Lewiston-Auburn representatives appointed to policy committees

December 27, 2016

AUGUSTA – Lewiston-Auburn Reps. Heidi Brooks, Roger Fuller, James Handy, Gina Melaragno and Bettyann Sheats have been appointed to serve on legislative committees that will shape vital policy areas in Maine.

Brooks, D-Lewiston, and Melaragno, D-Auburn will both return to the Insurance and Financial Services Committee, which oversees policy regarding banking, credit unions, the Bureau of Consumer Protection, mortgage lending, foreclosure prevention, mutual funds and health insurance. Brooks’ district includes a portion of Lewiston. Melaragno’s district includes a portion of Auburn.

Fuller, D-Lewiston, will serve on the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee, which oversees the state Department of Education, along with the university and community college system, the Maine Arts Commission, Maine State Library, Maine State Museum and Maine Public Broadcasting Corporation. Fuller’s district includes a portion of Lewiston.

Handy, D-Lewiston, will serve on the Labor, Commerce, Research and Economic Development Committee. The committee oversees issues relating to business and workforce development, including business regulation, economic planning and development agencies and tourism. It will also focus on labor matters such as wages and workplace health and safety. Handy’s district includes a portion of Lewiston.

Sheats, D-Auburn, will serve on the Transportation Committee, which oversees policy regarding the Department of Transportation, Maine Turnpike Authority, highway and bridge construction, aeronautics, waterways and railroads. Sheats’ district includes part of Auburn and the entire town of Minot.

Fuller, Handy and Sheats are all serving their first terms in the Maine House. Brooks and Melaragno are serving their second terms.

A list of committee members can be found at Joint Standing Committees of the 128th Legislature.


Lindsay Crete [Brooks, Fuller, Handy, Melaragno, Sheats], c. 231-1442