Thursday, Jan. 3, 2019
Contact: Kristen Muszynski
626-8404/ 441-7638

Special election set to fill District 124 House seat

AUGUSTA – A special election for the Maine House District 124 seat has been scheduled for Tuesday, March 12, 2019.

This House seat, which covers parts of Bangor and Orono, was previously held by Rep. Aaron Frey of Bangor, who declined to take the oath of office after his re-election, having been elected by the Legislature to the position of attorney general, on Dec. 5, 2018.

Governor Janet Mills and Secretary of State Matthew Dunlap signed the proclamation announcing the special election today, Jan. 3, 2019.

Maine’s three political parties, the Democrats, Green Independents and Republicans, will now caucus to choose candidates for the seat. Candidate nominations are due to the Office of the Secretary of State by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 18.

Non-party candidates must circulate petitions and obtain the signatures of at least 50 registered voters in House District 124. The deadline to submit the petitions to the Secretary of State is by 5 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 18, after first having the signatures certified by the applicable municipalities.  Write-in candidates must declare their candidacy by 5 p.m. on Jan. 25. Non-party petition forms and write-in candidate declaration forms may be obtained by contacting the Elections Division of the Secretary of State at 207-624-7650.

The candidate who is elected by the voters in District 124 at the March 12 special election will serve out the remainder of Rep. Frey’s term, through December 2020.