contact us and site map
Contact Us Site Map

RELATED LINKS

OSHA Office of Training and Education

OSHA electronic tools for training

Central Maine Community College

Keene State College OSHA Education Center

Kennebec Valley Community College

Maine Labor Group on Health

Maine Safety Council

Safetech Training

 

Bookmark and Share

The class list is also available as a PDF file for printing.

Register for a class

Directions to SafetyWorks! Safety Training Institute in Augusta

Get notified of new SafetyWorks! classes Subscribe to Safetyworks_Classes feed

Search for a SafetyWorks! Class
Class Description Length Date(s) Time Location Course Code
Wage & Hour Compliance Assistance --

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave and domestic violence), and break requirements. Addresses commonly asked labor-related questions. Class runs from 9 a.m.-noon.

1/2 day May 21, 2019 9:00 AM-
12:00 PM
South Portland
Wage & Hour Compliance Assistance --

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave and domestic violence), and break requirements. Addresses commonly asked labor-related questions. Class runs from 9 a.m.-noon.

1/2 day May 21, 2019 9:00 AM-
12:00 PM
Fairfield
Minors in the Workforce --

This course is designed for business owners, parents, superintendents and their issuing officers. Child Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, youth employment, including work permits, allowable work hours and hazardous occupations. It also touches on minimum wage, required posters and break requirements, and addresses commonly asked child labor-related questions. Class runs 9 a.m.-11a.m.

1/2 day May 22, 2019 9:00 AM-
11:00 AM
Augusta
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 & 1/2 Days May 23 & 24, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Springvale
Impairment Detection Training for Employers --

This training session is designed to help owners, managers, and supervisors recognize and respond appropriately to employee-impairment in the workplace in order to reduce worker accidents and injuries. Participants will be taught procedures to detect impairment regardless of the substance or cause. This class is designed to fulfill the federal DOT requirements for reasonable suspicion training of supervisors. In addition, participants will learn how to develop and implement policies that address impairment in the workplace and are in compliance with Maine's Substance Abuse Testing Law. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day May 23, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Presque Isle
Forklift Operator Safety --

This class is designed for new operators. The instruction will involve classroom and hands-on training. Training will include performing a forklift inspection and using a forklift simulator. This training does not meet the requirements to qualify the participants to be a "qualified operator." Only the employer can provide such certification. Class runs 8:30 a.m-4:30 p.m.

1 day June 3, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Confined Space Entry General Industry --

A confined space has limited or restrictive openings for going in and out and is not meant for continuous use by workers. OSHA uses the term "permit-required confined space" (permit-space) to describe a confined space in which workers are exposed to serious hazards. Employers must find out if confined spaces are permit-required. Attendees will learn how to evaluate confined spaces, monitor them during use, and set up rescue procedures. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day June 4, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Van Safety --

This class emphasizes the issues and concerns related to passenger-van operation and appropriate defensive-driving techniques to reduce the potential for property damage, injury, or death. You will also learn about motor vehicle laws and resources for teaching traffic safety awareness. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day June 6, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Establishing an Effective Safety Committee - Safety Officer --

This class will train new safety officers and help to establish an effective safety committee. This class will give you the skills to put a dynamic committee together or strengthen the work of existing teams. It will provide models for hazard assessment, accident review, "near-miss" reporting, OSHA regulations, facility inspections and required training. It will help you analyze the strengths and weaknesses of your program and give you a game plan for greater success. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day June 10, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
Minors in the Workforce --

This course is designed for business owners, parents, superintendents and their issuing officers. Child Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, youth employment, including work permits, allowable work hours and hazardous occupations. It also touches on minimum wage, required posters and break requirements, and addresses commonly asked child labor-related questions. Class runs 9 a.m.-11a.m.

1/2 day June 11, 2019 9:00 AM-
11:00 AM
Portland
Machine Guarding --

Participants in this class will learn about the standards for metal and woodworking machines as well as various machine-guarding techniques. We will be applying basic guarding practices when specific issues aren't covered in the regulation. OSHA Subpart O will be covered. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day June 12, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days June 13 & 14, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Ladder Safety --

Ladders are a major source of injuries and fatalities in the workplace. However, falls can be reduced if people use caution when climbing ladders or when working in places where falls are a potential hazard. This course will show participants how falls from ladders can be prevented through education that includes planning for their use, inspecting the ladder prior to use, and using basic ladder safeguards. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day June 18, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Wage & Hour Compliance Assistance --

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave and domestic violence), and break requirements. Addresses commonly asked labor-related questions. Class runs from 9 a.m.-noon.

1/2 day June 19, 2019 9:00 AM-
12:00 PM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 521 Guide to Industrial Hygiene --

Classes run from 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee.

4 days June 25, 26, 27, 28, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 503 General Industry Update --

Classes run from 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee charged

2 1/2 dats July 8, 9, 10, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 502 Construction Update --

Classes run from 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or emailoshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee charged

2 1/2 days July 10, 11, 12, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Bloodborne Pathogens Train-the-Trainer --

If your job responsibilities involve occupational exposure to bloodborne pathogens, this course is for you. This class will instruct you on how OSHA standard (29 CFR 1910.1030) applies to non-healthcare employers. This training is designed to provide an understanding of bloodborne pathogens, common modes of transmission, methods of prevention, developing an exposure control plan, and required training for employees. Training materials will be provided. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day July 15, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Lead Safety --

This course provides information on OSHA's Lead Standards for Construction and General Industry, covering the symptoms of lead exposure, permissible exposure limits and action levels, workplace exposure assessment and air monitoring, the Written Compliance Program Selection, use of respirators and other PPE, and safe work practices. The information obtained in this lead safety program will help your company reduce employee injuries, lower workers' comp premiums, and reduce overall risk of OSHA imposed citations. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day July 16, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days July 18 & 19, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Respiratory Protection --

Where workers are required to wear respirators to do their jobs, employers need a respiratory protection program. Learn about the types of respirators, their uses and limitations, and how to decide which to use. We'll show you how to do fit-testing and teach you about medical screening, respirator cleaning and maintenance, and what should be included in a written program. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day July 23, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Impairment Detection Training for Employers --

This training session is designed to help owners, managers, and supervisors recognize and respond appropriately to employee-impairment in the workplace in order to reduce worker accidents and injuries. Participants will be taught procedures to detect impairment regardless of the substance or cause. This class is designed to fulfill the federal DOT requirements for reasonable suspicion training of supervisors. In addition, participants will learn how to develop and implement policies that address impairment in the workplace and are in compliance with Maine's Substance Abuse Testing Law. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day July 24, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Portland
OSHA Recordkeeping --

This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day July 25, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
Practical Approach to NFPA 70E --

In this class you will learn how to protect workers from electrical hazards. NFPA 70E requirements will be discussed in layman's terms. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day July 26, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Work Zone Safety --

Private companies and public agencies that work on public roads must follow the traffic control standards of the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD). This hands-on, half-day workshop covers the MUTCD standards and use of cones, signs, flags, and paddles.
Class runs 8:30a.m.-12:30p.m.

1/2 day July 29, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Hazard Communication, Global Harmonization and Chemical Substitution --

Hazard Communication (HazCom) is one of the top-three, most frequently cited OSHA standards. It was updated in 2012 to reflect the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (GHS). Manufacturers must now evaluate the hazards of the chemicals they produce (old and new), classify them, and communicate them in accordance with specific criteria set by OSHA. Employers must train employees on GHS and on any new hazards identified based on manufacturer reevaluation of existing chemicals. Half of this class covers HazCom/GHS and the other half focuses on chemical elimination/substitution. This is the first step in addressing chemical hazards. Eliminating a hazardous chemical or substituting it with something less hazardous not only reduces employee health and safety risks, but can improve your company's bottom line. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day July 30, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Fire Extinguisher/ Emergency Action Plan /Workplace Violence --

In this class you will learn about Emergency Action Plans, including workplace violence, as well as various types of fire extinguishers and how to maintain them. This is a hands-on class. Those attending this class should come prepared to discharge a fire extinguisher. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day August 6, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days August 8 & 9, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Forklift Operator Safety --

This class is designed for new operators. The instruction will involve classroom and hands-on training. Training will include performing a forklift inspection and using a forklift simulator. This training does not meet the requirements to qualify the participants to be a "qualified operator." Only the employer can provide such certification. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day August 5, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Vehicle Ergonomics --

This is a four-hour program designed to offer basic information on ergonomics for those who spend much of their day in a vehicle. Drivers face a variety of problems related to ergonomics, stress, job injuries, fatigue, and exposures. Program participants will have an improved understanding of the importance of proper driving posture, varying work activities, stretching and activity breaks, limiting exposures, and how to make regular corrective adjustments to driving positions. Participants will also explore wellness and self-care strategies to reduce stress and back/neck pain and to improve energy levels.
Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day August 12, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Establishing an Effective Safety Committee - Safety Officer --

This class will train new safety officers and help to establish an effective safety committee. This class will give you the skills to put a dynamic committee together or strengthen the work of existing teams. It will provide models for hazard assessment, accident review, "near-miss" reporting, OSHA regulations, facility inspections and required training. It will help you analyze the strengths and weaknesses of your program and give you a game plan for greater success. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day August 13, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
How to Conduct a Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Assessment --

This course is designed to assist you in developing a PPE program and how to organize your PPE needs. Employers must conduct a hazard assessment before requiring employees to use PPE. The assessment provides information needed to select the appropriate PPE for the hazards at the workplace. Learn how to conduct a hazard assessment in this hands-on class. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day August 14, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Fire Service Respiratory Protection --

This class will cover the OSHA respiratory protection standard, state statutes, and agency rules relating to the fire service's use of SCBA. Other topics include written programs, medical clearances, fit testing, facial hair, two-in, two-out, annual training requirements, flow and hydrostatic testing requirements, weekly/monthly checks, the OSHA and Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) rules for breathing air compressors, licensing, maintenance and recordkeeping.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m.

1/2 day August 15, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Public Sector Compliance --

This assistance program is for state, county, municipal, and quasi-municipal employers, managers, and employees. The program is an overview of public-sector employer responsibilities including injury/fatality reporting, written programs, training, equipment/facility inspections, and recordkeeping. In addition, this class covers SafetyWorks! assistance including training and no-cost safety and health consultation programs to proactively help employers before an accident or incident occurs.
Class runs from 8:30-10:30 a.m.

1/2 day August 16, 2019 8:30 AM-
10:30 AM
Bangor
Scaffolding and Fall Protection --

In this class you will learn the types of scaffolding, proper setup, how to protect workers from falls, and when you must use fall protection. The instructor will explain the OSHA requirements for scaffolding and fall protection, including the definition of "competent person." Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day August 20, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Video Display Terminal Train-the-Trainer --

Maine's Video Display Terminal (VDT) law requires employers to train VDT operators how to work safely at the computer. This class prepares trainers, supervisors, and safety-team members to recognize and eliminate the hazards to which VDT operators are exposed. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day August 22, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
OSHA Recordkeeping --

This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day August 23, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Portland
NFPA #1 Fire Code --

This full-day course provides overview training to fire fighters and emergency response personnel. This multi-part document has 16 sections to safeguard life and protect property from dangerous conditions caused by fire and explosion. Other fire codes including NFPA 101, 57, 58, 30, 13, 25, and 72 are referred to in this code. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day August 27, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Impairment Detection Training for Employers --

This training session is designed to help owners, managers, and supervisors recognize and respond appropriately to employee-impairment in the workplace in order to reduce worker accidents and injuries. Participants will be taught procedures to detect impairment regardless of the substance or cause. This class is designed to fulfill the federal DOT requirements for reasonable suspicion training of supervisors. In addition, participants will learn how to develop and implement policies that address impairment in the workplace and are in compliance with Maine's Substance Abuse Testing Law. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day August 29, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Machias
30-Hour General Industry Standards --

This five-day course introduces attendees new to safety and health to the OSHA standards for general industry (29 CFR 1910). Attendees who complete all five days will receive an OSHA 30-hour general industry course certificate. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., day one through day five.

5 days September 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Public Sector Compliance --

This assistance program is for state, county, municipal, and quasi-municipal employers, managers, and employees. The program is an overview of public-sector employer responsibilities including injury/fatality reporting, written programs, training, equipment/facility inspections, and recordkeeping. In addition, this class covers SafetyWorks! assistance including training and no-cost safety and health consultation programs to proactively help employers before an accident or incident occurs.
Class runs from 8:30-10:30 a.m.

1/2 day September 17, 2019 8:30 AM-
10:30 AM
Portland
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days September 19 & 20 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
OSHA Recordkeeping --

This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day September 20, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Bangor
Lockout/Tagout Procedures --

This training session covers the OSHA requirements and procedures to be used in the Lockout/Tagout process to ensure safety and protection during repair and maintenance of equipment. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day September 23, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Work Zone Safety --

Private companies and public agencies that work on public roads must follow the traffic control standards of the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD). This hands-on, half-day workshop covers the MUTCD standards and use of cones, signs, flags, and paddles.
Class runs 8:30a.m.-12:30p.m.

1/2 day September 24, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Wage & Hour Compliance Assistance --

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave and domestic violence), and break requirements. Addresses commonly asked labor-related questions. Class runs from 9 a.m.-noon.

1/2 day September 25, 2019 9:00 AM-
12:00 PM
Augusta
Impairment Detection Training for Employers --

This training session is designed to help owners, managers, and supervisors recognize and respond appropriately to employee-impairment in the workplace in order to reduce worker accidents and injuries. Participants will be taught procedures to detect impairment regardless of the substance or cause. This class is designed to fulfill the federal DOT requirements for reasonable suspicion training of supervisors. In addition, participants will learn how to develop and implement policies that address impairment in the workplace and are in compliance with Maine's Substance Abuse Testing Law. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day September 26, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Bangor
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 7205 Health Hazard Awareness --

Classes run from 8 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee.

1 day October 7, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 2015 Hazardous Materials --

Classes run from 8:00 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a fee charged

4 days October 8,9,10,11, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Life Safety Code 101 --

This class will provide a working overview of National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standard 101 "Life Safety Code" for fire and life safety in the building environment. Topics covered will include classification of occupancy types, adequate means of egress, occupant load factors, and occupancy specific hazards to fire and life safety. The Life Safety Code is adopted in the State of Maine as the state code for fire and life safety in buildings. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day October 4, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
OSHA Recordkeeping --

This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day October 11, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Presque Isle
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days October 17 & 18, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Forklift Operator Safety --

This class is designed for new operators. The instruction will involve classroom and hands-on training. Training will include performing a forklift inspection and using a forklift simulator. This training does not meet the requirements to qualify the participants to be a "qualified operator." Only the employer can provide such certification. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day October 21, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
School Laboratory Safety --

The purpose of the training is to acquaint science teachers with the OSHA Laboratory Safety Standard and provide them with the information they need to develop their Chemical Hygiene Plans. At the end of this program, participants will be able to list the major provisions of the Laboratory Safety Standard, evaluate laboratory facilities, monitor storage areas, and complete a Chemical Hygiene Plan for their schools. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day October 22, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
How to Conduct a Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Assessment --

This course is designed to assist you in developing a PPE program and how to organize your PPE needs. Employers must conduct a hazard assessment before requiring employees to use PPE. The assessment provides information needed to select the appropriate PPE for the hazards at the workplace. Learn how to conduct a hazard assessment in this hands-on class. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day October 23, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Welding/Compressed Gases --

This class covers storage and proper use of compressed gas. Proper inspection techniques of hoses, torches, and regulators will be demonstrated.
Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day October 28, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Machine Guarding --

Participants in this class will learn about the standards for metal and woodworking machines as well as various machine-guarding techniques. We will be applying basic guarding practices when specific issues aren't covered in the regulation. OSHA Subpart O will be covered. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day October 29, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Impairment Detection Training for Employers --

This training session is designed to help owners, managers, and supervisors recognize and respond appropriately to employee-impairment in the workplace in order to reduce worker accidents and injuries. Participants will be taught procedures to detect impairment regardless of the substance or cause. This class is designed to fulfill the federal DOT requirements for reasonable suspicion training of supervisors. In addition, participants will learn how to develop and implement policies that address impairment in the workplace and are in compliance with Maine's Substance Abuse Testing Law. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day October 30, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
Video Display Terminal Train-the-Trainer --

Maine's Video Display Terminal (VDT) law requires employers to train VDT operators how to work safely at the computer. This class prepares trainers, supervisors, and safety-team members to recognize and eliminate the hazards to which VDT operators are exposed. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day October 31, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 3085 Scaffolding --

Classes run from 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee.

3 days November 5, 6, 7, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Fire Service Respiratory Protection --

This class will cover the OSHA respiratory protection standard, state statutes, and agency rules relating to the fire service's use of SCBA. Other topics include written programs, medical clearances, fit testing, facial hair, two-in, two-out, annual training requirements, flow and hydrostatic testing requirements, weekly/monthly checks, the OSHA and Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) rules for breathing air compressors, licensing, maintenance and recordkeeping.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m.

1/2 day November 8, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Accident Investigation/Injury Analysis --

When work doesn't go as planned, accidents and near-misses happen. Investigating these incidents can prevent similar or even more serious problems from happening. Learn how to conduct a thorough accident/incident investigation and how to use your results to prevent future accidents. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day November 12, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Bloodborne Pathogens Train-the-Trainer --

If your job responsibilities involve occupational exposure to bloodborne pathogens, this course is for you. This class will instruct you on how OSHA standard (29 CFR 1910.1030) applies to non-healthcare employers. This training is designed to provide an understanding of bloodborne pathogens, common modes of transmission, methods of prevention, developing an exposure control plan, and required training for employees. Training materials will be provided. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day November 13, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Lifting/Rigging Safety --

Lift planning is essential to safe-lifting practices. This program provides a basic understanding or review of your knowledge about lifting safely in the workplace. Determine what you may need for a lift and what type of equipment to use including communications through signals, written, or verbal plans. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day November 14, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
OSHA Recordkeeping --

This class provides thorough and comprehensive six-hour training for both new and experienced safety and human resources personnel. You will learn the OSHA rule (29 CFR 1904) regarding recording and reporting work-related injuries and illnesses as it applies to your organization. This class includes several hands-on activities on how to correctly fill out the required injury reporting forms. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day November 15, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
Scaffolding and Fall Protection --

In this class you will learn the types of scaffolding, proper setup, how to protect workers from falls, and when you must use fall protection. The instructor will explain the OSHA requirements for scaffolding and fall protection, including the definition of "competent person." Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day November 18, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Automotive Lift/Jack Stand Safety and Compliance --

This half-day course provides training on the proper operation of multiple types of automotive lifts, jacks and jack stands, inspection, compliance reporting, training, and documentation required by various inspecting agencies. The course will provide the information needed for a safer workplace, which helps eliminate citations and can possibly lower a company's workers' compensation insurance. The course will have both classroom and hands-on training. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

1/2 day November 19, 2019 8:30 AM-
12:30 PM
Augusta
Impairment Detection Training for Employers --

This training session is designed to help owners, managers, and supervisors recognize and respond appropriately to employee-impairment in the workplace in order to reduce worker accidents and injuries. Participants will be taught procedures to detect impairment regardless of the substance or cause. This class is designed to fulfill the federal DOT requirements for reasonable suspicion training of supervisors. In addition, participants will learn how to develop and implement policies that address impairment in the workplace and are in compliance with Maine's Substance Abuse Testing Law. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

1 day November 20, 2019 8:30 AM-
3:30 AM
Augusta
10-Hour Construction Standards --

This 1½-day course offers basic information on several of the OSHA standards for construction (29 CFR 1926). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate.
Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days November 21 & 22, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Forklift Operator Safety --

This class is designed for new operators. The instruction will involve classroom and hands-on training. Training will include performing a forklift inspection and using a forklift simulator. This training does not meet the requirements to qualify the participants to be a "qualified operator." Only the employer can provide such certification. Class runs 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

1 day December 2, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
Wage & Hour Compliance Assistance --

This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick leave and domestic violence), and break requirements. Addresses commonly asked labor-related questions. Class runs from 9 a.m.-noon.

1/2 day December 9, 2019 9:00 AM-
12:00 PM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 201 - Rigging --

Classes run from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee.

1 day December 10, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
OTIEC-Keene OSHA 2055 - Cranes in Construction --

Classes run from 8:00 - 4:30 p.m. For more information and to register for courses coded OTIEC-Keene, please call 1-800-449-6742 or email oshaed@keene.edu. There is a tuition fee.

3 days December 11, 12, 13, 2019 8:00 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta
10-Hour General Industry --

The 1½-day course offers basic information on a variety of general industry safety/health standards (29 CFR 1910). Attendees who complete the course will receive an OSHA 10-hour course completion certificate. Class runs from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on day one and 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. on day two.

1 1/2 days December 19 & 20, 2019 8:30 AM-
4:30 AM
Augusta

Course Level Key

1. For people new to safety and health
2. Working knowledge of OSHA standards needed
3. For managers or supervisors