February 15, 2012
Contact: Megan Sanborn
(207) 441-0501

Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. Declares Christopher K. Johnson (D) the Winner of Senate District 20 Special Election

AUGUSTA, Maine – Secretary of State Charlie Summers submitted a proclamation to Governor Paul LePage today declaring Christopher K. Johnson (D) winner of the Special Election for Maine Senate District 20 which encompasses Alna, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Edgecomb, Friendship, Hibberts Gore, Jefferson, Monhegan Island Plantation, Newcastle, Nobleboro, Somerville, South Bristol, Southport, Waldoboro, Washington, Westport Island, Whitefield, Windsor and Wiscasset.

Johnson received 54% of the votes cast; a total of 3,369 votes, while Republican candidate, Dana L. Dow received a total of 2,902 votes.

The District 20 seat was vacated when David Trahan, of Waldoboro resigned.