Monday, Dec. 14, 2020
Contact: Kristen Muszynski
626-8404/ 441-7638

Special election set to fill Senate District 14 seat

Proclamation of State Senate District 14 vacancy

AUGUSTA – Governor Janet Mills and Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap signed the proclamation today, December 14, 2020, announcing a special election for the Maine Senate District 14 seat.

The special election is scheduled for Tuesday, March 9, 2021.

This Senate seat was previously held by Senator Shenna Bellows of Manchester, who declined to be sworn into her seat upon re-election, as she was subsequently elected to the position of Secretary of State on Dec. 2, 2020.

Senate District 14 includes the municipalities of Chelsea, Farmingdale, Gardiner, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Pittston, Randolph, Readfield, West Gardiner, and Winthrop.

Maine’s three political parties, the Democrats, Green Independents and Republicans, will now caucus to choose candidates for the seat. Candidate nominations are due to the Office of the Secretary of State by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 8, 2021.

Non-party candidates must circulate petitions and obtain the signatures of at least 200 registered voters in Senate District 14. The deadline to submit the petitions to the Secretary of State is by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 8, 2021 after first having the signatures certified by the applicable municipalities. Write-in candidates must declare their candidacy by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 15, 2021. Non-party petition forms and write-in candidate declaration forms may be obtained by contacting the Elections Division of the Secretary of State at 207-624-7650.

The candidate who is elected by the voters in Senate District 14 at the March 9, 2021 special election will serve the full two-year term in the Maine Senate.