Governor John Elias Baldacci
News Vision Issues People Contact
Home > News > Full Story

President Approves Five-County Disaster Request

March 25, 2010


AUGUSTA – Governor John E. Baldacci today learned that his request that five Maine counties be declared a major disaster area was approved by President Obama.

On March 16, Governor Baldacci sent a letter requesting the declaration for Cumberland, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc and York counties for damage done during a severe winter storm that struck between Feb. 23 and March 2.

“Maine was hit by severe storm that brought heavy rain, snow and high winds,” Governor Baldacci said. “Hundreds of thousands of people were left without power and wind gusts broke records. Federal and State officials have already identified more than $2.3 million in damages to public infrastructure. The President’s declaration will help us to repair that damage and be better prepared for dangerous weather in the future.”

The Federal assistance will reimburse State and local governments 75 percent of the costs for emergency response efforts and to repair or replace storm-damage public property and infrastructure, including roads and bridges. Home Privacy | Accessibility | Contact