Governor John Elias Baldacci
News Vision Issues People Contact
Home > News > Full Story
 News

Taxation Committee Denies Mainers the Chance to Vote on Eliminating Income Tax

May 13, 2015

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Contact: Adrienne Bennett, Press Secretary, 207-287-2531

AUGUSTA – Governor Paul R. LePage expressed disappointment Wednesday as the Committee on Taxation voted against eliminating the income tax burden on Mainers. Committee members voted 7-5 along party lines with one member absent. Absent members have 24 hours to vote.

“The people of Maine should know how their legislators are voting, and only then will politicians be held accountable for their actions. It is a disgrace for these politicians to refuse Mainers the opportunity to vote on eliminating the income tax,” said Governor LePage. “I urge people to demand to know why their legislators don’t want you to have a say in the process.”

Voted Against Eliminating the Income Tax

Senator Nathan L. Libby (D-Androscoggin)
Representative Adam A. Goode (D-Bangor), Chair
Representative Stephen S. Stanley (D-Medway)
Representative Matthew W. Moonen (D-Portland)
Representative Diane M. Russell (D-Portland)
Representative Denise A. Tepler (D-Topsham)
Representative Gary E. Sukeforth (I-Appleton)

Voted For Eliminating the Income Tax

Senator Earle L. McCormick (R-Kennebec), Chair
Senator Paul T. Davis, Sr. (R-Piscataquis)
Representative H. Stedman Seavey (R-Kennebunkport)
Representative Paul Chace (R-Durham)
Representative Thomas H. Skolfield (R-Weld)
Representative Bruce A. Bickford (R-Auburn) *Absent

The Governor has proposed a Constitutional amendment that will eliminate the income tax and prohibit the Legislature from enacting any income tax in the future. His bill, LD1367, “Resolution, Proposing an Amendment to the Constitution of Maine to Eliminate the Income Tax,” would require a two-thirds vote of the Legislature, then approval by Maine voters at a statewide referendum in November following passage of the bill.

The ballot question would be: "Do you favor amending the Constitution of Maine to prohibit the Legislature, beginning January 1, 2020, from enacting or imposing a tax on the income of any person and prohibiting the State from levying or collecting an income tax for any period beginning on or after January 1, 2020?"

If Mainers want the chance to vote to eliminate the income tax, the Governor encourages them to contact members of the Taxation Committee:

Senator Nathan L. Libby (D-Androscoggin)
Nathan.libby@gmail.com Phone: 713-8449
Representative Adam A. Goode (D-Bangor), Chair
adam.goode@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 991-7000
Representative Stephen S. Stanley (D-Medway)
Stephen.stanley@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 746-5371
Representative Matthew W. Moonen (D-Portland)
matthew.moonen@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 332-7823
Representative Diane M. Russell (D-Portland)
diane.russell@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 272-9182
Representative Denise A. Tepler (D-Topsham)
denise.tepler@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 729-4018
Representative Gary E. Sukeforth (I-Appleton)
gary.sukeforth@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 975-3020
Senator Earle L. McCormick (R-Kennebec), Chair
Email: demccormick@tds.net Phone: 724-3228
Senator Paul T. Davis, Sr. (R-Piscataquis)
Sendavis@myottmail.com Phone: 876-4047
Representative H. Stedman Seavey (R-Kennebunkport)
stedman.seavey@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 967-5991
Representative Bruce A. Bickford (R-Auburn)
bruce.bickford@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 740-0328
Representative Paul Chace (R-Durham)
paul.chace@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 240-9300
Representative Thomas H. Skolfield (R-Weld)
thomas.skolfield@legislature.maine.gov Phone: 585-2638

Maine.gov Home Privacy | Accessibility | Contact