May 12, 2011
Contact: Caitlin E. Chamberlain
(207) 441-0501

Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. Declares Cynthia Dill (D) the Winner of District 7 Special Election

AUGUSTA – Secretary of State Charles E. Summers, Jr. has submitted the proclamation to Governor Paul LePage declaring Cynthia Dill (D) the winner of the Special Election for Maine Senate District 7.  Dill beat Republican candidate, Louis B. Maietta, Jr., with 67% of the vote for a tally of 5,081 votes.  Maietta received 2,405 votes.

The Special Election was held following the resignation of Democratic Senator Lawrence Bliss in April in accordance with Article IV, Part Second, Section 5 in the State Constitution. 

Dill is expected to be sworn into the Maine State Senate today.  She must resign from her House seat prior to her swearing in.  The seat will remain vacant until the municipal officers of Cape Elizabeth formally request the Governor to hold an election to fill the seat before the next general election. According to Article IV, Part First, Section 6 of the Maine Constitution a vacancy in the House is not required to be filled immediately.