 3 
CK12  Credit Checks or Memos 3   IN07  Other Amounts Due Under Policy 3 
CK13  Vendor Checks 3   IN08  Agent Credit Balances 3 
CK14  Checks Written Off to Income 3   IN09  Drafts Unpresented for Payment 3 
CK15  Other Outstanding Official Checks 3   IN21  Other Insurance Related Property 3 
CK16  CD Interest Checks 3   IN77  Limiting Age 3 
CK17  Bills of Exchange 3   IN99  Aggregate Insurance Property 3 
CK21  Other Checks 3      
CK99  Aggregate Uncashed Checks 3      
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 Property Codes with Dormancy Periods (Cont.) 
 

Code Description Years   Code Description Years 

 
Individual Retirement 
Accounts  

   Miscellaneous Continued  

IR01  Cash 3   MS12 Unredeemed Gift Certificates/Gift 
Cards 2** 

IR02  Mutual Funds 3   MS13  Unclaimed Loan Collateral 3 
IR03  Securities 3   MS14  Pension & Profit Sharing Plans 3 
IR05  Cash (Roth) 3   MS15  Dissolution or Liquidation 1 
IR06  Mutual Funds (Roth) 3   MS16  Miscellaneous Outstanding Checks 3 
IR07  Securities (Roth) 3   MS17  Miscellaneous Intangible Property 3 
 Maine Specific    MS18  Suspense Liabilities 3 
ME01  Lawyer Trust Account (IOLTA) 3   MS19  Deposit Rent/Lease/Unused Svcs 3 
 Mineral Proceeds    MS99  Aggregate Miscellaneous Property 3 

MI01  Net Revenue Interests 3    Securities  
MI02  Royalties 3   SC01  Dividends 3 
MI03  Overriding Royalties 3   SC02  Bond Interest Payments 3 
MI04  Production Payments 3   SC03  Principal Payments 3 
MI05  Working Interests 3   SC04  Equity Payments 3 
MI06  Bonuses 3   SC05  Profits 3 
MI07  Delay Rentals 3   SC06  Funds Paid to Purchase Shares 3 
MI08  Shut-In Royalties 3   SC07  Funds for Stocks & Bonds 3 
MI09  Minimum Royalties 3   SC08  Stock Returned by Post Office 3 
MI21  Other Mineral/Royalty Property 3   SC09  Cash for Fractional Shares 3 

MI99  Aggregate Mineral/Royalty 
Payments 

3   SC10  Unexchanged Stock of Successor 3 

 Miscellaneous    SC11  Other Certificates of Ownership 3 
MS01  Wages, Payroll, Salary 1   SC12  Underlying Shares 3 
MS02  Commissions 1   SC13  Funds for Liquidation of Stock 3 
MS03  Worker’s Compensation Benefits 3   SC14  Debentures 3 
MS04  Payment for Goods and Services 3   SC15  US Government Securities 3 
MS05  Customer Overpayments 3   SC16  Mutual Funds 3 
MS06  Unidentified Remittances 3   SC17  Warrants or Rights 3 
MS07  Unrefunded Overcharges 3   SC18  Matured Bond Principal 3 
MS08  Accounts Payable 3   SC19  Dividend Reinvestment Plans 3 
MS09  Credit Balances/Accounts Receivable 3   SC20  Credit Balances 3 
MS10  Discounts Due 3   SC21  Distributions – Multi Fund A 3 
MS11  Refunds/Rebates Due 3   VC02 Virtual Currency - Liquidated 3 
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 Property Codes with Dormancy Periods (Cont.) 
 

 

Code Description Years    Trust Property  

 Securities Continued    TR01  Paying Agent Accounts 3 
SC22  Convertible Securities 3   TR02  Undelivered/Uncashed Dividends 3 
SC23  Preferred Securities 3   TR03  Funds Held in Fiduciary Capacity 3 
SC24  Fixed Income Securities 3   TR04  Escrow Accounts 3 
SC25  Real Estate Based Securities 3   TR05  Trust Vouchers 3 
SC26  Direct Registration Securities 3   TR06  Pre-Need Funeral Plans 3 
SC27  Book Entry Shares 3   TR12  Other Trust Funds 3 
SC30  Bond Principal & Interest 3   TR21  Other Trust Property 3 
SC31  Cash for Unexchanged Shares 3   TR99  Aggregate Trust Property 3 
SC32  Stock Liquidation/Redemption 3    Utilities  
SC42  Municipal Bond Interest Payment 1   UT01  Utility Deposits 1 
SC43  Municipal Bond Principal Payment 1   UT02  Membership Fees 3 

SC44  Muni Bond Principal & Interest 
Payments 1   UT03  Refunds or Rebates 1 

SC97  Demutualization 2   UT04  Capital Credit Distributions 3 

SC98  Stock and Related Cash 3   UT05  Utility Gift Certificates/Phone 
Cards 2 

SC99  Aggregate Securities Related 3   UT50  Other Utility Monies Owing 3 
 Safe Deposit/Safekeeping    UT99  Aggregate Utility Property 3 

SD01  Safe Deposit Box Contents 3    All Other Property  
SD02  Other Safekeeping Contents 3   ZZZZ  Properties Not Listed Above 3 
SD03  Other Tangible Property 3   ZZ01  Resolution Trust Company 1 
SD04  Unclaimed Loan Collateral 3   ZZ02  Housing and Urban Development 1 
SD99  Other Safekeeping 3   ZZZZ Properties Not Listed Above 3 

 

✫ AC03 Automatically renewable CDs are deemed matured on its initial date of maturity unless the 
apparent owner consented in a record on file with the holder to renewal at or about the time of the 
renewal. 

*AC20 Originally labeled and still includes Prefunded Bank Cards. Dormancy as of 12/31 for report 
due 5/1. No expiration permitted. Nonactivated stored-value obligations or other nonactivated 
electronic medium that require activation for use, one (1) year after funds would have otherwise 
first been available to the owner. 

**MS12 Only Reportable for a closing business releasing their full liability to the State. No 
expiration permitted. See Title 33, Chapter 45 §2067.  
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When to Report  
 

General Business and miscellaneous entities 

Issue or Last Activity Date 3-Year Dormancy 2-Year Dormancy 1-Year Dormancy* 

7/1/2019 thru 6/30/2020 November 1, 2023 November 1, 2022 November 1, 2021 
7/1/2020 thru 6/30/2021 November 1, 2024 November 1, 2023 November 1, 2022 
7/1/2021 thru 6/30/2022 November 1, 2025 November 1, 2024 November 1, 2023 
7/1/2022 thru 6/30/2023 November 1, 2026 November 1, 2025 November 1, 2024 

 
*Includes all properties held by a court, government, governmental subdivision, agency or instrumentality 
regardless of property’s individual dormancy. 

 

Life Insurers or Stored-Value Obligations Issuers 

Issue or Last Activity Date 3-Year Dormancy 2-Year Dormancy 1-Year Dormancy 

1/1/2019 thru 12/31/2019 May 1, 2023 May 1, 2022 May 1, 2021 
1/1/2020 thru 12/31/2020 May 1, 2024 May 1, 2023 May 1, 2022 
1/1/2021 thru 12/31/2021 May 1, 2025 May 1, 2024 May 1, 2023 
1/1/2022 thru 12/31/2022 May 1, 2026 May 1, 2025 May 1, 2024 
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Notify Owners 
 

Due Diligence 
The holder of property presumed abandoned must send written notice (see sample letter on the 
following page) to the apparent owner, no more than 180 days or less than 60 days before filing the 
report, stating that the holder is in possession of property if: 

 The value of the property is $50.00 dollars or more 
 

 The Holder has an address on record that is not documented as inaccurate 

 

Notification Period 

 Life Insurers and Stored-Value Issuers  
 

 Reporting Period: Jan 1 – Dec 31 (inactivity year) 
 

 Legal Notification Period: Nov 1 – March 1 (report year) 
 
 Report and Remittance Due: May 1  
 

 

 All Other Holders 
 
 Reporting Period: July 1 – June 30 
 
 Legal Notification Period: May 1 – September 1 
 
 Report and Remittance Due: November 1 

 

Due Diligence Results 
 Property Deemed Unclaimed or Abandoned 

 

 Due Diligence letter returned as undeliverable 
 No response from the owner of the property, except noted in §2062-§2068 

 

 Property Not Deemed Unclaimed or Abandoned 
 

 Owners send reply or contact Holder regarding their property 
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Sample Due Diligence Letter 
 

July 1, YEAR 

Owner Name 

123 Main Street 

City Name, State, Zip 

RE: (Property Description) 

Notice: The State of Maine requires us to notify you that your property may be transferred to the custody of 
the State Treasurer if you do not contact us before (Insert date 30 days after notice, but before the report 
due date). 

We are holding unclaimed property of $___________ due to the person listed above. The owner may claim 
this property by contacting us at the address and/or phone number listed below. 

Holder Information:  Company Name 

Address 

Phone Number 

If we do not hear from you before (insert the last date by which the company can remove items for refunds 
before reporting to the State), Maine law requires us to submit this property to the State Treasurer’s Office by 
__________________ of each year. The State Treasurer will hold this property forever or until the owner 
claims it.  Property that is not legal tender of the United States may be sold by the administrator.  

Sincerely, 

(Company Contact Name) 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
PLEASE SIGN BELOW TO ACKNOWLEDGE OWNERSHIP OF THE ABOVE LISTED FUNDS 

 
Signed___________________________________________________Date________________ 

Address______________________________ City _______________ State_____ Zip________ 

Action to be taken (PLEASE CHECK ONE) 

O Reissue Check  O Update Account  O Close Account and Send Check   O Other (explain) 

(original is/is not enclosed)  (passbook is/is not enclosed)  (passbook is/is not enclosed)    _________________  

            _________________ 

COMMENTS: 
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Report Unclaimed Property 
 

Once your organization has identified dormant items and completed the due diligence steps, the 
next step is to report the unclaimed property to Maine. This can be done online at 
https://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov. There are two primary types of reports:  

Annual/Holder Report 
Annual Report filing is required by state law by a business who is holding funds belonging to 
another individual, or entity, and those funds have reached the end of a determined dormancy 
period.  The funds can be held in the form of an uncashed check, dormant bank account, credit 
balance, security account, unpaid safe deposit box contents, etc. The annual report is due each 
year on the same date depending on your industry: 

Life Insurers and Stored-Value Cards: May 1st 

All Other Holders: November 1st  

Special Considerations (These situations are also detailed in the following pages) 
Aggregate Reporting 
Properties of less than fifty ($50) dollars may be reported in the aggregate, if the owner is 
Unknown.  Maine advertises all amounts over ten ($10) dollars and encourages Holders to 
provide owner information for all properties. 

Gift Obligations Reporting  
No reporting is due for obligations last active in calendar year 2022 or later. A holder 
reimbursement of a previously remitted gift obligation may be claimed at any time after the 
obligation is redeemed at the holder. 

Reciprocal Reporting 
If your business or entity is located and incorporated in the State of Maine but have items 
reportable to another state, you may be able to file one Unclaimed Property Report with 
Maine’s State Treasurer. Confirm with the other state that they allow such reporting. While 
dormancy periods, due diligence requirements and all other laws of the owner’s state apply, 
Maine will transfer those properties to its respective state. Maine will not, however, accept 
stock for out-of-state owners or safekeeping properties held outside of the State of Maine.  
Remittance of more than 10 properties or over $1,000 for other states, will result in other 
state property being returned to the holder to report and remit directly to those states. 

Safekeeping/Safe Deposit Boxes Reporting 
Information on the contents of boxes located in Maine must be reported by November 1st 
with your electronic annual report.  Safe deposit box contents or safekeeping items must be 
remitted no later than the following June 1st. 

Securities/Stocks 
Securities should be transferred to the state’s custodian. The instructions can be found in 
the securities/stocks section on page 23.  
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Negative Report 
All organizations are required to file an annual report.  If no properties are found during an annual 
records review; a negative report should be filed. A Negative Report can be quickly completed 
online and serves as a record that your organization is complying with Unclaimed Property Law. To 
file a negative report, select File a Report, complete the Primary Holder information, and be sure to 
choose “Yes” for “This is a Negative Report.”  

https://www.maineunclaimedproperty.gov/app/reporting-guidelines 

Information Required to file a Holder Report 
 Holder Name and any d/b/a’s 
 Employer Identification Number (EIN) 
 Holder Address 
 Contact Person 

 Name, title, phone number and email address of the person who supplies the 
information 

 State of Incorporation 
 Type of Business 
 Report Year 

 The year you are reporting 
 Owner Information (If known) 

 Full name including middle name and suffixes (Sr., Jr., III) 
 Complete Mailing Address 
 Personal Identifiers 

 Social Security Number 
 Date of birth/death 
 Account Numbers 

 Date of Last Contact 
 Amount held 

 

Reporting Formats 
All reports must be in NAUPA format and be submitted electronically using our online upload tool.  
If you have no properties to report, you can still use the online upload tool to submit a “Negative 
Report.” 

 Third Party Unclaimed Property Vendors 
 

The State of Maine accepts files created by several third-party unclaimed property 
companies, such as: 

 Avenu Insights-HRS Pro 
 SOVOS-UPExchange 

 

 State of Maine Unclaimed Property manual online reporting tool   
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Reporting Errors 
 

There are numerous errors that will cause a report to be rejected. A report may be rejected even 
after a successful submission through the website for the following errors. 

 

 Submitting a file in any format other than .txt, hrs or rpt. 
 

 Submitting an encrypted HDE file that was converted to txt 
 

 The Owner Last Name field is empty (use “UNKNOWN” if name is not known). 
 

 The Owner Last Name field starts with a space 
 

 The Property Type Code field is empty or invalid 
 

 The Owner Relationship Code field is empty or invalid 
 

 The Owner Type Code field is empty or invalid 
 

 The Starting Transaction Date missing or in an invalid format 
 

 Shares are reported, and the CUSIP is not valid 
 

 The shares remitted in the report do not match the actual shares remitted to the state 
 

 The Addition Code field is empty, and an addition amount is included in the property record 
 

 The Deduction Code field is empty, and a deduction amount is included in the property 
record 
 

 The Summary Record Counts and Summary Values do not match the detailed property 
counts and values 
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Reporting Property to Other States 
 

Reciprocal Reporting 

If you are a business located and incorporated in the State of Maine, you may be able to file ONE 
Unclaimed Property Report with Maine’s State Treasurer. In each case, you must confirm with the 
other state that they allow such reporting as some states, such as New York, Delaware, and 
California do not. In all cases, the dormancy periods, due diligence requirements and all other laws 
of the owner’s state apply. Maine’s Unclaimed Property Administrator will report the properties 
belonging to out-of-state owners to the appropriate state in June.  Maine will not accept stock for 
out-of-state owners nor safekeeping that was held in another state.  

 If you are holding less than $1,000 and/or 10 items for owners in a state other than Maine 
and wish to file these items with the State of Maine, follow these steps: 
 

 Verify with the state of address that it is permissible to report to Maine (Property still 

legally belongs to the state of last known address) 

 Check the dormancy period for the state of last known address (Penalties and 

interest may be assessed by the legal state if they receive the property late.  Fees 

assessed are not the responsibility of the State of Maine if the property was not 

remitted to the correct state initially, or the holder did not get approval from the legal 

state) 

 

*If the state of address does not allow reciprocal reporting you must report directly to that state. 

*Stock properties MUST be reported directly to the state of address. 

*Safe deposit boxes MUST be reported to the state where they are held. 

*Remittance of more than 10 properties or over $1,000 for other states, will result in other state 
property being returned to the holder to report and remit directly to those states. 
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Reporting Safe Deposit Box Contents 
 

 Safe deposit box contents must be reported to the state where the contents are held. 
Information on the contents of boxes located in Maine must be reported by November 1 
with your electronic Annual Holder Report. 

 

Information to Report 
 

 Owner Information - Be sure to include any information that can aid in identification 
 

 Full name including middle name and suffixes (Sr., Jr., III) in the appropriate fields. 
 Complete Mailing Address 
 Personal Identifiers 

 Social Security Number 
 Date of birth/death 

 Corporate titles and the like should be entered exactly as adopted.  
 If a safe deposit box has additional owners, the names of each owner must be shown 

with the relationship (for example, “trustee for,” “and,” “or,” etc.).  
 Account Numbers 
 Date of Last Contact 

 

 Holder Information 
 

 Enter the amounts still owing to the holder. These amounts might include unpaid safe 
deposit box rental charges, drilling fees, safekeeping costs, certified mailing costs, etc.  

 DO NOT DEDUCT any of these costs from any cash that may be in the box at this time. 
Following the sale of this property by the State Treasurer, the Holder may request 
reimbursement for eligible expenses up to the remaining balance on the property item. 

 

 Property Information 
 

Enter an itemized description of the safe deposit box or safekeeping contents. The safe deposit 
box contents will be accepted or rejected based on the description provided. Use the following 
examples and guidelines in completing your descriptions: 
 

 ONE ITEM PER LINE OF DESCRIPTION 
 one gold-colored ring with 2 clear stones 
 one pair clip-on earrings, each with one ruby-like stone 
 one coin wrapper containing 50 U.S. pennies dated 1918-1964 (if wrapper is 

empty, please indicate) 
 one pellet gun with black metal barrel and plastic grip 

 

* All packages containing weapons MUST be clearly marked. 
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Reporting Safe Deposit Box Contents (Cont.) 
 

Delivery Instructions 

The detailed inventory of the contents for each owner’s box must be submitted with the initial 
reporting in November.  Do not send the contents at the time of initial reporting. 
 

The Office of the State Treasurer will send a letter in April/May indicating it is time to contact the 
office to schedule the delivery of your reported items.  The contents are to be delivered to the 
Office of the State Treasurer no later than June 1st.  Please make sure each owner’s contents are 
securely sealed.  A copy of the inventory, with owner’s name, must be attached to the outside of 
each owner’s package. We can accept deliveries in person, by armored delivery, or by “trackable” 
mail such as FedEx, UPS or USPS confirmation delivery. If you have a large number of reportable 
boxes, we will need to know if your submission will be in multiple deliveries.  
 
If an owner has picked up their safe deposit box contents after it has been reported to the Office of 
the State Treasurer in November, or if you have additional boxes to report, please complete a 
Holder Amendment form and include it with the submission of the boxes.   

 

 

Tangible Property Codes 

BBND 
CASH 
CCUR 
HIST 
ILGL 
JEWL 
MDLS 

Bearer Bonds 
Non-Collectable Currency 
Collectable Currency 
Historical Value 
Illegal Items/Contraband 
Jewelry 
Military Medals 

 PAPR 
PHOT 
SBND 
SCRT 
SILV 
TANG 
WPNS 

Miscellaneous Paper 
Photographs/Negatives 
Savings Bonds 
Stock Certificates 
Fine Silver 
Misc. Tangible Property 
Weapons 

 

*Note-when completing the Inventory section of your report do not separate items using the 
enter key.  To ensure your file is not rejected due to file errors use commas. 
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Reporting Securities/Stocks 
 

**Please note: a law change has gone into effect for security reporting after the 2019 reports (33 
M.R.S. Section 2052-24).  Securities are considered reportable property, except for (a) a worthless 
security, as defined by statute, includes mutual fund accounts valued under $50.00 and 
DTC/DRS/DRP valued under $30.00, or (b) a security where a lien, legal hold or restriction restricts 
the holder’s or owner’s ability to receive, transfer, sell or otherwise negotiate the security (this 
includes chilled, frozen, or restricted securities). The value of a security would be determined 
worthless based on the individual CUSIP within a single account.  If the status of a security 
changes and is no longer worthless or restricted, it is to be reported in the following reporting cycle. 

 
 A detailed list, including CUSIP numbers, number of shares, issue names, DTC participant 

numbers and date of deposit/transfer MUST be faxed to Avenu Insights at 617-722-9660, 
Attn: Custody Department at least 3-4 days prior to deposit\transfer. Remember to include a 
copy of the detailed list with the holder report filed with the State Treasurer. For more 
information, please call Avenu Insights State Client Liaison at 617-722-9658. 
 

 All DTC eligible shares MUST be deposited through DTC or DWAC (if not DTC participant) 
as follows: 
 

Nominee Name: Katahdin & Co. 
DTC Participant #: 901 
Agent bank #: 26500 
Account #: 822439 
FEIN #: 16-1674447 
 

 Register Book Entry Shares/ DRP/Direct Registration Shares (DRS) as follows: 
 

Nominee Name: Katahdin & Co. 
FEIN #: 16-1674447 
c/o Avenu Insights 
100 Hancock St, 10th Floor 
Quincy, MA 02171 
 

*Please note: Please pay all dividends earned on DRP accounts as cash – Do not 
reinvest. 
 

 Registering and delivery of Physical Certificates (ONLY for non-DTC eligible shares) as 
follows: 

 

* Only certificates for freely transferable securities will be reportable.  Please call the 
state of Maine at (207) 624-7463 or (207)624-7476 for approval to remit securities by 
certificate and for updated registration instructions.   

* Please note: The holder report must provide a list to clearly identify all nonfreely 
transferable securities and explain why they are nonfreely transferable. Nonfreely 
transferable securities should not be included in the NAUPA file.  
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Reporting Securities/Stocks (Cont.) 
 

 Closed End Mutual Fund Accounts held for the state of Maine: 
 

Nominee Name: Katahdin & Co 
c/o Avenu Insights 
100 Hancock St, 10th Floor 
Quincy MA 02171 
 

*Please note: Please pay all dividends earned on DRP accounts as cash – Do not 
reinvest 

 

 Open Ended Mutual Fund Accounts held for the state of Maine: 
 

MAC & CO 
State of Maine – Account#: 822439 
Mutual Fund Operation 
500 Grant Street 
Room 151-1010 
Pittsburgh, PA 15258 
FEIN: 23-6019000 
 

 
Accounts held for the State must be registered in the name of Mac & Co. Avenu Insights will 
provide account numbers for all mutual funds transferred to the state's account. Contact 
Avenu Insights at UPCH.Custody@avenuinsights.com to obtain account numbers 3 - 4 
business days prior to attempting delivery. 

 

When funds are registered to MAC & Co, please make sure that interested party statements 
are sent to: 

 

Avenu Insights 
Attn: Mutual Fund Operations 
100 Hancock St, 10th Floor 
Quincy MA 02171 
 

*Please note: Please pay all dividends earned on DRP accounts as cash – Do not 
reinvest 
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Payment/Remittance Options 
 
The State of Maine accepts two forms of payment, ACH-Debit and by check. 
 

 To submit your payment via ACH-Debit, visit PayMaine.  
 

1. Select Department - Select agency “State Treasurer” and Payment method ACH-
Debit. 

2. Select Products – Select “Unclaimed Property Holder Report”, enter the dollar amount 
and add the business FEIN in the reference field. 

3. Customer Information - Please complete all applicable fields, especially Company 
Name. 

4. Pay - Payments are submitted on the Converge payment platform. Please make sure 
all required fields are filled out, including the billing information section. Print the 
receipt for your records after completing payment. 

**IMPORTANT** If your organization's bank account maintains a debit block, please provide 
the following information to your Treasurer/Controller prior to initiating the payment to avoid 
a rejected payment and $20.00 returned payment fee. 

 
ACH Company ID ACH Company Name 

911925808M ACH Withdrawal Maine Treasurer 

  
 

 Checks should be made payable to: Treasurer State of Maine 
 

 Remember to include the printed confirmation page found at the end of the online 
upload tool. If you are using a third party, please include the corresponding summary 
sheet (often called a Verification Checklist, Verification Report or Affidavit) that 
includes your FEIN and amount reported and remitted. 

 
Checks and forms should be mailed to: 
Office of the State Treasurer 
Unclaimed Property/Holder Report 
39 State House Station 
Augusta ME 04333-0039 
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Gift Obligations 
Definition and Qualification: 
Gift obligations in Maine MUST meet 3 criteria to be considered a gift obligation, otherwise it is 
considered a stored-value obligation or some other property type and must follow those reporting 
guidelines. 

(1) Is a bearer instrument not associated with an account holder or individual (the holder 
may have knowledge of who purchased the obligation as long as it is not a registration to an 
owner); 

(2) May be decreased in value only by redemption for merchandise, goods or services at a 
business association; and 

(3) Unless required by law, may not be redeemed for or converted into money or otherwise 
monetized. 

Dormancy 
Gift obligations are protected by Maine’s Unclaimed Property statute and considered unclaimed 
property after a 2-year abandonment period.  Reporting requirements apply only to obligations last 
active in calendar year 2021 or earlier for single issuers who in the past calendar year sold more 
than $250,000 in face value of gift obligations.  However, obligations last active in calendar year 
2022 and later for all businesses are not reportable to the State of Maine and continue to be a 
liability for the business until redeemed by the owner holding the obligation. 

Expiration/Fees 
Maine's Unclaimed Property Act does not allow enforcement of gift obligation expiration dates or 
fees, except that the issuer may charge a fee for the initial issuance. The fee must be disclosed in 
separate writing prior to the initial issuance or referenced on the gift obligation. Read 33 M.R.S.A 
2067 (5).  

Gift obligations issued for promotional purposes (i.e. marketing, fundraising, etc.) are not reportable 
as unclaimed property. No underlying obligation exists since no monetary transaction occurred. A 
business may impose an expiration date on a promotional gift. 

Reporting Due Date 
The last of the reportable gift obligation property, last active in calendar year 2021, was due to the 
State of Maine by May 1, 2024, and would need to be reported with a voluntary disclosure request 
due to late reporting.  No other reporting is due for obligations last active in calendar year 2022 or 
later or any year for a single issuer who in the past calendar year sold no more than $250,000 in 
face value of gift obligations. 

All holders of gift obligations in Maine are required by law to hold the liability until a point the 
obligation is redeemed by the owner holding the obligation. 
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Holder Request for Reimbursement 
Request a Reimbursement on Gift Obligations 

Even after a Gift Obligation has been reported to the state, the business that sold it must honor 
100% of the value and apply for a refund from the Treasurer's Office after it is redeemed. 

Other Reimbursement Requests 

If an owner approaches the reporting holder to reinstate an account or have a check reissued, the 
holder may submit a reimbursement request to the state, as long as the state is still holding the 
reported property.   

1) Confirm with the State of Maine the property in question is still available to claim. 
2) Reimburse the owner with an account reinstatement or check reissuing. 
3) Submit the Holder Reimbursement Request Form to up.claimstatus@maine.gov or mailed to 

Office of the State Treasurer. 
4) Include evidence of the reinstated account or reissued check with the form. 

The State of Maine will process a claim to pay back the remitted funds for the property. 
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Glossary of Terms 
 
Abandoned/Unclaimed Property   
Intangible property or safekeeping that is 
unclaimed by its rightful owner after a 
significant period of time. Unclaimed property 
law does not include real estate, animals and 
vehicles. 
 
Abandonment Period 
See Dormancy Period. 
 
Activity  
An action taken by the owner, which may 
include making a deposit or withdrawal, writing 
a memorandum to the holder, or taking any 
action that according to the law is adequate to 
determine that the owner is aware of the 
property.  
 
Affidavit 
A written declaration made under oath before a 
notary public or other authorized officer of the 
court. 
 
Aggregate 
A group of multiple unknown owner accounts 
reported in one lump sum total. 
 
Annual Report/Holder Report 
Annual filing required by state law by a 
business association that is holding funds 
belonging to another individual, or entity, and 
those funds have reached the end of an 
assigned dormancy period. The funds can be 
held in the form of an uncashed check, 
dormant bank account, credit balance, security 
account, unpaid safe deposit box contents, etc. 
 
Demutualization 
A reorganization, in which a mutual insurance 
company becomes a stock company. This is  

accomplished through the payment of stock or 
cash to policyholders upon the discontinuation 
of the mutual company. Demutualization has 
no impact on the actual insurance policy. 
 
Date of Last Activity 
The most recent date that the owner and the 
holder of the property made "active" contact 
with each other. This is also known as the 
"date of last activity." Examples of activity 
dates include the issue date of a check and a 
customer's date of deposit into a checking 
account.  
 
Dormancy Period 
The period of time, also referred to as the 
abandonment period, during which an owner 
of property does not take action on his 
property. (See Activity.) The dormancy period 
is determined by the type of property and may 
vary from 1 to 15 years but is most commonly 
3 years under Maine law. 
 
Due Diligence 
The reasonable and meaningful degree of 
effort required by law of an unclaimed property 
holder to find the rightful owner before the 
property is sent to the state. If the owner 
responds to the due diligence, the funds are 
not considered unclaimed property and are not 
reportable to the state. 
 
Escheat 
When the title to property is transferred to the 
state, making the state the legal owner. The 
State of Maine acts as the custodian of 
reported property and does not take title by 
escheat. 
 
Gift Card 
Please see Gift Obligation. 
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Glossary of Terms 
 
Gift Certificate 
Please see Gift Obligation. 
 
Gift Obligation 
An obligation of a business association arising 
from a transaction between the business 
association and a consumer to provide goods 
or services from a single issuer at a future date 
for a specified amount shown on record. This 
includes, but is not limited to, a gift certificate, 
gift card, on-line gift account or other 
representation or evidence of the obligation. 
 
Holder 
The entity or person who controls the 
unclaimed property until it is transferred to the 
owner or the state on behalf of the owner. 
 
Indemnification 
An agreement that protects a party from loss by 
transferring the responsibilities to a third party. 
The State of Maine indemnifies the holder, 
protecting the holder from liability, and 
assumes the responsibility to return the 
property to the owner. 
 
Indemnity Bond 
An insurance policy that protects the state from 
future claims against property once paid to a 
claimant. 
 
Intangible Property 
Property that cannot be held in your hand, 
something that is abstract, or represented by a 
symbol. For example, an ownership interest in 
a company is represented by a stock 
certificate; a bank balance is represented by a 
passbook or a statement. 
 
 
 
  

NAUPA 
National Association of Unclaimed Property 
Administrators, an organization of state 
representatives who have responsibility for 
overseeing state unclaimed property 
programs.  
 
Owner 
A person having legal or equitable claim to the 
unclaimed property. 
 
Person 
Any individual, business association, 
governmental subdivision or agency, public 
corporation or authority, estate, trust, two or 
more persons having a joint or common 
interest, or any other legal or commercial 
entity, whether or not for profit. 
 
Prefunded Bank Card 
Please see Stored Value Obligation 
 
Stored Value Obligation 
A record evidencing a promise made for 
consideration by the seller or issuer of the 
record that goods, services, or money will be 
provided to the owner of the record in the 
amount of the value or amount shown on 
record. The record contains or consists of a 
microprocessor chip, magnetic stripe or other 
means for storage of information that is 
prefunded, and the value or amount can 
decrease with use or increase by payment of 
additional funds.  Does not include loyalty 
obligations, gift obligations or game-related 
digital content. 
 
Tangible Property 
Personal property that is physical in nature.  A 
diamond ring and a silver coin are examples. 
The only tangible property considered by 
Maine unclaimed property law is abandoned 
safe deposit boxes at financial institutions. 
 

 
 


