News Release for October 16, 2019

For more Information:
Paul Merrill, Public Information Officer - 207-624-3355 or 207-215-9297


MaineDOT Chief Engineer Receives National Award

AUGUSTA - MaineDOT Chief Engineer Joyce Taylor is the recipient of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' 2019 President's Special Award of Merit. AASHTO presents this award to someone "who has made outstanding and exemplary contributions to the work of the Association."

Joyce joined MaineDOT in 1999 and has been our chief engineer since 2013. Her intellect and leadership affect virtually all of MaineDOT's high-profile projects. Joyce was the first president of Maine's chapter of Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS) and serves on the Maine Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers. She is an active participant on AASHTO's Council of Highways and Streets and the Transportation Policy Forum and serves as the Vice-Chair on AASHTO's Committee on Design. Her successful safety policy work at AASHTO will benefit the transportation industry and the traveling public for years to come.

"We are extremely fortunate to have Joyce working with us at MaineDOT," said Commissioner Bruce Van Note. "She is a creative problem-solver and a caring friend. It comes as no surprise that her industry colleagues at the national level also hold her in high regard. We are proud of the contributions she makes every day to transportation both in Maine and across the country."

Utah Department of Transportation Executive Director Carlos Braceras, who served as 2018-2019 AASHTO President, presented the award to Joyce at the annual AASHTO conference in St. Louis earlier this month.

"Not only is Joyce professional and intelligent, she is strong and optimistic," said Braceras. "Joyce is a mother of two, and several years ago she beat cancer. She did much more than just survive. She showed bravery and grace, exuding gratitude for people who showed their support during that time. Her appreciation of relationships - and of life - carry through in all she does."

Upon receipt of the AASHTO's 2019 President's Special Award of Merit, Taylor said, "It's truly humbling to be selected for this award - especially considering all of my outstanding peers across the nation. Each one of them is deserving of similar accolades."