Opportunity for Comment

Limited Maintenance Plan for the Midcoast Ozone Maintenance Area

Comment deadline: December 23, 2019

On July 16, 1997, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) issued updated final air quality 8 hour standards for ozone set at a level of 0.084 parts per million (ppm) that was based on an 8-hour average of ozone concentrations and more directly related to ozone concentrations associated with health effects. Maine had two nonattainment areas under the 1997 ozone standard; the Portland Ozone Maintenance Area consisting of 57 cities and towns in York, Cumberland and Sagadahoc Counties along with Durham, Maine in Androscoggin County, and the Midcoast Ozone Maintenance Area Nonattainment Area consisting of 55 coastal towns and islands in Hancock, Knox, Lincoln and Waldo counties. Based on 2003-2005 monitoring data, these areas were meeting the 1997 ozone NAAQS, and in 2006, the Department submitted a request to EPA for the redesignation of these areas to attainment and demonstrated that these areas would maintain compliance with the NAAQS for at least 10 years after EPA approval of the redesignation request. The Department's redesignation requests were approved on December 11, 2006.

As part of the redesignation process, the CAA also requires that redesignated areas also submit a second 10-year maintenance plan demonstrating continued compliance with the NAAQS during the 10-year period following the expiration of the first maintenance plan. The proposed Limited Maintenance Plan for the Midcoast Ozone Maintenance Area addresses the period from 2016 through 2026 and demonstrates that this area will continue to maintain the 1997 ozone NAAQS throughout this period. The Limited Maintenance Plan for the Midcoast Ozone Maintenance Area will be submitted to EPA for incorporation into the Maine State Implementation Plan.

Pursuant to federal law, interested parties are publicly notified of the proposed SIP amendment and are provided an opportunity for comment. Written comments may be submitted by mail, e-mail or fax to the contact person before the end of the comment period. To ensure the comments are considered, they must include your name and the organization you represent, if any.

Copies of this proposal are available upon request by contacting the Agency contact person or the link below.

Agency contact:
Jeffrey S. Crawford
Department of Environmental Protection
State House Station 17
Augusta, ME 04333
(fax) 207-287-7826

Public hearing:
December 12, 2019
9:00 AM
Augusta Civic Center
76 Community Drive
Augusta, ME

Proposal (PDF)