State of Maine: Notice of Agency Rulemaking – October 27, 2021	





PROPOSALS

[bookmark: _Hlk85791475]AGENCY: 02-031 – Department of Professional and Financial Regulation (PFR), Bureau of Insurance
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 735, Term and Universal Life Insurance Reserve Financing
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical 
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2021-P194
BRIEF SUMMARY: The purposes of the proposed rule are to implement uniform national standards governing reserve financing arrangements pertaining to life insurance policies containing guaranteed nonlevel gross premiums, life insurance policies containing guaranteed nonlevel benefits, and universal life insurance policies with secondary guarantees; and to ensure that there is adequate security as to each such financing arrangement as set out in the rule.
PUBLIC HEARING: November 18, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. from the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Bureau of Insurance, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, ME 04345. Instructions for registering for and attending the hearing remotely, by either audio-visual link or telephone, are on the Bureau of Insurance website, www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance.
COMMENT DEADLINE: 4:30 p.m. November 29, 2021, by mail or email to the Contact Person.
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT INFORMATION: Brittnee Greenleaf, Bureau of Insurance, 34 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0034. Telephone: (207) 624-8491. TTY users use Maine Relay 711. Email: Brittnee.L.Greenleaf@Maine.gov .
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 24-A MRS §§ 212, 731-B(2-B) & (7)
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: n/a
AGENCY PROPOSED RULES WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/legal/rules/index.html#proposed .
BUREAU WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/ .
BUREAU RULEMAKING LIAISON: Benjamin.Yardley@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 02-029 - Department of Professional and Financial Regulation (PFR), Bureau of Financial Institutions
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 141 (Reg. 41), Assessments – Nondepository Trust Companies, Uninsured Banks, And Merchant Banks 
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2021-P195
BRIEF SUMMARY: This rule amends current ch. 141 (Regulation #41), Assessments – Nondepository Trust Companies, Uninsured Banks, and Merchant Banks, last promulgated January 1, 2009. The purpose of the proposed rule is to reduce the assessment fee charged to state-chartered nondepository trust companies to 9 cents per $10,000 in assets subject to assessment, and increase the minimum fee charged to state-chartered nondepository trust companies, uninsured banks, and merchant banks from $2,000 to $4,000 per year. Amended rates of assessment will become effective beginning the calendar quarter ending March 31, 2022. 
DETAILED SUMMARY: Title 9-B of the Maine Revised Statutes authorizes the Superintendent of the Bureau of Financial Institutions to define by rule fiduciary assets under management, custody, or care and to set the rate of assessment for Maine state-chartered nondepository trust companies, uninsured banks, and merchant banks. Ch. 141 (Regulation #41) Assessments – Nondepository Trust Companies, Uninsured Banks, and Merchant Banks was last promulgated January 1, 2009 to increase the assessment fees paid by nondepository trust companies, uninsured banks, and merchant banks because those rates of assessment were inadequate in light of the economic conditions at that time. Pursuant to the authority granted by 9-B MRS §214, and in response to present economic conditions, the Superintendent is now reducing the rate of assessment for nondepository trust companies, uninsured banks, and merchant banks from 12 cents to 9 cents per $10,000 in assets subject to assessment, and increasing the minimum fee charged to nondepository trust companies, uninsured banks, and merchant banks from $2,000 to $4,000 per year. Amended rates of assessment will become effective beginning the calendar quarter ending March 31, 2022. 
Rules adopted pursuant to 9-B MRS §§ 214(2-B) and 214(2-C) are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5 ch. 375 subchapter 2-A. 
PUBLIC HEARING (if any):
COMMENT DEADLINE: Tuesday, November 30, 2021
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT INFORMATION / BUREAU RULEMAKING LIAISON: David Gordon Laurendeau, Attorney, Bureau of Financial Institutions, 36 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0036. Telephone: (207) 624-8574. Fax: (207) 624-8590. Email: David.G.Laurendeau@Maine.gov .
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None expected. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 9-B MRS §§ 214(2-B) - (2-C), 215
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: N/A
BUREAU WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/financialinstitutions/ .


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Office for Family Independence (OFI)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND RULE TITLE: Ch. 301, Food Supplement Program Manual, Cover Page, Alpha Index, Table of Contents, and Sections: 111-1, 111-3, 111-8, 222-1, 222-4, 222-5, 222-6, 222-7, 333-1, 333-2, 444-4, 444-7, 444-8, 444-10, 444-11, 555-1, 555-3, 555-4, 555-6, 555-7, 666-6, 666-9, 777-7, 999-1, and 999-3; SNAP Rule #212P – 2021 Omnibus rule change
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2021-P196
BRIEF SUMMARY: This rule change proposes to implement many changes required by state statute or federal regulation. It proposes to align Maine policy with various federal waivers and options. It proposes to make non-substantive changes to improve the readability and inclusivity of the manual, reduce the use of stigma inducing language, and update the names of programs such as WIOA and TANF. It proposes to correct various citations.
The Department proposes to change the terms “Food Supplement” and “Food Supplement Program” to “Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program” and, by extension, their associated abbreviations to “SNAP”. This change is consistent with the terminology used in federal law and regulation as well as signage and other materials seen throughout the state and nation. Furthermore, PL 2021 c. 398 Part OO made this change throughout Maine’s revised statutes. This change would be reflected in the name of the chapter itself and all uses of the terms and abbreviations in sections included in this rulemaking (unless they refer only to a time prior to the statutory change). The “FS” would be removed from all section numbers.
The Department proposes to use person first language wherever feasible and to replace terms intended to convey the same meaning with “Substance Use Disorder”. These changes are being proposed consistent with PL 2017 c. 407 Part B, PL 2021 c. 348, and generally accepted best practices. There are occasional exceptions to this effort where it was determined best to keep the language consistent with the relevant federal statute.
The Department proposes to convert some phrases to active voice and simplify the representation of numbers as part of an ongoing, office-wide effort at standardization and clarity.
The Department proposes to add clarity to Section 111-1 related to standards and process for determining separate household status.
This rule change proposes to align the chapter with the approved waiver submitted under the requirements of 22 MRS §3104(17) (as amended by PL 2019 c. 492 §1). This waiver allows residents of state or county correctional facilities to submit an application for SNAP up to 30 days prior to release, and for the filing date of the application to be the date of release.
The Department proposes to remove references to an application needing to be dated. This change aligns the chapter with 7 CFR §273.2(c)(1)(iii).
The Department proposes to amend the chapter to eliminate disqualifications based on non-compliance with child support orders. This policy was in place as part of a state option authorized under 7 CFR §273.11(q). The Department is choosing to no longer exercise that option. This change would be effective December 1, 2021. Retroactive rulemaking is permissible under 22 MRS §42(8) as the change affords this benefit to more residents of the State of Maine and does not adversely impact applicants, participants, beneficiaries, or providers.
The Department proposes to align the disqualification periods for Quality Control noncompliance with those found in 7 CFR §273.2(d)(2).
The Department proposes to clarify, in Section 222-5, that a “reasonable opportunity” to resolve discrepancies is 10 days.
The Department proposes to amend the chapter to eliminate the asset limit for all households effective January 1, 2022. This change is required by PL 2021 c. 115 and would improve access for residents with low income.
The Department proposes to remove language from Section 333-1 excluding the assets of ineligible students, non-citizens, alien sponsors as it is redundant to language in 444-4.
The Department proposes a number of changes to the sections on assets. This rule change would update the asset and income lists to reflect new technologies such as non-fungible assets and crypto-currency. It further proposes to amend the language related to assets and income excluded by federal statute to reflect the fact that new statutes may be passed excluding certain resources not on the existing list. These resources are often of a temporary nature, such as those created through various legislation associated with COVID-19. To add and remove them from the chapter each time there is a federal law change would be an unnecessary administrative burden and duplicative of action already taken by Congress. Additionally, the acceptable verifications of a good faith effort to sell real property would be updated to conform with 7 CFR §273.8(e)(8).
The Department proposes to align the look back period for certain felonies with the one required by 7 CFR §273.11(s)(3).
The Department proposes to limit comparable disqualifications related to disqualifications from other means tested programs to instances where the individual has been found by a court or administrative hearing to have committed an intentional program violation (IPV) or has signed an IPV waiver. Maine is one of only 13 U.S. states or territories to apply comparable sanctions for non-compliance with other program’s requirements. This change would align Maine with the majority of other SNAP agencies. This policy was in place as part of a state option authorized under 7 CFR §273.11(k). Under that same authority, the Department is choosing to less fully exercise that option.
The Department proposes to amend the work requirement for post-secondary students to allow for weekly hours to be averaged over the month. This change would align this requirement with other work requirements in the chapter while remaining consistent with 7 CFR §273.5(b)(5).
A more detailed description of the Resource Guide for Families would be added to Section 444-5.
The Department proposes to eliminate the $0 benefit starting March 1, 2022 and implemented over a 12-month period. Historically, households that qualified for this benefit were considered eligible for the USDA National School Lunch and School Breakfast Program. That has not been the case since Food and Nutrition Service provided clarifying guidance in their memo dated October 25, 2011. As such, there is no appreciable benefit for households to be certified for a $0 benefit. The State’s option to deny or authorize a $0 benefit for these households is articulated at 7 CFR §273.10(e)(2)(iii).
The Department proposes to update Section 555-6 to more clearly and accurately describe the budgeting process. Accordingly, it further proposes to eliminate the budgeting worksheet in Section 555-7 that is redundant to the budgeting process outlined in 555-6 without adding clarity.
The Department proposes to clarify that if there is an interruption in or delay of benefits as a result of household action or inaction, benefits for the month the situation is resolved will be prorated to the date of compliance. This change is required as part of Maine’s reinstatement waiver approved August 16, 2021 and guidance provided in Food and Nutrition Services memo index number 88-04.
The Department proposes to clean up language in Section 666-6 that was applicable prior to the statewide conversion to simplified reporting. This language is no longer relevant and could reduce the clarity of the current requirements.
The Department proposes to clarify the reporting requirement related to household income exceeding 130% of the federal poverty level. This change is necessary to align the chapter with the requirements at 7 CFR §273.12(a)(5)(v).
The Department proposes to clarify the verification requirements at annual eligibility review. This change is necessary to align the chapter with the requirements at 7 CFR §273.2(f)(8). They will improve access for households and reduce the administrative burden for the Department.
The Department proposes to delay the changes to the expungement deadline adopted as part of Food Supplement Rule Making #218A earlier this year from September 1, 2021 to September 1, 2022. This change is necessary to comply with changes to 7 CFR Part 274 detailed in the Federal Register Vol. 86 No. 143. These changes at the state and federal level are necessary as the national EBT vendor could not make the technology changes necessary to implement the change prior to the original deadline while, at the same time, making the changes necessary to support the various COVID-19 related initiatives.
The Department proposes to add a definition of public institution to add clarity to the application process in certain circumstances.
The Department proposes to implement various budgeting figures as required by 7 CFR §273.9(d). It requires that SNAP income and asset limits, maximum and minimum allotments, standard deductions, maximum shelter deductions, homeless shelter deductions, standard utility allowances (SUAs) and income change reporting thresholds be updated each year, effective October 1. This year, the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) COLA Memo FY2021 provided more generous income limits, maximum and minimum allotments, standard deductions, maximum shelter deduction, homeless shelter deduction, asset limits, and income change reporting thresholds. Each state agency is charged with determining standard utility allowances and having those approved by USDA. The utility allowance values were calculated to increase using The Consumer Price Index published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the Department of Labor, and were submitted to and approved by USDA. These updates were made in Food Supplement Emergency Rulemaking #222E. This rulemaking would allow these changes to endure beyond December 30, 2021.
See http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/rules/index.shtml for rules and related rulemaking documents.
[bookmark: _Hlk65682627]PUBLIC HEARING: Tuesday, November 16, at 9:00 a.m. This hearing will be conducted virtually. Anyone wishing to attend should join the Microsoft Teams meeting accessible at https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_ZTUzZGJkMzgtNjA5Zi00MTA4LWEyYmQtNWEzY2FhMzc1MTY5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22413fa8ab-207d-4b62-9bcd-ea1a8f2f864e%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22f89346ba-710d-4ff8-8766-4d52c4172faf%22%7d or by calling (207) 209-4724 and entering Conference ID: 672 146 434#. The Department requests that any interested party requiring special arrangements to attend the hearing contact the agency person listed below before Tuesday, November 9, 2021.
COMMENT DEADLINE: Monday, November 29, 2021. Written public comments may be submitted via the link at https://www.maine.gov/DHHS/OFI/about-us/rules/proposed.
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Ian Miller, Senior Program Manager, SNAP, Department of Health and Human Services - Office for Family Independence, 109 Capitol Street – 11 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04330-6841. Telephone: (207) 624-4138. Fax: (207) 287-3455. TT Users Call Maine Relay – 711. Email: Ian.Miller@Maine.gov .
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: None anticipated.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 22 MRS §§ 42(1) and (8), 3104(13) and (17)
OFI RULES WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi/rules/index.shtml .
OFI WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ofi .
OFI RULEMAKING LIAISON: Dan.Cohen@Maine.gov .
DHHS WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ .
DHHS RULEMAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .


[bookmark: _Hlk85110993]AGENCY: 15-214 - Maine Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management (DVEM), Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 2, Rules for Establishing Fees for Reporting under the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 and Title 37-B Section 801, M.R.S. Chapter 13
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical 
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2021-P197
[bookmark: _Hlk85109943]SUMMARY: The Department is proposing an increase in fees paid by facility owners and operators for registration, inventories and releases of hazardous materials in the state of Maine as reported to the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) pursuant to the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 and 37-B §801 MRS ch. 13. This proposed rule would authorize the Director of Maine Emergency Management Agency, with the advice of the State Emergency Response Commission, to change the current fee amount and fee schedule. The fees set by the Commission have not been changed since they were implemented in 2002. Due to cost of inflation, the Commission struggles to maintain an adequate level of funding for County Emergency Management Agencies, State-funded Hazardous Materials Response Teams and local trainings for first responders. The proposed increase in the current fee schedule would allow the State Emergency Response Commission to fund local first responder trainings, equipment, planning activities and outreach in order to help facilities prepare for and respond to hazardous material incidents. Without the increase in fees, the Commission may have to cut back on funding these critical hazardous materials response teams and first responders, potentially reducing the state’s ability to prepare for and respond to hazardous materials incidents. 
PUBLIC HEARING: Monday, November 15, 2021. 2:00 p.m. at Maine Department of Labor Training Room. 45 Commerce Drive, Augusta, Maine 
COMMENT DEADLINE: November 29, 2021
[bookmark: _Hlk85111015]CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING / SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT INFORMATION: Faith Staples, Maine Emergency Management Agency, 72 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 624-4400 or (207) 557-3675. Fax: (207) 287-3178. TTY: (711) Maine Relay. Email: maine.serc@maine.gov .
MEMA RULEMAKING WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/mema/maine-prepares/plans-trainings-exercises/serc/rulemaking .
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: The proposed change in the rule will increase the facilities’ cost each year dependent upon how much of a chemical they store. Each reporting facility currently pays an inventory fee based on the average daily amounts they have for each chemical. With this proposed rate increase, MEMA and the Commission would increase the inventory fee associated with all hazardous chemical facilities. These fees have not been changed since they were implemented in 2002 and have not kept up with inflation and the rise of administrative the cost of the program. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: 37-B MRS §801
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: None
MEMA WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/mema/ .
DVEM RULEMAKING LIAISON: Scott.A.Young@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 06-096 - Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 147 (New), Hydrofluorocarbon Prohibitions
TYPE OF RULE: Routine Technical
PROPOSED RULE NUMBER: 2021-P198
BRIEF SUMMARY: The Department is proposing a new rule to prohibit the use of certain hydrofluorocarbons in specific end use categories in concert with a multi-state effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and help mitigate climate change. This rule is required by statute, and will help Maine reach the statutory greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets in 38 MRS §576-A.
PUBLIC HEARING: 9:00 a.m. - November 18, 2021, Marquardt Building, Room 118, 32 Blossom Lane, Augusta
COMMENT DEADLINE: November 29, 2021
CONTACT PERSON FOR THIS FILING: Erle Townsend, Department of Environmental Protection, 17 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0017. Telephone: (207) 287-6115. Email: Erle.Townsend@Maine.gov .
CONTACT PERSON FOR SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT STATEMENT: N/A
FINANCIAL IMPACT ON MUNICIPALITIES OR COUNTIES: N/A
[bookmark: _Hlk85703197]STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR THIS RULE: Public Law 2021 ch. 192
SUBSTANTIVE STATE OR FEDERAL LAW BEING IMPLEMENTED: N/A
DEP WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dep/ .
DEP RULEMAKING LIAISON: Mark.T.Margerum@Maine.gov .

ADOPTIONS

[bookmark: _Hlk86226246]AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources (DMR)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 8, Mussel Harvester Reporting
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2021-218
[bookmark: _Hlk83390999]CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule establishes mandatory monthly trip-level harvester reporting for individuals who hold a mussel boat license or a hand-raking mussel license. Required reporting elements are specified in the rule.
[bookmark: _Hlk86226191]EFFECTIVE DATE: October 31, 2021
DMR CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Ellis, Department of Marine Resources, 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 624-6573. Fax: (207) 624-6024. TTY: (207) 633-9500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). Email: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov .
DMR RULEMAKING WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/ .
DMR WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dmr/index.html .
DMR RULEMAKING LIAISON: Deirdre.Gilbert@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources (DMR)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 11, Scallops: 2021-22 Season
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2021-219
[bookmark: _Hlk83385343]CONCISE SUMMARY: This rule-making establishes the 2021-2022 scallop fishing season. Daily possession limits of 15 gallons for Zone 1 and Zone 2, and 10 gallons for Zone 3 remain unchanged. For Zone 1, a 60-day season for draggers begins on December 6, 2021 and the last day of the season is March 17, 2022. For Zone 1, a 60‑day season for divers starts on November 16, 2021 and the last day of the season is April 29, 2022. For Zone 2, a 70-day season for draggers starts on December 1, 2021 and the last day of the season is March 31, 2022. For Zone 2, a 70-day season for divers starts on November 19, 2021 and the last day of the season is March 26, 2022. For Zone 3, a 50-day season for draggers begins on December 1, 2021 and the last day of the season is March 28, 2022. For Zone 3, a 50-day season for divers begins on December 2, 2021 and the last day of the season is March 26, 2022.
New limited access areas for the 2021-2022 season: Western Casco Bay and Sheepscot River in Zone 1; and, Gouldsboro/Dyers Bay and West Moosabec Reach in Zone 2. Targeted seed closures are re-established in Eastern Casco Bay and Damariscotta River in Zone 1. In Zone 3, St. Croix River is established as a new targeted seed closure. In Zone 2, territorial waters surrounding Machias Seal Island and North Rock are open to harvest all days beginning December 1, 2021 through March 31, 2022.
A new mooring closure is implemented for Sullivan Harbor. The Limited entry system is updated to allow entry to either the scallop dragging license lottery or the scallop hand harvest lottery but individuals may not enter both lotteries. 
DMR is maintaining the following Limited Access Areas: Western Penobscot Bay, Muscle Ridge, Whiting and Denny’s Bays. Additionally, the following existing targeted closures based on depletion, high concentrations of seed/sublegal scallops and/or the presence of spat-producing scallops are maintained: Lower Muscle Ridge, Back River, New Meadows River, Card Cove and Beals-Jonesport Bridge. 
[bookmark: _Hlk86228279]EFFECTIVE DATE: October 31, 2021
DMR CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Ellis, Department of Marine Resources, 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 624-6573. Fax: (207) 624-6024. TTY: (207) 633-9500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). Email: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov .
DMR RULEMAKING WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/ .
DMR WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dmr/index.html .
DMR RULEMAKING LIAISON: Deirdre.Gilbert@Maine.gov .




AGENCY: 13-188 - Department of Marine Resources (DMR)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 30, River Herring: 30.03, Taking of River Herring from Walker’s Brook
ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2021-220 
CONCISE SUMMARY: In March 2021, DMR established a limited fishery in Walker’s Brook, which runs between the Towns of Brooksville and Sedgwick. However, the March 2021 rule only listed the portion of the brook that runs through the Town of Brooksville. This rule is a technical change that adds the Town of Sedgewick to the existing regulatory language. This change is intended to provide greater clarity to the public and Marine Patrol. It does not change any elements of the existing limited fishery, which was initially adopted in March 2021.
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 31, 2021
DMR CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Ellis, Department of Marine Resources, 21 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333. Telephone: (207) 624-6573. Fax: (207) 624-6024. TTY: (207) 633-9500 (Deaf/Hard of Hearing). Email: dmr.rulemaking@maine.gov .
DMR RULEMAKING WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dmr/rulemaking/ .
DMR WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dmr/index.html .
DMR RULEMAKING LIAISON: Deirdre.Gilbert@Maine.gov .


AGENCY: 10-144 - Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC)
CHAPTER NUMBER AND TITLE: Ch. 297, Dental Care Access Credit Program Rule
[bookmark: _Hlk44373097]ADOPTED RULE NUMBER: 2021-221
CONCISE SUMMARY: The DHHS Maine CDC is adopting updates to align with statutory changes and clarifying requirements for the Dental Care Access Credit Program Rule. These changes include specifying the application-submission deadline, establishing when the applications process ends, outlining the competitive order of receipt process for initial applicants, and extending the certification period for eligible dentists, following the deadline for applications. The Department is also adopting updated responsibilities for certificate holders, further clarifying the Department’s notification process of certificate award recipients and updating formatting to align with Maine CDC rulemaking convention.
EFFECTIVE DATE: November 3, 2021
AGENCY CONTACT PERSON: Andrew Hardy, Maine CDC, 11 State House Station - 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011. Telephone: (207) 287-4490. Email: Andrew.Hardy@Maine.gov .
AGENCY RULES WEBSITE: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/rules/ .
MAINE CDC WEBSITE: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/ .
MAINE CDC RULEMAKING LIAISON: Tera.Pare@Maine.gov .
MAINE DHHS RULEMAKING LIAISON: Kevin.Wells@Maine.gov .
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