Governor John Elias Baldacci
News Vision Issues People Contact
Home > News > Full Story

Governor Baldacci Delivers Keynote Address at Maine Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

June 5, 2006

CONTACT: Crystal Canney, 287-2531 (cell) 557-5968

Dan Cashman, 287-2531 (cell) 837-4821

BANGOR – Governor John E. Baldacci stressed loyalty, good sportsmanship and devotion as three major qualities for inductees to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame during his keynote address Sunday evening.

Seven newcomers were inducted into the Hall and 10 student athletes were honored for their success. A President’s Award was also given out, to Wayne Lawton of Bangor.

Governor Baldacci told the crowd a story of athletes coming through his family’s restaurant in Bangor, The Baltimore. He also took time to recognize the student athletes who were being honored.

“Looking at these youngsters and talking with them and our teachers,” said Governor Baldacci, “it is obvious to me that the future of our state is strong.”

The Governor emphasized the importance of an education to the students, as did one of the inductees, Mike Bordick. Bordick told the crowd that he had just finished college a few weeks ago, after leaving the University of Maine to play Major League Baseball for the Oakland Athletics.

The Governor said a few words about each inductee, including Bordick, calling him, “arguably the greatest Major League Baseball player to come out of the state of Maine.” Governor Baldacci reminded the crowd that Mike Bordick is the player who replaced Cal Ripken Jr. at shortstop for the Baltimore Orioles.

Other inductees were Dick Barstow, James “Chico” Hernandez, Brian Higgins, Irving Kagan (posthumously), Roger Reed, and Peter Webb.

The 2006 High School Scholar-Athletes being honored were: Samantha Allen of Lake Region High School; Sabrina Cote of Dexter High School; Taryn Flagg of Livermore Falls High School; Kelly Johnson of Bonny Eagle High School; Traci Underhill of Central High School; Max Bass of Gorham High School; James Ecker of Brewer High School; Ryan Knight of Massabesic High School; Benjamin Roy of Bonny Eagle High School; and Matthew Sherburne of Windham High School. Home Privacy | Accessibility | Contact